We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service - 3 Star Room ($80) and 4 Star Breakfast = 4 Stars.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Quay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Quay Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“5 Star Service - 3 Star Room ($80) and 4 Star Breakfast = 4 Stars.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The hotel is great, the sevice is supburb, the setting super good and the breakfast (especially the eggs benedict) was the best I have had in Phnom Penh. You can get the expensive room with street view (noisy) or a the less expensive small, windowless room - yea, right I got the cheepo ... but, I was only in the room to sleep and out-on-the-town the rest of the time so it was a great choice. Note: the roof-top bar is great but stick to the beer... the mixed drinks were weakkkkkkkkkk!

5 Star Service - 3 Star Room ($80) and 4 Star Breakfast = 4 Stars.

  • Liked — Service and Eggs Benedict
  • Disliked — Windowless Rooms - Black Carpet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    42
    30
    12
See reviews for
31
130
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

A brilliant hotel and our favourite during our time travelling SE Asia. Very modern, with a fantastic roof top bar area over looking the city.

A great shower / bathroom with very modern fixtures and fittings and a flat screen TV.

The only reason I would knock one point off was the noise of the jacuzzi on the roof at night (we stayed on the top floor) and also the ring of the lift on each floor (please disable this!)

I cant believe the previous review knocked the breakfast, I can only assume they are used to an American all you can eat type breakfast (or maybe they just like to stuff their faces!) The breakfast was fantastic and you had a choice of fruit, eggs, toast, fruit juice and coffee all done with a modern twist. The best scrambled eggs I have ever had!

Hats off to the very friendly staff who always had a smile and welcome for you.

  • Liked — Rooms, location and breakfast!
  • Disliked — Fix the ring on the lift - please!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The Quay is a very cool, modern hotel. We stayed in the panoramic room, which was huge with a fabulous bathroom and free wi-fi. The staff was extremely nice and the service was great. The small hotel helped-- they knew us. Breakfast was good, and we ate it on the rooftop deck.
The hotel is also in walking distance to the main sights and the river. I would definitely recommend this place for Phnom Penh!
As for noise-- we slept with earplugs and it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

I also only stayed here one night and wished I could have stayed longer. When I arrived my room wasn't ready so I had to go out for a while. When I came back they were prepared for me.

I had one of the front facing rooms with a balcony. The room was quite large. The place is very designed. Maybe a little to chi chi for me. The bathroom was very pretty.

Free internet was nice. The wood floor was VERY slippery. There are about 100 remote controls which was a little annoying. One for the TV, one for the stereo, one for the a/c, one for the cool ceiling fans, one for the drapes...

The view of the river was awesome. What wasn't so awesome was the early-morning noise of all the honking horns of the traffic on the busy street out front.

Breakfast was OK, but there wasn't much to it.

The location is a little bit hidden even though it is on the main street. I think because it is so new people don't know it yet. It's in a good location for the Grand Palace and all of the restaurants along the river.

  • Liked — big room with cool toys
  • Disliked — honking horns out front, meager breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

Only stayed for a night, but wish I could have stayed much longer. Rooms were very modern, especially the bathrooms, and the food in the hotel restaurant was fantastic. Location, on the banks of the Mekong and Tonle Sap rivers, offered a great view. Also within easy walking distance of the Royal Palace. Only drawbacks were the single elevator and the street noise, which actually wasn't too bad, but we stayed on the top floor.

  • Liked — modern feel
  • Disliked — single elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Quay is a very trendy and well serviced place to stay in an emerging city. When it comes to service, words cannot do the Quay staff justice.

We stayed in two rooms (one large, one small) during our four days at the Quay, and both were spotlessly clean and kept with utmost care. Freshly steamed pastries awaited us each time we returned to our room. The restaurant in the lobby was absolutely delicious, especially the continental breakfast (I just could not get enough of it). The front desk had several recent DVDs (American) to lend for use in the highly advanced entertainment centers in the guestrooms.

I have seen a few reviews expressing dissatisfaction with the smaller windowless rooms. However, having switched from a larger room (sitting area, balcony, work area, tub) to a windowless one, I have to say that there is hardly any difference between the two rooms. Despite not having a window, the smaller room is still amply lit with all the amenities you could possibly need. Frankly, all the perks that came with the larger room were all perks that we did not need or use.

However, the highlight of our stay was without a doubt the high quality service. Being new to Cambodia, we had numerous questions to ask the front desk and they were always more than happy to answer them. When we asked them to book us a one-night stay in Siem Reap, they immediately checked for availability at various inns and reserved a room on our behalf, even though our inn was not the Quay's sister property in Siem Reap (the FCC). Their car service was both friendly and affordable. The bartenders were genuinely concerned when it seemed as though we were not satisfied with our drinks (which was not the case at all).

The Quay is a bit small (only 16 rooms in total), but the service is EXCEPTIONAL. It was truly such a pleasure to stay at the Quay that it was difficult to leave. I recommend the Quay to everyone who passes through Phnom Penh.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

In contrast to the previous poster I very much enjoyed a recent 3 night stay at the chic and trendy Quay. Probably for PP $140++ is not a bargain but the best rate I was offered at Raffles was $240++!

I had no problem locating the hotel as they were at the airport to meet me with limousine transfer at only $2 more than the official taxi rate. Every member of staff I encountered were more than just smiley faces, they were genuinely friendly, obliging and helpful – particularly when one of my suitcases had failed to arrive. They efficiently arranged for bus tickets to Siem Reap and the bill was ready and correct when I came to leave.

On arrival room facilities were comprehensively explained and a large platter of fruit delivered. Turndown service (as opposed to room servicing) was provided and a selection of sweet meats left each evening.

River facing rooms were not only chic but they were actually comfortable (which is not always the case) and there was a great desk facility for those that need to work. The bathroom was spacious and the shower water pressure good. I did not care for the toiletries – particularly the thin slice of ‘organic’ soap which simply disintegrates when used in the shower and other than some unsightly mould on the ceiling these were my only gripes. Internet is free (WiFi and LAN) - although you do have to get a username and access password, but reception were happy to deliver this to the room when required.

Breakfast in Chow was excellent – in fact all meals sampled there were very good and the staff were efficient and friendly. Chat to Patrick for restaurant recommendations and wine – he is a mine of information and very enthusiastic.
Besides the FCC (which was so-so), you can charge your bill if eating at the Spanish restaurant Pacharan which I would also recommend.
There is also a roof top terrace bar with plunge pool and Jacuzzi and a generous happy (4) hours!

The hotel is conveniently located for the National Museum and Royal palace and although work along the promenade is still on going I was able to have a good run along the riverside each morning!

  • Liked — Comfort, good food, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Thin soap
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.