We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Villa Paradiso to your Saves list
The Villa Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 222, 25+27, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A Gem in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is such a find providing an oasis of calm from the busy life of Phnom Penh. Our family of 4 throughly enjoyed our recent stay at the boutique Villa Paradiso staying in 2 individually decorated rooms.The hotel and swimming pool were set in a beautiful garden environment which was a welcome relief after busy days of sightseeing.The rooms were well appointed and spacious with comfortable beds. The staff and owners were exceptionally hospitable providing a high level of service. I would recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
320
85
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great old style colonial boutique hotel - staff wonderful and very congenial hosts Philip and Sandra - this place is an oasis in the very crazy PP. Thanks for making us feel welcome and would have no hesitation in coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The Villa Paradiso is the perfect oasis where you can escape the busy, exciting streets of Phnom Penh. 
As soon as we arrivied from the airport we felt welcomed and at home. The staff is friendly but not quit as professionel as in the bigger hotels. This is part of the charm and the owner, Philip from Germany, makes sure that not to many corners are cut in the service.When he finds time to smoke a cigar at the beautiful pool area you can also pick his brain about nice places to see, eat and visit in the country as well as insider knowledge of the politics, economy and history of Cambodia. 
We stayed in the balinese suite and enjoyed every second of it. The matresses are imported from Germany and will make you sleep 10 hours straghit, there is video-on-demand in all rooms as well as complementary water, mosquito repellent (yes, that is a must in all of Cambodia), scented candels and oil and flip flops.
Best of all is the relaxed atmosphere where you can just borrow a book from the bookshelf and sit in the nice commom areas and inevatible you will end up talking to other guests and make friends.
PS: Try the banana milkshake!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama downs Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is our first trip to Cambodia and what an excellent way to start our trip.We cannot speak highly enough about the friendly staff and Phillip and Sandra the owners. This boutique hotel with its luxurious rooms at a reasonable price were immaculate and very spacious, a great retreat after a busy day touring around the city. The pool was very clean and it's surrounding lush and relaxing - obviously well maintained. The owners gave us great advice about the local area which is great for first timers. We stayed here from the 4th to the 6th September . We would definately stay here again and we would highly recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Highly recommended! Quiet and safe area, Very good kitchen/meals, nice bar by the pool, we had a lot of drinks there, best passion fruit mojito ever; and easy to get around, close to the centre of town. Spa facilities to really cool down. Every room individually decorated, with it's own unike theme. Extremely helpfull owners and charming staff. Clean. This hotel truly deserves it's name.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stay at Villa Paradiso for 2 nights during a business trip to Phnom Penh.
The overall appearance of the property is fine but then I face several issues in regards to the cleanliness in different occasion (Bathroom with last customer “remaining”, swimming pool with a strange water odor and greasy base. and human hair in one dish at the restaurant.).
While perfection was not expected, this accumulation of concerns in regards to cleanliness and hygiene basically ruin my stay. For the bathroom problem, I ask the housekeeping to clean again the bathroom as it was obviously not done properly and they respond that it was already done and will be clean again tomorrow… I am not that touchy and sensible but hygiene in the bathroom is truly primordial for me.
Despite the fair level of service, I do not find the feeling of heartfelt service that I cross in the past in Cambodia.
My note of two does remain mainly motivated but true poor experience in term of cleanliness and I humbly recommend the management to enforce that aspect if they want to deserve their good ranking on trip advisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamnoreen, Manager at The Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Please allow us to have doubts as to the fact that you ever stayed at the villa paradiso hotel.

Unfortunately the stated facts are incorrect to the point where I would only address the pool issue, which would be an issue visible to ALL our guests.

For a pool to be "Smelly", the water will be so dirty, that no one will dare put a toe in it, let alone discover that the bottom is oily.
Our pool is perfectly maintained and crystal clear we had no problems with it for more then a year and a half.

Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

very well located - spacious rooms, average bathrooms, helpful service. the Villa is beautifully decorated with a nice balcony overlooking the quiet street. Ample sitting area and lounges- very pleasant to relax with a cup of tea. Breakfast is disappointing - poor quality and eggs badly prepared. But all in all recommended for a stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamnoreen, Manager at The Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. It is very valuable to us.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy the breakfast. We have one new cook, among our pool of cooks, and you were the unfortunate victim.
This is by no way an excuse, we will address this issue.
Thank you for letting us know.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Paradiso

Address: Street 222, 25+27, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This real gem, in the center of Phnom Penh, was the brainchild of Sandra and Philipp, two passionate travelers whose aim was to create a boutique hotel which would capture for guests the essence of some of their wonderful trips around the globe.Extensive renovations to a charming Khmer villa, carried out to the highest standards, ensure that guests receive, for a very affordable price, the services of a 5 star hotel accompanied by warm hospitality and personalized attention, which ranks among the best in Phnom Penh.A fusion of exotic Asia with modern amenities has given to each of the ten rooms its own very special character. With furnishings collected from around the world and individually designed modern bathrooms, guests can enjoy the very best in ambiance and comfort.With its location on a quiet residential street in the center of Phnom Penh, the hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions like the royal palace and is just a few blocks from an enormous choice of restaurants and bars. Click here for exact location.After a day of sightseeing or getting business done, guests can relax in a lush tropical garden by the pool, pamper themselves in the spa, unwind in the Jacuzzi, detox in the sauna, and enjoy an assortment of healthy snacks, wonderful cakes and fresh fruit juices at the garden café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Paradiso Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.