We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Dog Guesthouse to your Saves list
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#13, Street 51 | Sangat Boeung Kong Keng, Phnom Penh 1, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 296 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I backpacked for a month through Vietnam and Cambodia and this was by far my favorite guesthouse. Not only is it a great value - I paid $5 for a single with a fan which was more than enough even with the summer humidity - but a very cozy place with a common room that was an ideal setting to meet other travelers. The owner, Rithy, even took me out to an authentic Khmer dinner with his friends that he graciously paid for as well.

If you're looking for an authentic Cambodian experience, Blue Dog fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
19
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

If you manage to get the "room" (without a ceiling!) more like a box, beside the common area and shared bathroom you are gauranteed a maximium of 2/3 hours sleep with the constant disturbances throughout the night. you can count how many people are going to the toilet throughout the night and participate in discussions in the lobby right from your bed !!!! for 8$ a night with shared bathroom, really BAD DEAL !
only plus is free wifi to help you on ur sleepless night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I was supposed to stay on or two days in Phnom Penh and ended up staying for 10 days thanks to the friendly owners of the Blue Dog ( Rithy and Hun). The guesthouse is rather small but really makes you feel at home. The common area is really cosy and great to meet the other friendly guests. Above all take your time to talk to Rithy, Hun and the Tuk-tuk driver. They have great stories on Cambodia and it's a unique chance to get to know Cambodian people.
And if you fancy a good party, you will not have to ask Rithy twice. He will love to show you the local bars of Phnom Penh and ABOVE all take you to the Karaoke! Great fun guaranteed!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed one week at the cosy Blue Dogs Guesthouse and I realy enjoyed my time there! It was like beeing a part of their family. The owner is a realy nice person. He can arrange everything for you and he is not profit-oriented person. He invided me and other guests for a privat trip a a beautyfull hidden waterfall. The Guesthouse has his own Tuktuk driver who can show you hidden places and you can explore the real Cambodia. Its not a luxury guesthouse with big rooms but they are nice people and you can have a good time there!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dog Guesthouse

Address: #13, Street 51 | Sangat Boeung Kong Keng, Phnom Penh 1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family-owned guesthouse well located within walking distance of the Royal Palace, National Museum and S-21 prison. Our Tuk-tuk driver (Kok) can bring you to the killing fields as well. Relax in our cozy lounge and meet the other guests with some great food from our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Dog Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dog Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.