We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Me Mates Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Me Mates Place to your Saves list
Me Mates Place
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St 90 Sangkat Wat Phnom | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Me Mates place was one of the highlights of my quick stay in Phnom Penh. Decent location in a quiet neighborhood. I had arranged for bus station pick-up but they got confused and went to the wrong place, so make sure to specify if you arrange for this service as well.

My room was comfortable and clean. They did laundry as well with a machine dryer, which is a rare find in Asia! I booked my onwards bus ticket by myself and got a little bit of attitude for not booking through them (I didn't want to pay a higher price just for them to get a commission). Also if you take one of tuk tuk drivers right outside, it's likely one of the staff's relatives so you'll find yourself paying more than if you walk a block or two and get a different tuk tuk closer to the city. Very annoying to be a blonde American female and to constantly be charged more because of the way I look. However, the restaurant is quite yummy (pancakes!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    80
    48
    29
    18
See reviews for
2
82
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

OK budget hotel. Nice and clean rooms when you ask for a room with window. The Australian owner and the staff are friendly but maybe the staff is to eager to sell trips and tuktuk-rides. Check that you do not pay a prepayment twice! The location is a short walk off the centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Clean and comfortable- not big but not tiny. Excellent showers but weak air-con. We had back twin room which was quite quiet. The restaurant downstairs is pricey and poorly patronized. About 200m to main market and restaurant area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We booked online and were in contact via email with the staff. They were very helpful and arranged a tuk tuk from the airport. It's a long trip into town, but the last half of it is very scenic so get your camera out!

We were welcomed with a huge show of enthusiasm from Ricky and Tony. They checked us in immediately and brought us to our room. The reception area and the restaurant are very nice and modern with cool and funky artwork. The restaurant offers pricey but different western breakfasts than we've ran into elsewhere. The Canadian Breakfast even offers home-fries... awesome.

The room, unfortunately didn't match this trendy level. We booked a double room with an ensuite. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. There is a TV and a fridge in the room as well. The shower was perhaps the best one I have experienced in asia... great pressure, great hot water... i just stayed under it until it got cold as it was such a novelty for me.

There are tiny ants every where in the bathroom though. Attracted by even toothpaste, these guys will swarm at any sign of anything edible. A couple of ant traps would probably do the trick but we were only staying for two nights. In response to another reviewers comment, luckily for us the ants were restricted to the bathroom and none were found on the bed.

The room had no windows, no funky art on the walls (like downstairs), the air conditioning spit out mostly warm air and the fan made quite the racket. It's kind of stuffy and gloomy, unfortunately.

They offer wifi internet in the rooms. It's painfully slow though... but fine if you only need to check email.

We used one of their tuk tuk drivers to take us on a tour and he took us to the killing fields, the genocide museum (amazing), and all the other sights in town. He spoke very good english which was a nice surprise.

For it's shortcomings and advantages, this place is fairly average. For a short stay though, it's clean, has a great location, and great staff... so probably would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We travelled to Phnom Penh by bus from Siem Reap and were only staying in the capital over night . We arrived in the late evening just as it was getting dark . We were meet at the bus depot by a tuktuk driver which had been arranged by the guest house, this was a nice touch offered by them by e-mail and one we were very grateful for as the depot was a mad house. I have to say this is the only good thing I have to say about this guest house. The reception opens straight on to the street and didn't seem to offer any kind of sercurity. The room was very basic which is not a problem on it own as we really only wanted some where to sleep, it was on the 3rd floor, the stairs were dark and un even which can be a problem when carrying heavy laugage . There were ants all over the room and on the bed. The power cut out at least 5 times before we fell asleep, the first time whilst my partner was in the shower and then at almost regular intervals after that. At first we thought it was a problem with the local power supply but a quick look out the window showed it was just our guest house. We gave up trying to watch tv and tried to sleep, but every time the power cut out we were woken by banging noises from down stairs or the air con starting up again when the power returned. There was alot of noise from out side including a small funfair which went on into the early hours. All in all we didn't sleep very much and were glad to get out of there the next morning to go to the airport. We were not expecting a 5 star hotel experience or a secluded spot , but this guest house is was beyond basic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel is certainly a possible solution for a clean standard room (tiled floors, clean sheets, good mattress, good shower) in a relatively central location. This said, we were surprised by the dodgy activities proposed by one of the staff (ones we weren’t looking for). Also, the omnipresent macho “matey” banter with some of the staff wasn’t our style (although we should have known from the hotel’s name). Also, we gave our laundry to the staff to get washed (they outsourced it as their in-house laundry was not working), and a number of our items came back stained and ripped. The hotel apologised, and even re-washed a shirt for us (we appreciated that, the owner seems like he’s a star), but we were still disappointed that it happened in the first place. The hotel is good value for what it is, and the breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I stayed at Me Mates place and booked online with them. This was my first time to Phnom Penh and they arranged a touk touk to pick me up and take me to my place. The rooms were super clean and the staff was really exceptional. They helped arrange my bus to Sihanoukville, my local transportation and lots more. Paul,Ricky and the boys are great and I recomment this place to anyone. 9.5 out of 10 is my grade for them. And the breakfasts are amazing - try the Shazaam sandwich.

  • Liked — I think the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Me Mates Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Me Mates Place

Address: St 90 Sangkat Wat Phnom | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Me Mates Place 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Me Mates Villa is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. Only 0.5 Km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. For those of you who want to venture out, Wat Saravan, National Museum, Cambodian Cooking Class are just some of the attractions available to visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Me Mates Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Mates Place Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me Mates Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.