We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When it's raining ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K-West Restaurant and Cafe

K-West Restaurant and Cafe
#1 St. 154, Corner Sisowath Quay | Wat Ounalom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 23 219 579
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 680 restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: American, Asian, Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“When it's raining ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the perfect place to sit inside, have a coffee, read some stuff. Very relaxing. Near a pagoda, can't miss it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    12
    10
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice view but overpriced and poor staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

If you go on the roof terrace you'll get a nice view of the river and at night it's quite charming. However we ordered a jug of mojito for 5 and they brought a jug for 2 and 4 glasses. On top that we could barely taste the alcohol, just full of ice cubes. When we called the manager she only gave us a 50% discount. Staff is not customer-oriented which is a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for a coffee break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I like to stop in here for a coffee and to read the newspapers. The coffee is great, with a biscotti to go with it. The meals are ok, but a bit pricey for PP.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“Probably the biggest rip off on PP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

$8 for an english breakfast that has, ham that is sandwich ham, two pieces you can read a newspaper through, canned beans that are hard, fake scrambled eggs, and two little frozen deep fried pieces of potato, and a couple pieces of bread, small coffee and glas of canned OJ. You can get an English like this with MUCH better food at just about any restaurant that serves this for $.50. This meal cost the k-west at most $1.50. It is a disgrace to the name and I would avoid the breakfast here. I will NEVER go back.

To be fair I did discuss it with the manager, she offered to comp the breakfast and said it would improve. If the place is owned by a Cambodian it will not improve I can assure you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Air conditioning. Average food at higher than average prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

THis is just OK. The bar however is great to sit at and one can look out over the banks of the Mekong. Menu is large enough and varied but prices are above average for quality and quantity. A so-so review of a so-so place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-West Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to K-West Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K-West Restaurant and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.