We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
City Centre Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 77-79, Street 130 | Sangkat Phsar Chas, khan Daun penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the stay was enjoyable. The room was a little small but still acceptable in view of the prices. There was a shower cubicle within the bathroom and it helped to keep the floor dry. On a side note, the toilet flushing system did not worked well however it was fine for the rest of our stay after the staff had cleared it.

The breakfast was great and the choices were good. The wifi provided was strong throughout the lift lobby area and in the rooms. Only thing there was supposed to be a PC in the room (as per shown during the booking website).

The staff were helpful particularly the duty manager (dark skin toned) who assisted us in our request for late checkout and call for a taxi to the airport. I cannot remembered his name. On a whole, the staff were helpful and courteous.

We engaged the hotel - tuk tuk driver (Mr Kim Song) for a day and visited the city and outskirts. He was courteous, advised on the sequence for visiting the places of interest and also charged us reasonably too.

The location of the hotel was not bad given the room prices. It is about a 10mins walk to the Central Market.

On a whole, we will recommend this hotel value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    94
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
7
58
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location - great. 5 minutes from paddy rice and river front.
Room - clean, quiet, comfy bed. I had deluxe room near the lift/elevator and was worried about noise from machinery and foot traffic. The door seemed pretty flimsy BUT it was fine.
Service - great. Chris the manager sorted a safety box for the room with no dramas even though the rooms don't have them. No extra charge.
Cost performance - I think this type of hotel is your best bet in PP to be frank. Any cheaper and they are grotty and the more expensive boutique hotels just don't have the service training to the staff to justify the price. There is only so much funky wallpaper and pot pouri you can add to a room. A jump from 40 dollars to 80 is not worth that in my book. You just don't get true quality and service until you hit the big 5 star hotels but then you really are paying international prices.

This hotel was a good price for me, helpful manager and room was somewhere I was happy to rest my head and felt secure enough for me and my belongings. For me these criteria are essential for a hotel in PP and you don't need to be paying more than 40 -50 dollars MAX.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I only stayed there for one night. The location of this hotel is really in the midst of almost everything such bars, restaurants, shopping and so. It's just a few steps away to Riverfront area. The room I was stay was clean and with comfortable bed. The staffs there were friendly and helpful. I am recommending this hotel to any travelers who fall into Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Deluxe or Superior Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's a nice hotel and friendly staff, good location but the breakfast is O.K. I stayed one night and really enjoy my time in Phnom Penh. You should stay here if you travel to Phnom Penh.

The bus stop is very closed to hotel, you can walk or take a tuk tuk around $1-2. Overall, it's great time to be there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Awesome staff at this hotel who will go out of their way to help you, and 100% honest ive left my belongings everywhere in the room and the cleaners will pick it up sweep underneath and place it make down, wont touch a riel!

In the center of town but you hear 0 from your room rooms are completely dark good for sleeping in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for 10 nights I can say that if I go back to Phnom Pehn I would stay there again. Whilst the rooms arn't large and they dont have an outside looking window (only need the room for sleeping) they were clean and tidy, they were tidied every day and 2 bottles of drinking water, new tea and coffee bags were replaced when used. The staff were pleasent always had a smile and nothing was ever a problem for them, even the Tuk-Tuk drivers stationed outside were always willing to take you anywhere at very cheap prices(let one take us to the airport when we left with our luggage for $7-00, gave him $12-00 nice guy full of info). This hotel is on street 130 and when you leave you turn left to go to Riverside 2 minutes walk or turn right and 5 minutes walk you reach Central Markets great if you have to do lots of souvenier shopping. Breakfast is included in the $32-00 a night room cost and there are 15 choices of breakfast (I always had number 14). To call it City Centre Hotel is right as it is central to everything.

Room Tip: They have very few rooms with a window so if you have to have a window then you will pay more and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Gods, this place was terrible...

Was supposed to stay 3 nights, checked out after 1 instead. Here's some of the highlights:
- room very tiny, bathroom even smaller...barely enough to move around the bed
- my shower head was broken, shower door jammed
- lock on door very difficult to close, nearly broken...felt very insecure
- rooms & hallway very dingy and very musty/unclean smelling
- no outside light at all, just a window to the very dimly lit hallway
- half of the lights in my room & bathroom were broken or missing
- air conditioner didn't work half the time
- staff not very helpful, and many could not understand even a little English


I expect these conditions for cheaper rooms, but for a minimum of $32/night, this should have been a lot better. Especially when there are similar-priced hotels in the same general area with much better conditions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Hotel

Address: No. 77-79, Street 130 | Sangkat Phsar Chas, khan Daun penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, conveniently located close to the commercial district, close to tourist attractions, and close to the Sisowath Quay area of restaurants and nightlife along the riverside. For shopping, the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Phnom Penh central market. Bus terminals for all points in Cambodia are nearby. City Centre Hotel is designed for comfort and convenience, with amenities beyond what you would expect in an economical hotel, including: free wi/fi internet, in-room refrigerator, lift to all floors, flat screen TV with 66 channels, in-room coffee/tea maker, in-room phone, luxury spring beds, and western style bathrooms. There is 24 hour security, with security cameras on all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.