We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but needs some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tasek Lama, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8670, Brunei Darussalam   |  
Hotel amenities
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location but needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is cheap and well located, walking distance from central BSB. Staff are friendly enough. Bathroom is nice and sheets are clean, however the rooms really need to be spruced up. They are very dated and the walls are pretty grubby; in my room there was some chewing gum on the wall. If management is reading, please put some effort in, potential to be so much nicer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    33
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
32
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was the cheapest I can find in Brunei. Situated in the heart of this peaceful sultanate, Terrace Hotel may not be a gleaming lodging but it serves its function. Right opposite this hotel sits a food centre selling affordable Malay fare while many of Brunei's attractions such as the Coronation Building and the Royal Regalia Galleries are within walking distance.

Sure, the hotel may reek of a musty smell but strangely I was rather charmed by all the fixtures and fittings reminiscent of what this hotel may have been back in its heyday. Terrace also boasts a swimming pool, gym as well as a restaurant which serves affordable food in the range of BND3 to BND8 and also offers steamboat.

In all, I say this is a great hotel to set up camp as it offers great value for its location. My guestroom had a mini fridge, CRT TV with cable channels, a functional double bed, and weak WiFi; all of which come with a musty smell which harks back to days of yore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel - but would have stayed for longer if we had more time in Brunei. It is clean, cosy, good - and very central. There is a nice little swimming pool I wish I would have used, but we did not have enough time.
The only negative thing is - is that is is a bit dark. Dark rooms - dark green - it would be more refreshing if it was more light - but maybe that is the light Scandinavian style where everything shall be white - others might enjoy it dark - but becourse of that it can feel a bit old stylish

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights recently and loved the hotel. Great staff, really keen to help out on trip choices, we loved the lady serving breakfast she was so friendly and looked after us so well!
Outdoor pool + gym was really enjoyable.
Room was fine, not overly big and a little old but it was more than enough and clean. The only thing was that there was no where to plug anything to charge phones?! Except for outside the room! (Plenty of them in corridor and in lobby...)
Overall very good value hotel in a good location. Would go again!
Also there is a great cheap food court accross the street- really handy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed for two nights on my brief visit to Brunei. Compared to neighbouring Malaysia, Brunei is a lot more expensive. The Terrace Hotel is probably the best value of the 'mid range' hotels in the capital. The location is great (top end of town) and everything is within walking distance.

The rooms are dated, but clean. The hotel staff and friendly and obliging. Breakfast is OK (a la carte, not buffet). There is a great night market just across the street for food. Wifi is free of charge but only available in the lobby. There is no signal (or cabled Internet) in the rooms.

By chance, the hotel manager informed me there was a space on a tour to Ulu Temburing National Park departing the next day and this trip became the highlight of my visit to Brunei.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room for BND $10 more. The quality of room is A LOT better. Standard rooms are rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, it'svery close to the center (mosque and shopping mall), easy to walk around. We had booked standard twin room, there was enough space for 2 people and suitcases. Beds were comfortable and big enough. This was the first hotel during our Asia-trip that had a bath - really liked that bathroom really has a bath. Also a kettle in the room was good to use as it was raining one evening and drinking hot tea while sitting in the soft bed - it's vacation.
The walls of the room are little bit thin, so I could hear someone sneezing, someone flushing the toilet (while being in the bathroom). And in the morning you can hear cars driving by (it's located next to busy street). And some wall painting and bathroom door needed some refreshment (they were little bit outdated). Their website says that they have wifi, but it wasn't working in the room (too low signal). They also have business center with computer, so you can easily use this room if necessary.
Allthough it's not the most beautiful hotel and it's little bit outdated, we were satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here as a group of friends for only 1 night.
This hotel had a good location (around a 15 minute walking time to everywhere), and was very reasonably priced.
The rooms did look a little tired, but they were comfortable and clean and I had a really good sleep there that night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Address: Jalan Tasek Lama, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8670, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty air-conditioned guest room. Each with private bathroom, colour TV, hairdryer, electronic safe, kettle, IDD telephone and refrigerator and access free wireless. We are close to the centre of Bandar Seri Begawan. Walking distance to SOAS Mosque, HM Yayasan Complex and Royal Regalia Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.