We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Safe Bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jubilee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jubilee Hotel to your Saves list
Jubilee Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jubilee Plaza | Jalan Kampung Kianggeh, Bandar Seri Begawan BS 8111, Brunei Darussalam   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Safe Bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The most important thing about this hotel is that it includes a free pick up and drop off from the airport. Taxis are always an unknown in a new country and many visitors in BSB are in transit and would rather avoid that hassle

The hotel couldn't be better located for the centre but the city is quite small anyway. It's close to the mosques and good places to eat (breakfast is included). The reception will give you a map and point you where to go.

The rooms are a little tired, only a little, but I've stayed in much worse and it didn't detract from my stay at all

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    70
    52
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
47
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

jubilee hotel is really good located. u can reach many sightseeing places by walk.
staff is really hospitabel and helpful. included to your roomfee is even a 45 minutes sighseeing tour an one drop at a place you wish, per day. that's great!
the rooms are quiet small and the elevator is a bit spooky. unfortunately wifi isn't working properly.
i would't recommend you to eat the scrambler for breakfast, we all didn't like it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here eight days. We had being staying at the Empire for a week before that as part of a dive package, but we wanted to stay on in Brunei after the diving to have a look around. Bit of a change, but we are used to variety. We found the place to be a bit old and tired with a few eccentricities such as only having one towel in the bathroom and having to order a remote control for the TV from reception (They leave the A/C remote in the room), but it was still clean and fairly comfortable. I found it odd that, after reading an earlier review which complained that the breakfast was 'Too Asian', the breakfast was almost completely western.
We did have a bit of trouble with our room (Leaking toilet), but they upgraded us to a 'superior suite'.(Two towels!) so we were happy.
Good location on a quiet street close to the CBD with a food market a short stroll away. There is a convenience store next door and my wife was happy with the eyelash, hair and nail lady on the first floor. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get one at the rear, facing the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a weekend visit to Brunei. Hotel is located within walking distance of the Sultan Omar Ali mosque, Kampong Ayer, the Royal Regalia Museum, the mall and a few restaurants where credit cards are accepted. Free airport pick-up and drop-off is a very much welcomed service taking into consideration that there aren't that many taxis in all of Brunei and they are pretty expensive. Free breakfast is also included with stay and a 45-minute tour of the city every morning helps you get an idea of where to go first. The staff was very friendly and the rooms, though a little dated, were very clean and spacious. All rooms have free Wi-Fi as well, which was surprisingly fast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Jubilee was perfect for my requirement which was a base for two nights while I saw the City and sights and visit the forest. All the staff are charming and very helpful, the airport pick and drop off efficient and the all inclusive 45 minute quick tour to the main sights in the morning gives you an idea of what your sightseeing priorities are. I was upgraded to a suite, which was the equivalent to a UK one bedroom flat without the kitchen. I would definitely recommend the Jubilee Hotel if you are happy with basics. In summary a very friendly hotel, comfortable and good value.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have better views of the country/city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

There is a free pick up and drop off airport transfer. Staffs are all friendly and very accommodating. A family room can fit us, as we are on the group of 5. There is 45 mins city tour free and there is additional value added drop off and pick up on the location you want to choose.
The only thing we are not satisfy is the breakfast menu with the same 3 choices again and again. Apart from that it's recommendable and value for your money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spacious room with affordable price. Close to many attractions. Old hotel but well maintained. Convenience store at the first floor. Free airport transfer and you can ask for 45 minutes free tour.

Attractions close to this hotel - water village, Sultan Ali Shaifuddin Mosque, shopping mall and local market.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jubilee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Hotel

Address: Jubilee Plaza | Jalan Kampung Kianggeh, Bandar Seri Begawan BS 8111, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jubilee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jubilee Hotel is a budget commercial hotel located in the city centre and central business district. It is also walking distance away to some of the most exhilarating tourist attraction in Brunei. We are offering the cheapest rates in the heart of the city, Bandar Seri Begawan. All our room rates are inclusive of complimentary breakfast, airport-hotel-airport transfer, early check-in time at 6am and extended check-out time till 4pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jubilee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jubilee Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jubilee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.