We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Thai food although relatively cheap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Riverside

Chiang Mai Riverside
227 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 799 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Thai food although relatively cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This Thai restaurant provides a large Thai and Kymer menu however I was left a little disappointed by the quality of the food. There was an overuse of fish sauce in the meal I had ordered which made the food almost inedible and my partner was equally disappointed by her order. Added to this we had to use the upstairs and the room was stiffling hot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    54
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Prompt service. Good food. Have no smoking section as well upstairs. They have a service button upstairs where you use it to call for service instead of calling out loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've enjoyed visiting this lovely little riverside restaurant each time we've been in PP. The food, service and friendliness never varies from excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good value food on the riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to the Chiang Mai riverside after finding it in the Lonely Planet guide and seeing positive reviews online. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. To start we shared fresh spring rolls with shrimp and for main we had the dry sweet red vegetable curry and the lucky chicken. Both of the main courses were very good and I would strongly recommend the lucky chicken to anyone. The menu was huge and the prices offered brilliant value for money.

The staff were friendly and the service was good throughout the meal. This was particularly impressive as they were also serving some extremely rude customers on another table; however, they remained warm and courteous regardless.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The food is fantastic and plentiful staff work there buts off to be helpful. One of my favorite places to eat in Phnom Penh

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Riverside also viewed

 

Been to Chiang Mai Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.