We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, negotiable rates for the rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cozyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cozyna Hotel to your Saves list
Cozyna Hotel
No. 1A, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great location, negotiable rates for the rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just spent 3 very good nights at the Cozyna Hotel along the Tonle Sap River in Phnom Penh. Excellent location with very good restaurants next door and most tourist sights within walking distance. We booked an interior room at only $20/night (after negotiating down from $23/night) for 2 people.
The bed was excellent, the air con a real pleasure after tramping around the city all day, cable t.v. with more channels than we could possibly watch, and the interior room was very quiet for a good night's sleep. Bathroom was a bit dangerous since the shower was over the tub but no curtain or door to keep the water from going all over the floor. Had to exercise extra caution stepping down/out of the tub onto the very slippery floor.
Tuk tuk touts always present outside the door but if you just ignore them they aren't really a problem (just trying to make a living after all). Minimal service available at the hotel/from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, cooler and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
39
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Shower head is fitted outside of the shower making showering a pain, sink in bathroom kept blocking, light on balcony didn't work, balcony railings very low so insist on lower floor if traveling with young children, I was on top floor and no lift, stairs are a pain especially if you have had a few drinks, constantly pestered by tuk tuk drivers at main doors, but location is good and overlooking the river, traffic can be noisy at night, I know the above sounds like I'm only picking the negatives but I'm being honest, this hotel is ok for someone who's not too fussy, in hindsight I think I could have gotten better

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Could be anywhere
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Well, if you are livin' on the cheap, I reckon it's alright. I've stayed there a few nights, but not enjoyed any of them really. Cell-like rooms, rooms near the street are filled with street noise all night. I requested a first floor (above ground floor) room a month in advance, when I arrived, I was put on the third floor anyway. I had a lot of heavy luggage with me and had requested the first floor intentionally. Staff always seems lazy, and unwilling to do anything to improve your stay. For $20 I guess you can't complain...I'll just go somewhere else and happily spend more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a beautiful Khmer hotel with lots of dark rich wood. The rooms were nice and as usual we wanted a balcony and got it. One night the traffic on the street below was virtually nonstop all night and we thought we would get no sleep but the next night it wasn't bad. In all we stayed three nights. There is a smell coming from the sewage treatment just up the street and if the wind is blowing your way you cannot get away from. We were at another hotel previously a few blocks away and the smell was there also. Once again we loved the location. There was lots to do and see day and night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is on the riverfront. Location could not have been better and reasonably priced. Room has very good A/C and a fridge. Not a very big room but spacious enough.

Room Tip: Best location and reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My week end in Phnom Penh just turned to nightmare as I was stolen my iphone in my room.
I left it to charge to my computer inside the closet of my room. When I was back from lunch, the phone wasn't there anymore. It has to be someone from the staff as the surveillance footage showed several people came inside while it was being cleaned. I reduced the number of suspects to a few staff members, but they all deny the theft so there isn't much i can do. I filed a complaint with the police without much hope. It's too bad. This is the 4th time i stay here and i never had a problem before. The staff is generally pleasant, but there must be one bad apple in the bunch. One conclusion:
AVOID COZYNA HOTEL!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

For a budget traveler, Phnom Penh is a difficult place to find a quality night's stay at a reasonable price. Too expensive and you can't afford your next meal, too cheap and you spend your time battling vermin. But Cozyna Hotel breaks the rule of "what you get is what you pay for." In this case, you get a bit more, and most of that has to do with the location. Sitting right in the middle of Sisowath Quay, Cozyna offers a no frills, guesthouse-style accommodation right in the midst of the action, only steps from the riverfront, the Royal Palace, the FCC, and the National Museum. For a few extra Riel, you get well-working air-con and stellar views from the street-facing rooms, as well as your own balcony. The hotel is sandwiched between two much more expensive options, and is surrounded at street level by all manner of decent restaurants, from Cambodian to Irish. Transportation onward to Siem Reap or elsewhere can be arranged at the front desk. The lobby and hallway vibe is dark and empty, but don't let that turn you off. Rooms are brightly lit, we had an electric tea kettle (although armies of ants devoured our sugar cubes), and an overall pleasant stay. On a budget, you can do much worse than Cozyna.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the riverfront to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cozyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozyna Hotel

Address: No. 1A, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cozyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozyna Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozyna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.