We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cambodian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romdeng

Romdeng
74 Street 174, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 92 219 565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 786 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Open Monday to Sunday from 11am to 10.30 Pm (kitchen closes 9.30Pm) Romdeng is set in a beautiful colonial building whose wooden carvings, tables, chairs and unique lights were all hand made in Cambodia. The silk goods and cushions adorning Romdeng were made by our students in sewing training at Mith Samlanh and its walls are hung with beautiful paintings produced by young people from the art classes there. All of this plus a pool, free WIFI, a family area and a gift shop mean a visit to Romdeng is a must. We would like to inform you that ROMDENG Restaurant will be closed for Khmer New Year and will reopen on the 6th of May 2014.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Cambodian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you're looking to try local cuisine this is the place! I would recommend the Fried Tarantula and the Stir Fried Red Tree Ants. The service is top notch and you'll be supporting a great cause. Must stop in Phnom Penh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    348
    90
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good night out at Romdeng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at Romdeng with 2 of my friends I always love the ambiance of the garden, food was good one of my friends is a chef who also teaches, they walked him through the kitchens he said they were doing a great job and the quality was good

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a fantastic restaurant. Really excellent food and service. We went here and friends and liked this restaurant more, location and experience. Our favourite dish was the vegetarian crispy noodle salad. It was amazing. So nice to eat great food and support a good cause.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went here as part of a small group tour and were very impressed. Great service,delicious and inventive menu with wonderful tastes and experiences, served outdoors on their veranda. the best $10 lunch I've ever had. Really enjoyed the sauces and the red sticky rice dessert with mango and coconut was superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A tourist trap with less than ordinary food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It was my first time at Romdeng for two years, and it will be a lot more before I go back! Let's start with the positives - well, the service was friendly. That's it. The food tastes like it has been prepared days in advance. Most dishes arrive cold and has very little flavour. I think if I had added a maggi cube to a cup of boiling water, it would have had more flavour and more depth. The porc, I am sure, died of old age - tough and tasteless!

Granted, this is a tourist trap, but there is no excuse to serve such poor food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friends-Intl, Manager at Romdeng, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Alvin G,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your experience at Romdeng, this kind of feedback is important for us to know better the issues we need to work on.

We assure you we use only the freshest ingredients with our dishes prepared only on order but none the less appreciate your comment with regards to our food. We are sorry to hear your food review which was very poor, if you could spare the time to give us any additional details they would be gratefully received; you can email directly at contact@romdeng-restaurant.org


Warm regards,

The Romdeng Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romdeng also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Romdeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romdeng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.