We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one step from chaos into relaxing calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Quay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Quay Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“one step from chaos into relaxing calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

As we were driven by tuktuk to the hotel I was thinking wow what energy Phnom Penh as.As we steeped into the lobby of the hotel,it was like being transformed into another world. The hotel is so modern,fresh and clean. The location is great, being on the Quay and a short stroll from the tourist attractions. There are plenty of bars and places to eat nearby. The room was very modern witha fantasic bathroom.We were given a room at the rear of the hotel,not sure if the rooms at the front are more expensive,but would suggest you check, as the rear ones have no windows therefore no view!I You can go onto the roof where there is a roof terrace and bar,the views from there are spectacular.Breakfast was good.Considering the city you are in, this hotel as to be stayed in to understand why it is so innovative.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    42
    30
    12
See reviews for
31
130
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Great Hotel with a few picky concerns. Pros: great location on the river, cool decor, great service, good food, great happy hour, clean, wonderful housekeeping, friendly staff, bed was comfortable, nice flat screen, fast internet, hotel tries hard to please and it shows. A few small things I didn't care for: bathrooms are different and creativily done (great shower), but could use more light and a soap dish in the shower, and more vanity space. No desk in the room and wifi did not work well on the bed so had to plug laptop in landline on opposite wall from bed which was awkward. The biggest problen was noise, construction started early and the sound from lobby came right thru the door even though I was on the 2nd floor. Noises came from all sides and above as well, maybe just the acoustics of the building. Be prepared to be swamped by drivers everytime you leave which got a little tiresome. Overall a good boutique hotel with good potential and a decent deal at $95.00 USD with breakfast and $20.00 per day food credit, however would not want to pay more than that at this time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel only for one night on the way to Siem Reap but we wished we could have stayed longer. The staff on arrival were fantastic, meeting us with a welcome drink and showing us to our rooms. They went through the TV, AC, phone and safe functions before leaving. The rooms were very clean, modern and basic and the bathrooms were quite spacious. Minimalist at it's best!
Location is great with lots of bars and restaurants in walking distance.
Room service breakfast was complimentary which we found quite nice instead of the usually buffet style though this option was also available complimentary as well. We also had lunch before we left at the restaurant on the ground floor and this was amazing!
There was a small pool on the roof as well as a nice bar. If you decided to stay here give the cocktails a go at night with the beautiful view.
The nightly rate is a little expensive for an Asian hotel however we thought it was well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I would have to agree with the previous reviewer, thought that this hotel had fabulous service, the welcome drink was a nice touch and the free breakfast was generous and equal to 5 star restaurant quality, very clean and modern, staff friendly and eager to help the only real downfall was that I was on the 4th floor and because it was the top floor, I think the design and the roof took away some of the space in the room, and the noise from the bar just above me was very loud, had no peace at nights.

I would recommend this hotel, but definitely do not stay on the 4th Floor!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is a smallish hotel on Sisowath Quay, which is near popular attractions, restaurants and bars. The overall atmosphere is trendy, modern, clean and relaxed. There's a small bar and restaurant on the ground level, and a rooftop bar with excellent views of the Tonle Sap River. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern in a trendy way. It has one of the best breakfast menus I've ever seen at a hotel, with a select handful of innovative and delicious choices. It serves fun and unique cocktails on the rooftop deck.

This isn't a full-frontal five-star luxury hotel in the strictest sense. For that, go to the Hotel Le Royal. Rather, it's a luxurious four-star boutique hotel with a younger, hipper feel. Most important, the service is excellent. During our stay, employees were friendly and helpful. They arranged bus tickets for us, sending a tuk-tuk driver to the bus station on Sunday night to buy tickets and delivering the tickets to our room. A week after our stay, we returned to grab a quick drink on the rooftop before our flight home. The staff remembered our names, greeted us with smiles, stored our luggage and arranged for a car to drive us to the airport. Definitely above and beyond the normal call of duty.

We had no problem with street noise, though we were on the top floor and further away from the street. There is a small pool on the rooftop deck, but it seems more decorative than functional.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed at the quay in january for 3 mights and have to say i was somewhat disappointed. For $155 usd a night it was overpriced, yes its new and modern but done very cheaply. We stayed on the 4th floor and the noise of people using the stairs to get to and from rooftop pool/bar was very noisy and echoed throughout our room as did peoples voices. Also because of the roof design on the 4th floor the room seems much smaller than the others and a little awkward to get around. Maybe staying on another floor might overcome these issues. We could even hear the cleaners and minor maintenance that was going on, so maybe it is just the acoustics's of the hotel. The use of laptop was expensive at $10 per hour, it is cheaper to go downstairs to the internet cafes. The location is fantastic, walk out the front door and your right in the hustle and bustle of sisowath quay. We had a room with a balcony overlooking sisowath quay and did not notice any noise from the street at all. Breakfast was included and it was well worth it. The staff were friendly enough and the service was efficient but not much english spoken.There were heaps of bars and restaurant's and we tried a different one every night, i would recommend eating out or checking out the bars as there is always something going on at night or some night market to visit. Not sure if i would stay at this hotel again well not on the 4th floor anyway, would try another in the same location

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

The Quay hotel is a superb hotel, an oasis in the noise & chaos of Phnom Pen. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Royal Palace on one of the main tourist streets. There are many restaurants located close by.

The room itself was simply luxurious, with huge king size bed, 40-inch flat screen TV, loungers and an enormous bathroom resembling a wet room. The rooms facing the river also have balconies.

The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very nice and is available in the room at no extra charge. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace where one can enjoy cocktails overlooking the busy streets down below.

The Quay hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.