We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Blue Dog!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Dog Guesthouse to your Saves list
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#13, Street 51 | Sangat Boeung Kong Keng, Phnom Penh 1, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Phume Phnom, Cambodia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go Blue Dog!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you want a real place with locals and travelers, this is the place for you. Rooms are nice and clean with "very" flexible rates. It just depends on what you are looking for but it really doesn't get any better than the BLUE DOG!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
15
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Great guesthouse in nice location by the independence monument - Food was excellent - try the LocLak :)

also took a tip with Kok the tuktuk driver which was good fun and a reasonable rate -

other guests also nice and free wifi and computers available

recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Pros: Blue Dog Guesthouse is pretty well located with some decent restaurants and coffee shops very nearby. It's also just a short walk away to the Independence Monument. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, free fast wifi and access to a pc was available. Meals are available.

Could go either way: There seemed only to be one bathroom to several rooms however this wasn't a problem for the three nights I stayed. You won't need to ask for information if you want to take any tours.

Cons: Two of the rooms (one of which I was occupying) were out on a verandah at the front of the building. These were basically sparsely furnished plywood boxes built against one solid wall with airbricks backing into the lounge/TV/landing area. As this provided absolutely no sound insulation whatsoever I was grateful that I'd packed earplugs.

Overall the Blue Dog was value for money, and Phnom Penh is compact enough to visit on foot from here if the weather isn't too overbearing. Probably not the place for more than a couple of nights unless you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

the people whom run the place seem pretty nice. the down sides are that everyone smokes throughout the building so is v. unpleasant for non smokers. The room i had was right next to the living area. it was so noisy. it had little security, basically a windowless window covered with a cloth, so anyone could have put there hand in to grab stuff. the door was hardboard and had a padlock on it, but did not feel at all secure. the room felt very damp, there were stains on the dirty mat on the concrete floor. not pleasant at all, the ceiling is boarded up with hardboard but you can still hear noises fom the tin roof all night. such a shame, because i think that it could be greatly improved with some TLC in the building/rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Blue Dog GH for one night only so I can't say too much about the service, but the room (double ensuite) was one of the not so good ones we stayed during our three weeks in Cambodia. It was extremely basic, noisy, and the bathroom was small and old. For $10 there are so many better places to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

blue dog will always have a special place in my heart!Me and my friends stayed there for few weeks! it is owned by a very sweet family. The owner and his wife are always super helpful and kind. if you need something, they will always do their best to find a way to help you out (the owner helps you with the visa, bus tickets, etc...) and the wife is always more than happy to make you a delicious meal. They have the cutest son ever!I cannot forget Kok who gives a special vibe to the hostel. He has a tuk-tuk, so you can always ask him for a ride and he will be more than glad to help out for a fair price+you will always feel safe. He can take you to the killing fields and tell you more about it himself, or take you out on a great party or cambodian bbq - you name it. Location is great - walking distance to many things worth seeing in Phnom Penh. Safe neighborhood. Rooms are all clean, have a fan, some have private, some shared bathrooms. They even do your laundry. If you want 5 star hotel, this is obviously not it, but if you want a warm, home-feel envrionment, that is the best place to go!I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I do not feel like this place is a hotel. It feels more like a family has taken me in for two days! There's a sweet little kid walking around and even the family cat gave me a friendly visit.

When their resident tuk tuk driver couldn't make it, the guesthouse owner personally drove me in his car instead, but still charged me the tuk tuk price. Not only that, he also shared first hand stories of himself during the Khmer Rouge times.

Everybody in the family, as well as their tuk tuk drivers are all friendly! I had a nice chat with one of their tuk tuk driver's friend who accompanied me to the museum !

I feel safe and well taken care of.

The rooms are simple, made out of wooden boards, and you may hear people walking around. So don't expect quality in physical space, but well, it's why the rates are not expensive.

If you are looking for a guesthouse with heart and soul, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dog Guesthouse

Address: #13, Street 51 | Sangat Boeung Kong Keng, Phnom Penh 1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family-owned guesthouse well located within walking distance of the Royal Palace, National Museum and S-21 prison. Our Tuk-tuk driver (Kok) can bring you to the killing fields as well. Relax in our cozy lounge and meet the other guests with some great food from our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dog Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dog Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.