We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Last Home Guest House

Last Home Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Last Home Guest House
Save
You added Last Home Guest House to your Saves list
#21Eo Street 172, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I fond this guesthouse in LP and didn't check tripadvisor before hand.

The review which mentions the clutter is correct, the owners sure are hoarders, as far as I could see there was clutter in at least one room on each floor. We're talking empty glass bottles, brushes, broken showers, buckets .... I am a tidy person so this struck me as very odd but did not ruin my stay.

My room was on the top floor - yep, there are a lot of steps! The beds were of the foam variety and large singles. Personally, I found the beds comfortable if a little strange at first (you sink right in to them). The bed linen was clean.

Cable TV worked well with maybe 2 English speaking channels.

It sounds as if I lucked out as I had 2 windows each looking out on to the street, this meant that with both windows open and the fan on the room was cool. However, the street is busy and noisy - not an option for light sleepers.

The bathroom was of a good enough quality. Water pressure was as expected in Asia, not great but you just have to accept that! Bathroom was cleanish, the usual cobwebs adorned the ceiling. After a shower a drain smell would gradually fill the bathroom and would get steadily worse throughout the night. With the door shut, the smell was contained.

I mentioned the smell to the owner and daughter the next morning. The smell was dealt with that day whilst I was out. I was told the smell may come back and sure enough it did. I told the daughter again the next day and she sorted it. The smell is the problem experienced throughout PP, the city has a sewerage system that requires some work and this problem will not be contained to just Last Home.

I didn't find any of the staff rude, only helpful and understanding. Nothing was stolen. I didn't eat at the guesthouse; I agree with another review that the kitchen didn't look great.

Location is good and there are plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants close by. Friends Restaurant, Seeing Hands massage and Friends n Stuff is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have windows looking out - the street is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    8
    15
See reviews for
2
9
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and got a double room with fan and cold water for $8. The owner seemed slightly disinterested in us when we arrived and we were shown to a room on the top floor which was quite a hike. The kitchen looked very badly kept so we did not eat there while we stayed. The bathroom was extremely small and there was a strong sewage smell coming from it at all times. The fan made very little difference to the temperature of the room and I had to sleep without any cover at all and was still too hot. There were also random wires sticking out of the walls but the cable tv worked ok. Obviously we went for the cheap room but have experienced considerably better facilities for the same price elsewhere. If you are intending on staying here, and AC room is probably advisable but there are better options on the same street.

Room Tip: If you are desperate to stay here you will need an AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I booked this as a basic room ($13 for a room with AC)
The linens were clean and the room itself was fairly clean, but worn around the edges. The bathroom had not really been cleaned. Overall it was a decent value. They had lockers for safe items that you can add additional safety of a pad lock if you dont feel good with the locks that are part of the locker itself.

For some reason I did really end up liking the staff. there was something almost family like to me about them. The owner was always around and was helfpul and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The room was $7 for two single beds (fan) and an ensuite shower (there's a shared toilet in the hall; on our floor there was no toilet seat). Friendly staff, clean, and a great location close to the river. There's a restaurant in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

While recommended by the Lonely Planet, we experienced that this is a truely bad hotel with also an unfriendly staff (both owner and her daughter). Spacious but terrible room, old matresses with lots of allergens, water (or sewage?) was dripping from the ceiling on the toilet and bath, everthing was broken in the bathroom, we had a few cm of water in part of our room during a heavy shower. With regard to the breakfast: we had negotiated the price of the room including breakfast being told that their breakfast is very nice, the next morning however, we could only make one choice, or coffee/tea or a bread, after complaiining about the room and their service, we were allowed to choose two things. we immediately left after the poor breakfast in order to never come back and to review this hotel here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Whilst the rooms were a good size the bathroom here was terrible. Cracked toilet seat, broken taps in the sink (only one tap worked and that only a trickle), the kind of shower where more water comes out of the pipe than the shower head, patched up everywhere and not clean. The air con worked well in the room but there was no window. Worst of all we found a used condom (not ours) under the bed.
The free breakfast was decent enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Lovely place but I got my shoes nicked after leaving them outside my room. I reckon it was one of the staff but of course everyone denied. Just be careful.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Last Home Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Home Guest House

Address: #21Eo Street 172, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Last Home Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Last Home Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.