We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent transit Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchid Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 31954, Simpang 9, Kg. Anggerek Desa | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB 3713, Brunei Darussalam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
england
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent transit Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good modern hotel, grand entrance good comfortable rooms with TV and Wi Fi. Pleasant helpful staff, reasonable food. Small first floor pool with 4 sun chairs!
Beware of;
The state of the art room controls... switching on lights and aircon has never been so difficult!
The hotel and country is dry so bring in some duty free if you like a tipple!
Hotel needs re-carpeting which appears to have been started.
Other than that.. a great stopover to crash after an exhausting week and a 20 hour flight to come.
5 minutes to the airport and complimentary bus to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
22
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our transit hotel. The entrance is grand but the hotel is slightly dated and in serious need of revamp. Room was clean and spacious. It has a confusing control panel to control all their electrics including a magic button that will kill power to the room. Suggest you do not fiddle with it as my bf discovered.

There are 2 restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast is good with selection of both western and asian with a good variety of sweet pastry. Polite and friendly staff ever willing to help out.

The hotel is not centrally located. It’s close to the airport (good if you are transiting), but if you want to explore the city then need some sort of transport. We had to take a taxi to town for B$15. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from hotel. It wasn’t easy getting back from town, as it was rather difficult getting a taxi. The taxi driver told us later that there are only 45 taxis in Brunei. Suggest taking the driver’s card if you are taking a taxi.

Won’t stay here again mainly due to the distance away from city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for a short transit mainly due to its location. The complimentary airport shuttle was adequate but watch out for the additional time incurred waiting for other parties to arrive. The hotel was decorated in neutral colours and the maintenance in public areas are good. The air conditioning in public areas are lacking. Rooms are spacious but let down by small details in maintenance and decoration. The cafeteria offers good value for money food but the service is slow, even on a slow day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed here previously but this time I was really disappointed with the place, I'm on business and cannot work as the internet connection just wont work, very frustrating.
The aircon in the rooms is so cold that I have to turn it off, the hotel is old and needs a re vamp.
I give it 2 stars.

I moved to the Radisson and it's much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There is a free pick up at the airport which we missed out on. They kindly took us to town free of charge to make up for it out of their scheduled free shuttle service. Much appreciated! The rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. I prefer being a little out of town and this hotel has to be the quietest in the quietest city in all Asia. The other hotels we saw were in malls and I do not like the feel of a hotel in a commercial centre. The management were keen to please and went out of their way to be of service. The maintenance man turned up in a flash to open my bag when the lock jammed. Breakfast was a banquet. Only complaint - the coffee...even the Coffee Bean chain serves up awful coffee and you pay $5 for a cup ...( ink ). May I suggest the hotel not give guests a drink voucher of coffee or tea when they can make better in their rooms - tip - bring your own brew from home.

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Whilst on holiday in Malaysia we decided to take a one night trip over to Brunei. Found a great value last minute deal on the internet for this hotel - around £48 per room, per night. Although a little out in the sticks, we hired a car for the two days we spent there (around £30, highly recommended if staying here) so this wasn't an issue. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a large and impressive entrance (if a little dated - but I thought that added to the charm) and the rooms were clean and comfortable with kettle, hospitality tray and lovely toiletries. Buffet breakfast was good - cooked food (chicken sausages, eggs, etc. as well as local dishes) with fruit juices, tea and coffee. There's an indoor swimming pool here too, though we didn't use it. Would definitely stay here again if we get the chance to visit Brunei in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Lacks atmosphere and focus as there is no bar, Brunei being a dry country, and the lounge was closed. Furniture in public areas needs refreshing but rooms spacious and clean and service and staff attitude both very good. No garden, never mind orchids unless you count a couple of potted ones in the foyer!

Good breakfast selection and very good buffet dinner for just under a tenner. Small indoor/outdoor pool and smoking allowed in rooms (well there was nothing to drink!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Hotel

Address: Lot 31954, Simpang 9, Kg. Anggerek Desa | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB 3713, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 147 business class hotel, strategically located between the Brunei International Airport, the International Convention Centre and the Government Offices. Being closest hotel to the RBA Golf Club, it is also an ideal place to stay for a short golf vacation. With the full fledge Amanha Spa, guests can relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orchid Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orchid Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.