We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Bad Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue River Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road. 6A | Preakleap, Russey Keo, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Malaysia
1 review
“Terrible Bad Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Far far far away from town, even this is acceptable, but this is definitely the most terrible hotel i had ever stay!!! The receptionist dun even understand their own hotel room rates. When we came bck late from town, we found out that all "4-star" hotel stuff actually sleeping in the lobby!!!!!!! beside.. the room is terrible warm !!! when the so called "engineer" came into my room and simply restart the air-cond and keep on asking to wait. But after 30 mins and 30 mins waiting, the situation haven't change at all. I will never ever stay into this stupid hotel again!!

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very nice comfortable hotel just a little bit away from the city centre ,, Nice river view , very friendly staff , the breakfast and restaurant of a good standard. We hired a local Tuk Tuk driver called Alex who was first class and took us everywhere and anywhere , no problem ,, You certainly need on as hotel too far to consider walking to the centre

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the blue river for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had the connecting suite for 5 of us and it was perfect. Loved how it wasnt in town, felt good to come home in the evenings and relax away from the busy city. Tuk tuk ride took less then 10 mins to get to town, by car 5mins. Pool was ok. All service attendants were awesome, really polite and always smiling. Buffet breakfast in the mornings were the best I've had in cambodia. Definitely will be staying here again when we visit Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Français au Québec
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we had booked online and had not seen that it was very far from de town center. happily, the hotel has a shuttle 4 times a day to get you in town but you must pay 5$ the tuk tuk to get back. It's expensive.
the room we had was great, clean et had a really hot water shower, the view on the mekong from the sixth floor was gorgeous. Otherwise, it smelled when you switched on the aircon, there was only a chair in the room, the wash-hand basin could not be closed because it had no more plug, the spa had a tap which runs very poorly et the water didn't stay.
In the lobby there were 2 computers but so slow..
at the restaurant, the tables are not always cleaned and the seats too.
Their swimming pool has no shadow and no umbrella, it is very isolated at the 1st floor.

the staff is very smiling and pleasant, but not very efficiency. I've bought a can of beer and they spent 10 minutes to find the price, then 10 minutes to give me back the change over 20$.
The last day, the cleaning of the room was not made.

To resume, this hotel seem luxurious but is not. and the price is too expensive for this service.

Room Tip: ask for the room on the mekong otherwise you'll see a dirty street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and took 2 rooms, for 3 adults and 2 kids. The rooms were spacious and well equipped with sofas, floor lighting, ensuite baths, TVs, bedside lamps etc.. plus communal outdoor pool, jacuzzi and steamroom. The rooms were a little dark, and the baths do leak, but you would not get such facilities for this price in town.

The hotel seems to cater to touring parties, arriving in the evenings and departing in the mornings.

The views from the balcony is just stunning, with chairs and tables provided outside. We got up early to see the sunrise each morning. The river front also provides for some exposure to village life, with cocks crowing and the odd fishing boat setting out at dawn.

We loved the hotel and were impressed with the service. The breakfast was more than adequate with freshly-delivered baguettes in the morning. There was also a full cooked buffet with omelet station and fruits. The restaurant also served adequate dinners late into the evening.

It was nice to leave town in the evenings and return to our little retreat. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle into town, and a tuk tuk back costs just $5. The hotel also picked us up from the airport at no charge.

Any suggestions? It would be good if they reopened the bar on the top floor, which has awesome views, and provide some entertainment in the evenings.

We would return to stay here if we are back in the area. Lovely hotel at a steal of a price!

Room Tip: i think room 208 consists of 2 adjoining rooms so ideal if you are travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel provides airport pickup & transfer. All staff members are polite and helpful. The buffet breakfast is ample with food selection. Though the hotel provides shuttle service to downtown but guests have to pay the return fare. It takes time on travel and no supermarket or restaurants nearby and so not convenient for foreign visitors. Room facilities are good and river view is excellent.

Room Tip: rooms with river view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel was pretty decent with good interiors, great room size and beautiful view of the river. Staff was quite friendly. Also Free shuttle to town was available. Only downside is that its very far from. So you have to shell out around 5-7 dollars every time just to get to the town whereas a complete day tour to 5-6 destination would charge you only 8 dollars.
We went on November and hotel was pretty vacant so we got the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center- all to ourselves.
Overall value for money and good experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: National Road. 6A | Preakleap, Russey Keo, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is the best hotel four stars where a very good of Mekong river View.Very good location for Mekong river view, good service, staff friendly. Moreover, our hotel has sky bar, KTV, conference rooms, fitness club and restaurant with good taste :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.