We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Villa Paradiso to your Saves list
The Villa Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 222, 25+27, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Step into the Villa Paradiso and you exchange the wonderful busy dusty streets of Phnom Penh for the clean, quiet tranquil gardens and rooms of this wonderful converted house. Sip on the welcoming ginger and lemongrass tea while you check in, then revel in your spacious suite. This 'hotel' is for those who prefer the unusual and individualistic to the big multi-level developments. Each of the 15 ensuite rooms has a designated character. We stayed in the cinema, music and garden view rooms and they were wonderful - so spacious, beautifully clean and well appointed. Our first stay in Cambodia and what a highlight. The staff were attentive but relaxed, and always helpful - from guides to dentists. The recommended list of restaurants was spot on. Breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant and drinks around the pool were really special. We felt part of the family and will recommend to anyone heading that way. Get Phillipe to tell you some of the history of the house. And don't be afraid to walk to places in the area as it's really well situated.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
320
85
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We where greeted by our wonderfull swedish host when we entered The Villa Paradisio! And got a fabulous coctail in our hands when we arrived. From the moment we stepped inside we felt like family and where well taken care of!
We stayed at the Music-room that has a lovely balcony and in my opinion the best room.
My mum got sick during our stay, as soon as we told our host, she called the doctor and arranged an appointment for us and even went with us to make sure we got everything we needed. Everyone that worked at the hotel where so great and helpfull with everything!
I love that they have a place where we can fill up our waterbottles soo we dont waste the environment more than we have to. They also wash all the vegetables and fruit with purified water if you wonder... And as a coffe addict its really Nice to have a nespressomaker in the room.
We where lucky to meet the really nice and neat couple that owns and run Villa paradisio and also our swedish friend (sorry, i forgot Your name) that comes every desember to "take care" of the place when the owners are away for the hollidays. YOU MADE OUR STAY! =)
I have to come back to this place and Cambodia! Wonderfull People and culture!

Room Tip: Music-room is wonderfull!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

we only had one night - it was a splurge- but the room was the best room we have ever stayed in. windows looking out on a garden, a bed the size of kingdom, great lighting, wonderful shower, good customer service, nice pool,- hot tub and sauna included, good menu, fine food, lovely manager, great location. pricey by Phnom Penh standards. but truly luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is truly amazing. Excellent staff, great breakfast, lovely pool area, and had the best massage ever. Highly recommended. Couldn't fault it.
We stayed in the Balinese suite - Superb.

We'll be back, that's for certain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

its great for honeymooners and single travlers as well, so quite and peacefull it forces you to relax.
wi-fi to keep in touch with the outside world with an efficient business center.
food is very good and the service is very good.
pool side is a perfect place to chill and just lay there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We only stayed one night, but wish we could stay longer! We stayed in the Music Room (room #11) and loved it. Everything was very clean and nice and the air conditioner worked well. The bathroom was huge and had a gigantic bathtub. I read in other reviews that they didn't have enough hot water to fill it up, but we had no problems with that. Maybe it depends on the season or how many people are using the hot water at the same time. A nice plus was there was a TV with over 200 movie options to choose from for free. The service was excellent and we felt pampered from the moment we stepped off our tuk tuk at the entrance. The front desk staff spoke excellent English and were very kind and accommodating. The restaurant area has a nice view of the pool and there were many options for breakfast. I had the asian option (noodle soup) and it was excellent! The spa was nice too, although the jacuzzi was only lukewarm. Overall, the room and hotel had a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Music Room and loved it! There are lots of traditional Cambodian instruments around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Villa Paradiso and would highly recommend it!

As described, the hotel was an old French colonial manner home and the owners have done a fantastic job of renovating and converting it into a hotel. With only 12 rooms, it is quite intimate however at the same time, you feel like you are staying in a large hotel. The property is absolutely beautiful, many trees, palms, flowers so you do feel like you are in a paradise when you step through the entrance.

Location is perfect - close to the riverfront, close to the market and the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda. For the Russian market, it is super easy to take a Tuk Tuk, costs $3 from the hotel. And there are always Tuk Tuks out front.

They have a restaurant / bar area that is outdoors (covered) and overlooks the pool which is surrounded by gorgeous landscaping. We had been travelling for 3 weeks and had stayed at many hotels, this was the only one where we lingered over breakfast to enjoy the view. Relaxing music in the background, very easy to unwind.

Breakfast was included and was really good. It was not a buffet however you had several options from a typical American, European or Asian. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was also delicious. They have a great mix of Western food and Asian food.

Wifi was free and was fast.

No gym or fitness facility however they do have a beautiful pool so you can swim laps.

The spa was brilliant - I had a massage with Daline - she was amazing. One of the best massages I have ever had. The spa was designed also very creatively. You wonder where it is and then realize that they have tucked it away behind the landscaping by the pool. It was wonderful. We had a couples massage and afterwards, you sit by the pool and enjoy fruit and tea with hot stones for your back.

We stayed in room 12, the Japanese Suite. We loved it. The bed is in true Japanese style, mattress on a base on the floor. It was incredibly comfortable. Very quiet and the room was dark. We had a great sleep. The air conditioning in the room was terrific, nice and cool. Lots of storage in the room, huge bathroom. Coffee maker, nespresso machine, safe, local newspaper each morning in English, we were even given a local mobile phone for our personal use while we were there (I believe this is included only for executive rooms). Big comfy couch, large screen TV with many English channels as well as a ton of movies.

Room also came with an oil burner and some lovely scented oil for us to burn. We used it one night and it filled the room with an amazing scent. Lighting in the room was great and most of the lights had dimmer switches so you could really control the lighting in the room

Everyone who works at the Villa Paradiso were so friendly professional and really wanted you to enjoy yourself. The service was incredible. Mr Sarath at the reception desk was so helpful and really good. The owners are often there as well, making changes, upgrading and continuing to ensure that the Villa Paradiso delivers a hotel experience which makes you want to return again and again.

If you come to Phnom Penh, no need to stay anywhere else - stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Paradiso

Address: Street 222, 25+27, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This real gem, in the center of Phnom Penh, was the brainchild of Sandra and Philipp, two passionate travelers whose aim was to create a boutique hotel which would capture for guests the essence of some of their wonderful trips around the globe.Extensive renovations to a charming Khmer villa, carried out to the highest standards, ensure that guests receive, for a very affordable price, the services of a 5 star hotel accompanied by warm hospitality and personalized attention, which ranks among the best in Phnom Penh.A fusion of exotic Asia with modern amenities has given to each of the ten rooms its own very special character. With furnishings collected from around the world and individually designed modern bathrooms, guests can enjoy the very best in ambiance and comfort.With its location on a quiet residential street in the center of Phnom Penh, the hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions like the royal palace and is just a few blocks from an enormous choice of restaurants and bars. Click here for exact location.After a day of sightseeing or getting business done, guests can relax in a lush tropical garden by the pool, pamper themselves in the spa, unwind in the Jacuzzi, detox in the sauna, and enjoy an assortment of healthy snacks, wonderful cakes and fresh fruit juices at the garden café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Paradiso Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.