We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options than this one” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchid Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 31954, Simpang 9, Kg. Anggerek Desa | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB 3713, Brunei Darussalam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“There are better options than this one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed in this hotel during the day while waiting for a transit flight. The location is good, very near the airport and the hotel offers a reliable shuttle service. Unfortunately several problems with the stay - when checked in the room was already occupied buy another guest who had not yet checked out - a concern from a security point of view. The hotel responded well with the room hastily changed and an apology offered along with a complimentary meal voucher for the restaurant - unfortunately this resulted in mild food poisoning. Additionally there was loud maintenance work/hammering taking place preventing sleep or relaxation. The hotel promised to investigate this but no action was taken - would not stay here again. Would recommend the Sheraton Utama for excellent service and facilities - a little further from the airport but worth the trip and the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
22
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed here for only 2 nights, 1 on the way to Thailand and one on the way back because it was part of a package deal and from what we got to obsorved this hotel was pretty good.

When we got there it was lovely to see a man come out and take our bags out of the taxi the both times and put them on this delivery cart thing and once we got the keys to our room from the people at the reception, who were pretty polite too he waited for us to go on the lift up to our floor and came after we were in the hotel room which I thought was very polite.

The next morning we went to use our breakfast coupon at the breakfast buffet and the breakfast is the best part, we think of the hotel. The buffet had lovely food, western and malaysian and had desert-like breakfast things too like dougnuts and pastries. The buffet also had spices and herbs---chili, olives, pickled onions etc.

The rooms are pretty good, it had all the basics and in the bathroom a shower cap, toothbrush, comb and shaver and in the refridgerator 4 cans of soft drinks BUT I do not know if they cost extra though but if they don't then that is marvelous!

No pool is at this hotel.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

A very reasonable hotel, close to the airport, with a shuttle service into the city centre. The room was much larger than I expected, and most importantly clean. Staff were always helpful when asked questions, though the restaurant staff were a little aloof.

I stayed here with my aunt on a stopover on our way to London. We arrived late in the afternoon so took a taxi to the hotel; it’s only a few minutes away and should cost no more than $10 (best to agree on the price with the taxi driver beforehand). Check-in went smoothly, we were given the key to our room and the man at reception was helpful in answering questions about the shuttle bus service offered.

Granted, there’s not much in the surrounding area, but with only one night & after a long flight we weren’t looking to do much. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant that night, a choice between buffet or a la carte menu. Food was reasonable, nothing fancy.

The next morning we got the free shuttle into the city centre and went sightseeing before being picked up again at the scheduled time. Late that afternoon we also got their free shuttle transfer to the airport. It seems to only run at certain times, not very often, so best to ask at reception.

Overall, there's really nothing to complain about. It was perfectly suited for a stopver.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

A one week stay room was fine and quiet, breaky a bit on ordinary side eg only junk cereals, no muesli and fresh fruit selection fairly limited. Some restaurant staff did not understand importance of food safety as bay maries for breaky at times all opened up by staff.

Wireless internet available in room but only via a password and PIN available from reception that only lasted for an hour and quite frequently did not work at all. Air cond tricky to adjust and tended to be on cold side.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Not within easy walking distance of shops or city centre. Cab fares on expensive side for an Asian country.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Hotel

Address: Lot 31954, Simpang 9, Kg. Anggerek Desa | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB 3713, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 147 business class hotel, strategically located between the Brunei International Airport, the International Convention Centre and the Government Offices. Being closest hotel to the RBA Golf Club, it is also an ideal place to stay for a short golf vacation. With the full fledge Amanha Spa, guests can relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orchid Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.