We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you value sleeping” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Mekong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Mekong to your Saves list
Le Grand Mekong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you value sleeping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed both here and the Paragon hotel very close by. Most rooms are facing the river and at 4:45am every day aerobics classes start. Some mornings its relatively quiet and not a niusance, whilst some mornings one of the instructors brings massive speakers and the bassline penetrates your room and your brain, making sleep impossible (even with earplugs and a pillow clamped over your head). If you value sleeping beyong 5am, don't stay.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
28
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Mekong Palace Hotel is not exactly a palace but definitely has hot water shower, aircon, tv and room to roll around the bed. Change the towels everyday and the mini-fridge in the rooms hardly work. The tap at the sink may function funnily and the toilet may flush neverending. I've stayed there twice during my trip to PP and I must say its convenient to go to Russian Market, 2nd hand book store, near the Royal Palace and for the muslims, a 2-5 minute walk to the Halal Muslim restaurant.

However, you can see a number of trannys cruising at the hotel and some other patrons of the hotel may be loud and annoying because you can hear noises from the room next to yours.

Its for non-fussy travellers definitely, although I slept well, I like the location as its accessible to many places and it looked like one of the more trusted budget hotels around. =)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

The website said it's "...your sweet home away from home...".

It only makes sense if you call the Overlook Hotel 'home' as well.

The Double room we had was big and sparse and seemingly clean with leaking toilet sound serving as muzak, making the whole room very creepy. The boyfriend spent a sustainable amount of time in the bathroom trying to fix the leaking toilet.
Left a half-eaten mango on the desk while waiting for the fridge to get ready (You have to plug in the fridge yourself), within a few minutes, it was attacked by ants.
The corridor was dark and dingy. The room next to ours was left unlocked and slight ajar. Kinda like Room 237 in The Shining
The hotel seems to be very popular with middle-age single white guys who can be seen sitting in the nearby bars late at night, surrounded by groups of young local girls.

The room got so eerie at night with all the lights switched off that I asked the boyfriend to keep the muted TV on.

We booked a tuk-tuk from the reception to take us to the airport to catch our early morning flight. After a 15mins wait, a taxi arrived instead of a tuk-tuk. The lady at the reception kept insisting that we ordered a taxi instead of a tuk-tuk and was visibly irritated with us when we too insisted we told her that we wanted a tuk-tuk.

Definitely one of the worst place I have ever paid to stay in so far.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked this hotel in Siam Reap with a travel agent, we were told this hotel was new and clean with a wonderful view of the river, he chaged us $25, he also arranged a pick up for us from the bus station to the hotel. Upon arriving there was no one to pick us up so we took a tuk tuk to get there, admittently it was not very far from the bus station. We were given a room without window, which we disputed, after half an hour of debating and telephone conversation with the agency we booked with they gave us a room with window. The room was average and not very clean. But what disturbed us the most nearly every other guest at the hotal was a middle guy with cambodian women in tow.

I would not stay at this hotal again nor will i recommend it anyone

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Basic rooms $18 per night, double, wet room shower/wc, no window or breakfast. OK for short stays eg 2 nights. Has seen better days fittings tired. Aircon, satalite TV with approx 10 English speaking chanels. 10mins walk from museum & central market & Mekong Express Bus drop off (for trips from Siem Reap & Sahauna Ville. Right in the midst of cafes/bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

The room was fine and it was definitely clean but had no windows which was kinda creepy. The bathroom was sprayed with air freshener on arrival but stunk after a few hours. The TV was way too far away from the bed or seats to be seen and the tube was blown so the colour was crap. The bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable.

Prompt housekeeping, free water and pretty good compared to some of the dumps we looked at but no internet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Pleasant enough staff. Plenty of rooms with no windows and some with barred windows. Health and safety not a great selling point. Good views of the river from public balconies. Rooms at front noisy as hotel is right on the road. Room clean enough. Well placed fro restaurants, onward travel etc

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Mekong

Address: No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Mekong 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a lush tropical setting right in the heart of Phnom Penh City Center, Le Grand Mekong Hotel is just 20 minutes away from the Phnom Penh International Airport and 5 minutes walk to the Museum, Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and 10 Toul Sleng. All our rooms in this hotel are unique and beautifully – furnished with all the modern amenities and in traditional Cambodian style with river view. Amenities offered are in-room safe, hair dryer, bathrobe, cable TV, coffee and tea maker and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Grand Mekong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.