We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alibi Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alibi Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alibi Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hi stayed here for a couple of nights. Initial cool reception from french manager but warmed to him later. Cambodian staff were charming and helpful. Stayed in 2 rooms, the first spacious with garish paint work and slightly tired but working fixtures. The second a much cheaper smaller room with a cold shower but clean and comfortable.
Apart from the staff the real selling point is the sheltered patio area for breakfast. Tuk tuk drivers may have trouble finding it as it's down a small alley.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    85
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
87
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Up a lane way then behind these big gates is a oasis, was a lovely spot. Well priced, nothing fancy, very basic, lots of outside space to sit. The staff are lovely and helpful. The location was excellent, close to lots of things, good eating places around and heaps of Happy Hour bars. If you want a quiet hideaway, this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I found the location of this guest house to be great for getting to all the attractions which interested me. The old villa is a beautiful house, the rooms are well set up, and breakfast is served in the garden, also a beautiful setting. The staff are helpful, pleasant and I can find no fault with their service. It is every bit as good as I had expected after reading the other reviews.
So, no hesitation in suggesting this place for a comfortable stay in Phnom Penh. Yes, the stairs are steep to the third floor where I was, but I knew that in advance, and there was help to carry my bag up the steep stairs. It is only the third floor with steep stairs - the lower two floors have a great wide wooden staircase of beauty and ease in climbing. Breakfast was good, and the coffee great - not always easy to get a coffee that is similar to that which I am accustomed to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pleasant, decent, quiet hotel with lots of relaxing seating areas in a good location next to Royal Palace, Wat Botum Park, several small restaurants, cafes and bars and less than 10 minutes walk to the riverfront.

Our en-suite room was small, neat and clean with four poster bed & mosquito net, AC, fridge, free water and safety deposit box. Breakfast was included in the room rate and taken in the lovely palm filled courtyard garden.

We didn't receive any hassle from the Tuk Tuk drivers mentioned in previous posts apart from the occasional 'Tuk Tuk?' and used one of the guys to visit Choeung Ek. If you have mobility problems avoid the top floor which is up a steep and narrow metal staircase. We'd definitely stay here again if in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent time at this guest house. The staff are very helpful and the location is great - right down the street from the riverfront area and next to the royal palace and silver pagoda. The rooms are also good, very clean and quiet at night. We also really enjoyed their breakfast and they have a dedicated tuk-tuk to take you wherever you want to go (for a price). Overall, we liked this guest house and would definitely recommend it!
(also reviewed on Agoda)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As far as I understand, it seemed to be a historical residence. Lots of interesting photos on the wall. a quiet place and very pretty. The staff was helpful, assisting me in booking bike tour etc. Tuk tuk driver picking me up was friendly, but too bad i ran out of my budget to hire him for tour. So, most of the time, i walked. lots of tv channel, if u happen to want to be a couch potatoes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Period of Stay: 13th Nov – 15th Nov 2013 (2 nights)
Cost: 42 USD (including taxes, via Booking.com)
Room No.: 11

+ points:
(1) About 6 minutes walk to the Royal Palace (it is nearer the side with Wat Botum), which is a key landmark near the city centre and from there you can walk down the main street for a whole range of eateries. There was a traffic jam so it took about 50 min by cab (pre-paid taxi 9 USD – if on budget you can go outside the airport and take a tuk-tuk for about 7 USD or maybe even less).

(2) Pauline, the main admin in charge, spoke pretty good English and was very helpful in assisting me with matters such as getting around the surrounding area and also to various parts of Phnom Penh such as the Killing Fields, and also helped to book my bus with Mekong Express to Siem Reap (pick up at the guesthouse at 7.45am, left PP at 8.30am, reached SR at 3.30pm, 12 USD, which is the standard price I found on Internet). She recommended me Chea, a tuk-tuk driver, who was a nice guy and I would recommend him also – I paid 15 USD for a half day trip (6-7 hours) to the Killing Fields, Russian Market, S21 Genocidal Musuem, which is also the standard price from my research. He reminded me to be careful about my bag when we stopped at traffic lights (I did read about recent increased incidences of day-light robberies in Phnom Penh) and also purchased a mask for me (a nice gesture on his part as I did read that certain parts along the way were smelly and dusty).

(3) Room was pretty spacious and quite clean (toilet looked ok). Bedsheets and pillow case looked clean and quite firm mattress so quite comfortable.

(4) I enjoyed the breakfast (though there are only 2 sets to choose from, I enjoyed the eggs with bacon, bread with butter and jam, fruit juice and coffee/tea - see my photo!).

(5) Wi-Fi was easy to access and quite reliable.

- points:
(1) The lighting in the room (and even in the lobby) was quite poor even though there were table lights in the room) so it can be quite annoying (see my photo!).

(2) There were some ants around the sink and one of the tables.

(3) The ceiling of the room and especially part of the toilet was quite low (I'm only about 1.7m!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alibi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibi Guesthouse

Address: Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located villa-style guesthouse in a garden setting in a pleasantly quiet area.Easy walking distance to the Royal palace and riverfront area.Well furnished rooms with each their own decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alibi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alibi Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.