We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Mekong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Mekong to your Saves list
Le Grand Mekong
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great budget accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a total of 8 nights @ $18 US Per Night. Room was cleaned every day, tooth paste, water bottles, etc restocked every day. Staff at front desk were very helpful and pleasant. You can also have your laundry done. Great for those of you looking for cheap, no frills accomodation. Found it to be very central to all of the attractions in Phnom Penh. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
35
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was a little wary after some of the reviews on here but I was very pleasantly surprised. Ok, it may be a little tired but the aircon was good, the internet was fast, the bed was comfy, it had a desk, hanging space, lockable drawers, lift, TV, hot water. What else do you expect for a $20 room right on the riverside?

On the negative side, the bedding and towels had seen better days; they were clean and changed daily but they were a bit grey. It's a minor quibble but it's the only thing I could think of. Never heard any early morning aerobics either.

I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra del Fuego, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

They tried holding me hostage there. I broke a hundred to pay rent in the morning, came back a couple of hours later and they claimed it was a fake hundred dollar bill. My first though was that they were scamming me. I said that is your problem for taking it. Women at desk freaked out on me and said I had to replace it with another. First thought someone stuck them with a fake and they wanted to get rid of it.
All my hundreds came from a U.S. bank and all real.
I said... you treating me this way I am leaving. Packed and 15 minutes later was leaving to change hotels. I had to fight, and I mean fight three staff to get out of the hotel, and they damaged my luggage. If you feel like getting attacked and being held hostage for money stay there. Otherwise.... keep away. Danger place.

Room Tip: No good place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Big room with balcony overlooking the river. Aircon worked great. Friendly staff. You get exactly what you pay for - good budget room for good budget price. Recommended for couples on a budget or backpackers looking to splurge a bit. Really good in room WIFI. Only downside - aerobics class starts nearby at 445 am with LOUD music - The crazy frog song at that hour of the morning is enough to ruin anyone's day, but it only goes for an hour so you can survive it if you can afford a sleep in. Compared to another guesthouse we stayed at in PP for similar price, this was luxury.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Just stayed one night, arriving late from e Mekong Delta. Paid 18$ for a Basic room with a very small window giving to a roof, no view...Staff was very helpful and nice but room was somehow dirty, toilet didn't flush, breakfast not included.
Good points: hot shower, wifi good in reception area, and many restaurants and bars just around the hotel.
Only would recommend it for 1 night if you are really tired and just happen to be there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Pros - close to palace & museum, on the river, walking distance to boat pier, ATM in lobby, free internet and wifi, good bus to Siem Reap.

Cons - the kid's room stank like sewage, dead cock roach in the hall, noisy from river festivities, no river view, expensive at $25 USD per night, the kid's room was on the opposite side of the building (but on the same floor from us), sex tourists seem to favor the hotel, and no breakfast on offer.

We flopped here for one night so we could visit the museum and palace while enroute to Siem Reap. The place was adequate but relatively expensive for what they offer. If I were to spend more time Phnom Penh, I would search for a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

USD18 for single room with no windows. I paid USD45 for big room with balcony facing TonLe Sap. Toilet was crap. No Breakfast. Wifi signal not really strong.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Mekong

Address: No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12205, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Mekong 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a lush tropical setting right in the heart of Phnom Penh City Center, Le Grand Mekong Hotel is just 20 minutes away from the Phnom Penh International Airport and 5 minutes walk to the Museum, Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and 10 Toul Sleng. All our rooms in this hotel are unique and beautifully – furnished with all the modern amenities and in traditional Cambodian style with river view. Amenities offered are in-room safe, hair dryer, bathrobe, cable TV, coffee and tea maker and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Grand Mekong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.