We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local and western cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandal House

Kandal House
239 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+85515800111
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 786 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“local and western cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great fish amok, the western dishes are a bit pricey but if you are yearning for something from home! This is great little cafe to eat at. Friendly service and food is usually pretty good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average pizza ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Came here for a dinner. I ordered pizza and my friend ordered pasta bolognese.

My friend liked the pasta. My pizza was average in taste. I paid $5.25 for small size and I must say it wasn't worth the prize. I can pay way lower for a better taste in other places like Domino's.

Ambiance is good. Drinks are cheaper & it is just in front of the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Amazing "Loc Lack"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came here just for a couple of beers (0.75$ till 10pm) and we took something for eating: amazingly they had "poutine" (a french-canadian dish) and we've ordered a typical cambodian dish too: loc lack. Result: gorgeus! The loc lack is excelent, as well as the aproximation of poutine. This is a very simple place but it worth come to here! Cheap beer and very good food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best value restaurant on the riverfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This unpretentious family-run restaurant is full of surprises - a menu with loads of choice a bit different than usual, cheap & cheerful wine or cold draft beer, and staff who speak excellent English. You get a ringside seat in the heart of Sisowath with friendly service for half the price that you pay in the nearby pseudo-pubs - and the food is GREAT.

Also like to point out that Kandal House has been around for years - same owner, same staff - so they do pay attention to quality and have many regular ex-pat customers - unlike a lot of places on the riverfront which change owners regularly.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a few beers during happy hour. $0,75 for a handle of Anchor draft. Staff were friendly and kept the place clean (including the toilets) Free Wi-Fi, just ask for the password.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandal House also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Kandal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.