We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Me Mates Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Me Mates Place to your Saves list
Me Mates Place
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St 90 Sangkat Wat Phnom | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 296 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here three nights. First we had a room without window, but quite nice, cable tv had more channels in this room than in the room we moved to next, on the third floor with window, which was nicer because of that. Bathrooms are nice with good water pressure and hot water. The mattresses in both rooms were very hard though really the only bad I can think of.
The restaurant has a limited choice of food, but everything we tryed was good. Having some freshly squeezed fruit juices on the menu would have been great, missed that.
The staff we met was really friendly and helpfull, and the location is good, short walk to the river.
We were allowed to use the pool at 88hostel which has the same owner, next time we will stay at that hostel as it has a nicer communal area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rithy168, Front Office Manager at Me Mates Place, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Me Mates Place for your recent stay in Phnom Penh city. We have read your comments about our guesthouse and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again at Me Mates Place

Best regards and warmest greetings,

Nak Rithy(Mr.)

Front Officer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    88
    52
    30
    19
See reviews for
2
91
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I too read the reviews and decided to stay here because of all the great recommendations, but was disappointed.

Pros are that it is cheap-ish ($7 for a dorm bed) and the beds are really big and comfy. Bathrooms are very clean.

But the staff were pretty unhelpful - no one wanted to help me book a bus, and the commission was comparatively high, so in the end I did it myself. The, location is a good twenty minute walk/$2 tuk tuk from town, and when i asked for directions on my first day, was just told "walk that way." They had no maps either - even though there are tons of free maps in PP. The food is fine but is expensive. Also, the killer for me, the dorm room doesn't lock, there's no safe available, and only some of the advertised lockers have padlocks, so if you're the last in your room, as I was, you're out of luck. Staff won't hire you a padlock either (I asked, but no go, had my own, but frustrating). Laundry prices are outrageous too - $2.50 a kilo, when its 50c-$1 a kilo everywhere else.

They give you a free drink at the bar if you post a review on tripadvisor while you're there ... Take from that what you will

Overall, it's not bad exactly, but you can easily find much better

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great food, great location and brilliant staff. we have stayed here everytime we went to phnom phen. Jonny looked after us everytime. Rooms were spotless. Comfy beds and loved the cable tv in each room. Make sure you get the muesli for breakfast and then the bbq wrap for dinner. they book all your buses and onward travel. highly recommended!

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rithy168, Front Office Manager at Me Mates Place, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Me Mates Place for your recent stay in Phnom Penh city. We have read your comments about our guesthouse and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again at Me Mates Place

Best regards and warmest greetings,

Nak Rithy(Mr.)

Front Officer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

You want a nice, clean, good value place to stay when you come to Cambodia - this is the place to stay. The service and the food is the best we have stayed in on our Asia travels so far :) 5 stars!!! PS ask for Johnny!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rithy168, Front Office Manager at Me Mates Place, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing Me Mates Place for your recent stay in Phnom Penh city. We have read your comments about our guesthouse and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again at Me Mates Place

Best regards and warmest greetings,

Nak Rithy(Mr.)

Front Officer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Tuk Tuk Drivers seem to know this hostel by the above title. They don't understand the idiom?Well its not bad as we Aussies say! I personally found the staff very friendly and most were obliging the majority of my stay (5 nights) The rooms are very clean and all the basics are there to HI/YHA standard. The meals and drinks were equal to the PP city prices with a friendly & attentive barman Bony. Its easy to forget that these folk work 12+ hours a day 6 days a week for small pay so no wonder they can be a bit slow & tired at times. I failed to find the nearby pool at "88" due to faulty directions but no worries as I had fun looking and conversing with a beggar and some funeral directors on the way also discovering the Post Office .The hostel is close to the River Walk and a short ride to all downtown amenties and tourist venues. If I had any complaint about Phnom Penh generally it was about the "aggressiveness" of the Tuk Tuk mens spiel to single women, its tiresome and the BLOCKED footpaths which force you onto the busy roads. Me Mates was a haven from the City's commerce. A new colour scheme perhaps? Thank you to all Angela

Room Tip: Well I was high up (LVL 3)overlooking the street & had a balcony where I could watch the Macquac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After seeing many positive reviews of this hotel and checking out their nice website, we decided to stay one night in September 2012 and we felt really disappointed. The staffs both night and day are not friendly. When i came, they didn't show me the room. They are always spending time chit chat with other or using the laptop or telephone. The room is not the same with the photos in their website. It's very basic and expensive for the price $15. There is no wifi and fridge in room for you if you stay in 3rd floor. Also, though i booked the room 1 day ahead, when i came i had to wait for them to clean the room. And the location is not really near with the center. You have to walk at least 10min to the downtown. We also spent $15 dollar for the guesthouse in Siem Reap but it was totally different, awesome and friendly. For sure i will never come back to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Turned up at 11pm and they were full, sorted me out a room at another hostel and booked us in the next 4 days.

Sorted my thai visa out with no issue, friendly staff, clean rooms, early check in and nice breakfast.

Highly recoomend a stay here as a base to explore phnom penh.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Me Mates Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Me Mates Place

Address: St 90 Sangkat Wat Phnom | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Me Mates Place 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Me Mates Villa is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. Only 0.5 Km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. For those of you who want to venture out, Wat Saravan, National Museum, Cambodian Cooking Class are just some of the attractions available to visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Me Mates Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Mates Place Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me Mates Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.