We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasek Lama Recreational Park

Tasek Lama Recreational Park
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A beautiful park near / in the city area. Great trails for walking. Be advised most trails are challenging. Lovely setting including a waterfall. A lot of wildlife, monkeys, birds, butterflies. Be sure to have good shoes and plenty of water.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must see attraction! absolutely gorgoues.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Unfortunately I left this part of my stay in Brunei till the last day and on our final day there it was pouring rain, so much that parts of Brunei actually flooded.

The rain still did not stop both my partner and I to jump in our rental car and drive along the path into the park, as expected the park was absolutely empty.

Although we stayed in the car while driving through the park I saw lots of photo opportunities, nice places to sit and relax, rock climbing and monkeys! A monkey actually ran past our car which was a very unique sight for both my partner and I.

We eventually got out of the car at the end of the park's ashphalt path and took a few quick snapshots near the waterfall.

Just dissapointed I had left this part of our journey to our last day which was rainy :(

My advise? Go here straight away if the weather is permitting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful park hidden near d city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful park suitable for all ages. A stroll for the toddlers or elderly. For others can take a more challenging hike. Various routes. Good idea to wear good shoes and bring water. First timers..better to go with some experienced walkers.

Lovely waterfall, places to soak d tired feed, playground or exercise.

On Fridays and Sundays around 7am there is a group of people doing some exercise. It's free. Open to all just join in to stay fit.

Great park hidden in ear d city

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Alberta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike in the Park and saw Monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We hiked for about 1 mile but there are other hikes which a about 4 miles long. Beautifully kept and paved and definitely worth seeing and experiencing it. Make sure you are wearing shorts and t-Shirt as you will definitely sweat. Humidity while we were there was 85%. beautiful view from the tower and saw monkeys close by when going uphill. Beautiful falls and a great place to cool off and take great picture. There are also exercise equipment to keep you going, if the hike was not enough- Great Idea. Lovely people and most can communicate in English which was a great help.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nature at its best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great place with nature, stress reliever, can jog, walk or climb up hills, lots of different tracks for hiking to choose,but one has to be careful during rains, paths can be slippery , awesome waterfall, peace & tranquility while in the park. Too crowded on Fridays & Sundays .15 minutes walking distance from Bandar bus station , otherwise need a taxi to drop off. Carrying water & face towel is a must.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasek Lama Recreational Park also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Tasek Lama Recreational Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasek Lama Recreational Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.