We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The ChangiVille

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The ChangiVille
Save
You added The ChangiVille to your Saves list
No.137B, Street 330 | Sangkat Bueng Keng Kang 3, Khan Chomkarmon District, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Nice little guesthouse with reliable and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

It is a school, a restaurant and next to it it is also a basic Hotel, the rooms are not like on the photos. The Hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

You get a very personal welcome here, and feel comfortable from the time you take your shoes off at the steps. It's a very nice, quiet spot and easy to find because it's so close to Tuol Sleng museum. We walked a little way one evening and got a great meal at a local restaurant, and it's a pleasant walk too to the Russian market area.

Ismael and his staff couldn't be more smiley or helpful. They booked us a taxi to kampot no problem, and at a reasonable rate. Our room (lavender room) was basic but clean and comfortable with everything we needed, including plenty of hot water and good quiet aircon. We didn't get any housekeeping which was fine (we were only staying 2 nights) - but I'm sure a word would have got quick results if it had been important. The food was really lovely, and a bargain at local prices. And eating, or just chilling out, in the garden is a real pleasure. There always seem to be local people coming and going, but there's always a quiet corner.

Lots of laughter from the lovely staff - a very good place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheintal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

At the end of December 2009 we (a family with a small kid) spent a few days in Phnom Penh. The ChangiVille turned out to be a very good choice as hotel. We had the Changi Room (probably the best one) - spacious (2 separated rooms), with view on a small and quiet side street, clean, nice furniture.

What we also appreciated very much was that the hotel is located downtown but not in the area where most tourists live. The cafe/restaurant is located in a nice small garden. It offers very good Khmer food and is quite popular among the locals. So it was lively, but not crowded and we enjoyed the opportunity to mingle with the people. The management as well as the restaurant chef spoke good English and were very helpful and attentive with regard to information, organization of events and preparation of (non-spicy) food for the kid.

If we travelled to Cambodia again, we would definitively chose The ChangiVille again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The guesthouse (it is not a hotel, and definitely not worth the "boutique" addittion) offers jobs and working experience in hospitality, and the owner, next to managing all this, teaches a group of kids on the roofterrace in the morning, which is all very good and a good cause to support. But the rooms are no reason to stay; (and were the reason we left) they are filled with old furniture, you are provided with old scruffy towels, had to ask for sheets on the bed, and there is no housekeeping to speak of. The main areas are clean enough. The restaurant is visited by lots of locals for breakfast- noodle soup and the like- but off the menu there were lots of things finished each day, like eggs or milk. I had the feeling that with a little extra energy and effort, it could be a really nice place and an example of a succesfull project for Cambodian youth. But for now, it isn't quite yet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We spent e few days with our 3 years old son here. We had two big rooms with balcony and a big bathroom. AC worked very well.
The hotel is located about 100m from Toul Sleng museum. We found very good Vietnamnese and Chinese restaurants (among many others) just around the corner. Also shopping opportunities are around there.
The manager Ismael was always around tin order to answer our questions. We appreciated his very friendly and polite way. Moreover, he gave lessons for young children in hotel!
Chief de Cuisine Dara and his team prepared meals which was appreciated a lot by local people. What more you can say about foods quality.
There are just a few rooms there. You're lucky if you get one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Overall I think this is a good place to stay, it's not near the main tourist areas so you really get a feel for Phnom Penh fast. There is a small expat gourmet store around the corner and although it's right down the street from Tuol Sleng, no tourists come down here. You can walk to restaurants and stores on Monovong St. and if motivated can walk to the riverside. That takes about 45 mins to an hour.

In general this guesthouse is good but there is no housekeeping service or other frills and you must pay for breakfast. We stayed in the Lavender Room. The A/C is weak. The hot water heater does not work but you can see and hear that it's on. Rooms are spacious but a bit dumpy. I was told the Internet would be fast but it was very slow. Because of these things, I think it's too much money for what you get. Otherwise, it's a cute place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The ChangiVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ChangiVille

Address: No.137B, Street 330 | Sangkat Bueng Keng Kang 3, Khan Chomkarmon District, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The ChangiVille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.