We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boddhi Tree Umma

Boddhi Tree Umma
#50 St 113, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
011 854430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 777 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

An unprepossessing cafe near the Tuol Sleng Museum. It provided much needed respite from the unrelenting horror of the Torture Museum.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, intimate locale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a small, intimate restaurant that serves up good food at reasonable prices. Although crowded, it wasn't too noisy and it was possible to carry on normal conversation.
Service was excellent, too, and at no point did we feel crowded or pressured. I'd be happy to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

An oasis on a rather dismal street, Boddhi Tree makes a good first impression.The black and white decor is simple and elegant as is the mod treehouse architecture. The food is delicious.
I enjoyed my first visit enough to return a second time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Mood music and marvelous healthy food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have eaten here several times and whilst enjoying the cool of the lush garden, the fast free wi-fi and some fantastic organic dishes that will have you coming back for more, this rare find in Phnom Penh is highly recommended! The staff friendly and efficient in a comfortable setting that will have you linger a little longer. The Boddhi Tree will have you go Ommmmmm

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Despite being opposite S21 (the genocide museum), the atmosphere was lovely - we sat in the garden courtyard surrounded by lanterns, plants and fairy-lights. The staff were so, so friendly and helpful - recommending menu options and drinks, chatting to us, and generally being lovely and smiley. The menu isn't that extensive, but there was something for everyone, the food is best described as modern Khmer, and it was all absolutely delicious. Our meal here was probably our best meal in Phnom Penh, and it was very good value for money. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boddhi Tree Umma also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Boddhi Tree Umma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boddhi Tree Umma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.