We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunei Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Brunei Hotel to your Saves list
The Brunei Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunei Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was so pleased to have read the comments made by travellers who had stayed at the Brunei Hotel before actually booking and staying in it for 2 nights. This is a great hotel even though it is not a 5 star. It is genuinely value for money, situated in a very convenient location in Bandar Seri Begawan city centre and I could literally walk to most of the touristy venues. The hotel staff are all extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. The hotel room itself is basic but those things they provide are good enough for me. Room was extremnely clean and the bed are so comfortable to sleep on. I will definitely stay in this hotel again if an opportunity arises again for me to be in BSB.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    141
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
77
50
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here a night - it's a well-run, friendly hotel. Good location downtown, although there is not much happening downtown I must say. You can tell that the staff are trying hard. The breakfast buffet was pretty poor and let the hotel down - reminded me of one of those 3-star jobs on Bintan Island. Unadventurous selection of watermelon, melon and papaya - all of which tasted of nothing because it was unripe and/or low quality. Terrible standard issue coffee, and even the espresso I asked for was nasty. White sliced bread. I did appreciate the baked beans though. In spite of this, I'd recommend this hotel - just don't bother with the breakfast, and I'm guessing the restaurant which inhabits the breakfast area has similar problems ?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A smart modern hotel in the centre of Bandar Seri Begawan, a short walk from one of the major mosques and not far from the Royal Regalia Museum.

Our room was clean and well kept with a good range of facilities, though the beds were rather hard.

The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke reasonable English.

For breakfast, there was a choice between western style items and tasty local dishes, which I'd certainly recommend.

The entire hotel has excellent (and much needed!) air conditioning.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Looks great on the outside; rooms small and impersonal; breakfast uninspiring. If you want to be central, its ok, but if not, consider the Empire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, a really nice hotel. The included breakfast was superb, the restaurant does very good local dishes at a very reasonable price.Conveniently located in the city centre, it's a fairly small city, so nothing is far away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

At ~US$92, it was a bit pricey for a mid-range traveller Borneo, but I didn't come across many alternatives in BSB. Nice breakfast. Excellent furnishings (felt like a boutique hotel). Located adjacent to the Kianggeh market. Advice: go to the market first to eat instead of filling up on the hotel breakfast - you can always come back to the hotel for toast / noodles / rice if you don't find anything you like. We did the opposite and I was regretting filling up on the hotel breakfast. Location is convenient, although BSB is so small it would be hard to find an inconvenient hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Extremely good quality of service. This is one of the top class hotels in Brunei. The room was very clean and beds were excellent to sleep in. Bathroom was extremely clean as well. I think it's quite like staying in a five-star hotel in the middle of south east asia. The hotel has free breakfast which was quite delicious. It's also very close to the city centre and the big mosque. Across the road is a local market which was also very interesting. The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that they don't offer shuttle bus service to the airport, and taxis are quite scarce in Brunei. We had to catch the bus which was a little troublesome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brunei Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.