We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
City Centre Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 77-79, Street 130 | Sangkat Phsar Chas, khan Daun penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is in great location not far from waterfront. Rooms are OK, bathroom could do with sprucing up. Computer in room was pointless as not connected to internet. Bit weird not having a window in room. Staff were friendly although quoted stupidly high prices for a taxi and bus. Good value for money considering its location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
51
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

While the City Centre Hotel isn't right on the riverfront, it is only two blocks (five minutes walk) away, and is positioned in a safe, relatively quiet spot in the central part of the city. I booked a Deluxe Room on one of the upper floors, and it was comfortable and very quiet. The window (double-glazed?) was sealed shut, so I was immune to the outside hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh.

I have to commend the hotel on their choice of beds/mattresses. Any traveler to Asia will be accustomed to rock hard beds when staying in mid-priced hotels, but that isn't the case here. It was a VERY nice bed to sleep in. The rooms aren't huge, but are nicely appointed and modern. Good bathrooms with a Western-style shower. The computer in the room didn't work very well for me (very slow connection) and my experience with wi-fi using my own laptop wasn't great either. More work needs to be done on improving this.

Breakfast was included in my tariff (a choice of menu items, not a buffet) and the food was nicely prepared. No shortage of motorbike drivers/tuk tuk drivers outside the hotel (in fact, they are likely to spot you before you see them!), who are pretty fair operators.

While there are cheaper three-star places to stay in Phnom Penh, the City Centre Hotel is a very dependable choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A well placed hotel close to the river. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and very helpful. Although breakfast wasn't included we had breakfast outside the hotel at a very reasonable price served by very friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A Tut Tut driver was even organised for us when we arrived at Siem Reap which saved a lot of hassle. Thanks to all staff!

Room Tip: no comment as only stayed for 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel location is a plus point to stay if you need to be near the riverside, and a quiet place to rest. It is just 2 blocks away from riverside and 10 minutes walk to Central market. Plenty of restaurents and pubs around and nearby, and hotel is just outside these places, so it is quiet and peaceful. Only minus point is that there is no pool. But to me this is not important. Location and price you pay is important. It is not expensive.
Room is not big, and most of them just have windows that open to the common corridoor. But then it is very clean with good air-con, free wi-fi inside room and cable television. Room itself is clean everyday, which I like about it. Breakfast is provided free and choices are good. You don't really get sick of eating it everyday, as you can select and choose from the menu given. Utensils used are very clean as well.
They have very nice people working in this hotel, and their GM, Chris, is a very nice guy. People here are very friendly and accommodating. They will quickly fix the problem in your room if you inform them early in the morning, and by the time you back in the late afternoon, it is done. Staffs will greet you and smile at you everyday. It is not those sort of artificial face expression you see in many places and hotels.
Am able to give such details because I am a regular guest, and I have not change hotel since day 1 that I choose this hotel. You never go wrong, as I am very particular about cleanliness.

Room Tip: Several room rate options depending on your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good location and there were even computer in the room for you to use. everything is very clean too. however the down side is the standard room is very small. so small that you can hardly walk around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September for 6 nights. I booked the deluxe room and it was great. Air conditioning , television , computer , shower , fridge (water x2 daily) , daily room cleaning and a very comfortable queen bed.

Breakfast was nice, had choice of one meal off menu and an orange juice or coffee. Hotel is just two streets back from river and then 3 streets in opposite direction to central markets. They have in house tuk tuk drivers who take great care.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and enjoyed having a talk with them. Enjoyed my entire stay and would return and recommend to those looking at city centre hotel Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Phnom Penh, close to everything, I stayed here for 3 nights and an extra night on my return from sihanoukville in june 2012. I have to say, I couldn't fault it. My room was 'sparkling' clean, room was a little small but the bed was comfortable and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I hope to return to Cambodia soon and this is the hotel I will make a beeline for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Hotel

Address: No. 77-79, Street 130 | Sangkat Phsar Chas, khan Daun penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, conveniently located close to the commercial district, close to tourist attractions, and close to the Sisowath Quay area of restaurants and nightlife along the riverside. For shopping, the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Phnom Penh central market. Bus terminals for all points in Cambodia are nearby. City Centre Hotel is designed for comfort and convenience, with amenities beyond what you would expect in an economical hotel, including: free wi/fi internet, in-room refrigerator, lift to all floors, flat screen TV with 66 channels, in-room coffee/tea maker, in-room phone, luxury spring beds, and western style bathrooms. There is 24 hour security, with security cameras on all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.