We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located with a great room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 224 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently located with a great room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location is great close to many restaurants, tourist services, and shopping.

I stayed in one of the newly available deluxe rooms in the 1st floor that have only been completed in the past few months (or so), normally a bit more expensive were were upgraded at no additional charge. The room were fairly averaged sized (smaller than the older rooms) but everything is very new fro the bed, to the cabinets, to the large LCD TV.

The hotel has an elevator (Many don't - worth checking!) on the first floor it was not a big deal but climbing up 3,4 or 5 storeys worth of stairs to get to my room after a long day out in the hot sun, is not for me!

They have free wifi in the lobby, as well as a small internet cafe (free) just around to corner from the front desk. One downside is for wifi use in you room you have to pay. At $5 for 10 hours it is not much however being a more expensive hotel you would think that would be included.

One complaint I had was with the maids. Noe don't get me wrong, they did a fantastic job on the room and were very friendly nice ladies, however they seem to leave their walkie-talkies on the cart (with the volume up very high) outside another room while they cleaned it... The things goes off frequently and I was woken up not once but TWICE on two different mornings.

For a hotel the most important pillar service is rest/sleep, needlessly waking a guest be it at 7am, 10am, 2pm or 5pm is something to be avoided, especially as simply taking the walkie-talkie in the empty room your cleaning and turning the darn volume down (now it does not need to be so loud as it is not 10 feet away from the user) would solve the problem.

If not for this issue would have been Excellent across the board. Would I stay again, you bet! Would I recommend to my friends, family family and associates, absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    63
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
14
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed in one of their serviced apartments with friends. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and i livingroom. The furniture is some outdated and needs maintenance. The place is very close to the boulevard and major tourist attractions. For the price we paid, I cannot find a better place and next time we go back to Phonm Peng we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotelrooms are included breakfast but the apartments not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good and decent location at the central of tourist hub in Phnom Penh. Free wifi at lobby but once you stayed at 6th floor then that is, no coverage. Due to its location, I found it is extremely easy to go anywhere by walking. Minimart, massage, cafes, strolling at the riverside area just a few minutes away. Breakfast till 10.30 .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been at the Lux Apartments for nearly 2 weeks into our 5 week stint. The 2 bedroom apartments are spacious with a pretty well equipped kitchen, lounge, dining area, flat screen TV in both main bedroom and lounge area. Both bathrooms are fairly modern too.
The staff at the front desk are very helpful and polite and organise things fairly well. There is also a recently-opened gym on the 2nd floor with treadmills, skiing machines and exercise bikes.
We're on the 8th floor, directly overlooking the Tonle Sap and Mekong Rivers' convergence - pretty spectacular views - especially now the Tonle Sap is running backwards :)
The hotel is in a grab location, right in the main area of town and next to heaps of good restaurants, mini-marts, bars etc.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are cheap and much lighter and airier than the 1 bedroom ones. See if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room with a totally secure balcony for only $55. The room was really big, polished floors, clean bathroom with massive shower. There's a safe in the room and the staff locked off the adjoining balcony on request so we had complete security (there are bars enclosing the rear balconies which have heaps of plants to make them still look great.) The food was terrific in the mornings and the staff were helpful. The location is excellent, just around the corner from the river and right in the heart of the bars and restaurant areas. Note that there are some seedier bars in the street but we were never hassled by anyone. Tour operators are nearby and its only a $2 tuk tuk ride to almost anywhere in the heart of the city. The huge king size bed was comfortable and TV reception good. You need to pay for wifi in your room but the great big foyer is a comfortable place to sit and enjoy free wifi. For the price this is sensational value, especially compared with some of the other places we looked at nearby. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: pay the extra 5 or 10 dollars for a better room - well worth it. You'll feel like you're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for a business trip, but as a basic tourist hotel in a good location it is acceptable. Business support was non existent. Room size good, but daily cleaning was not impressive. There is no restaurant or coffee shop although breakfast is included and acceptable. There are numerous restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. You pay for what you get, US$40 per night inclusive of breakfast is cheap. The beds are hard with no upper sheet. The air cond worked, there is cupboard safe, and small frig (which only works when you are in the room with the room key "engaged"). The bathroom was good and two bottles of bottle water was supplied each day at no cost.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor at the rear which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it. 1. Cheap. Quite inexpensive. 2. Very good location. It is on the river in a central location. Good restaurants and bars nearby 3. Good booking policy. No deposit required. 4. Friendly staff with good information. 5. Breakfast is included and is OK. 6. Safety deposit box. 7. Internet is free in the lobby. The downside is that it a fairly basic hotel. The rooms need a makeover. You might find a support beam right next to the bed

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Address: No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Riverside Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.