We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in BSB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tasek, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8674, Brunei Darussalam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in BSB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and the hotel was excellent. It is located near the major attractions in BSB and we also took the public buss a couple of times which dropped us right at the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and while there was a letter in our room informing us of construction, it didn't bother us at all. The breakfast buffet was extensive and very nice. The dinner buffet was also very good. The pool is lovely and while not large, it was perfectly adequate. My husband appreciated the business center while I used the free wifi that was available throughout the property. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear "Kathryn K",
Thank you very much for your recent review about your stay at the Radisson Hotel in Brunei, I am always pleased to receive feedback and very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you menitoned we are undergoing a very exciting time in the hotel with our modernization plan, the first of these fantastic new rooms, suites and Business Class Lounge will be ready in the coming few weeks, please ensure to enquire about them should you be returning to Brunei.

Thank you again on behalf of the Radisson Brunei Team.

Regards,
Peter Feran
General Manager
pferan@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    135
    58
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
120
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oud-Beijerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is close to the center of BSB. The pool was very nicely situated. We ordered breakfast from a menu, we did not take the buffet breakfast. There was work in progress at the upper floors. We were there from Friday till Sunday, so this did not bother us at all. The rooms were a little old-fashioned and expensive, but this was everywhere in BSB.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear "reisgek64",
Thank you very much for your review and comments about your recent stay with us at the Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your your stay with us and that our current modernization project did not impact your experience.

On behalf of the team, we all look forward to seeing you back with us again in the future where you can experience one of our modern newly designed rooms, suites and Business Class Lounge.

Kind regards
Peter Feran
General Manager
pferan@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Despite the hotel was under renovation, we spent two marvelous nights at the Radisson. The hotel is along the main road to the city center but it is not so noisy. The hotel location is very convenient : only 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of BSB. Across the road there is a hawker centre where we ate very well.
The hotel staff is unheard of kindness. All the staff people were charming and very helpful.
Definitely, we will return to the Radisson BSB on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear "Yokozuna_r",
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and post your comments about your recent stay at the Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially pleased when reading how our great staff made your stay that much more enjoyable, I will certainly share this with them.

On behalf of the team, we all look forward to see you in Brunei in the future where you can enjoy one of our newly designed rooms, suites and Business Class Lounge.

Kind regards
Peter Feran
General Manager
pferan@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong / Kelowna, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

For whatever reason that you've got the chance to visit the B-O-R-I-N-G nation of Brunei, the first thing you'd realize is the lack of presents of International Hotel Chains within the nation. Matter of fact, there are only a hand full of accommodation options within the entire nation. Radisson Brunei offers me everything that I'd have come to expect on a 3-4 stars hotel range but light years away from being 5, but nevertheless, given the limited number of choices one can have, this is a decent place to have a few good night sleep.

Location:

There isn't exactly a place in the capital - Bandar Seri Begawan that I'd consider a bad location. You'll first have to forget your normal concept of how a "capital city" looks like, and start thinking about downtown of some small Canadian Town with merely 20-30 thousand resident - THAT is what BSB looks like. Made up of just a few streets up and down and with almost 90% of the national attraction within that few streets, as long as your hotel is located in BSB, you can walk your way around everywhere, and Radisson is just on the edge of the City Center, within walking distance to the night food market (best place for food) and close enough for action (not that you'll see a whole lot in Brunei).

Security:

I don't find security to be a major concern in Brunei at all, and the hotel itself is pretty safe. However, there is no elevator lock, meaning that everyone can take the lift up to the resident floors without problem.

Services:

Great. I emailed the guest relations a few times back and forth to arrange a pick up for my arrival (2am in the morning) and to rent a car during my stay. The guest agent responded promptly with accurate information.

Most staffs I've encountered are cheerful and energetic, which is a good sign. They do give a effort to make you stay as enjoyable as they possibly could.

But may I point out that the "City Map" that the hotel give out is a total joke and is not useful at all? Kindly change those maps back to normal maps showing the actual streets and ally around the city instead of that silly drawing map the hotel has. It'd be nicer if the hotel can provide maps covering a greater area.

Hotel Dining and Facilities:

Didn't eat there, but the hotel restaurant offers buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at a reasonable price. (B$18-22 IIRC), if you're lazy, that might be a good option for meals.

There is also a small pool (really small), but it wasn't all too bad after all. It is awesome to be able to dip myself into water when it is 35oC outside. However the pool closes a bit too early @ 6pm daily.

Avis car rental have a small office onsite, it only opens upon request. I managed to rent a car there and have it returned at the airport. The process was smooth, you can also email the hotel to have your car pre-arranged.

Rooms and Sleep Quality:

The room I got was quite dated and needed renovation desperately, but they are currently working on that. That is why you'll hear drilling and hammering as early as 8am during weekdays and that was driving me insane as I was there for a vacation not work.

But besides that, the bed was comfy, the room was of decent size and it is very clean all round. The curtains were stupidly heavy to operate.

Others:

1) There is a bus stop 3 mins walk away from the hotel, but DONT TAKE THE BUS! Buses in Brunei is stupid and it only runs a few times a day. If you're determined to take the best, ask the front desk for the schedule before you head out to the melting heat in the day time.

2) Taxis? Forget about it, there are like 30 taxis in the ENTIRE nation, need to get anywhere without a rental car? Call hotel front desk to arrange a lift or you're screwed.

3) Car rental is recommended, it is very easy to drive in Brunei and roads are in good conditions. You won't need a GPS and roads there are so easy to navigate.

4) There are no good food in downtown BSB. The only decent joint is the shabby open air food market located just around the corner of the hotel. Try the Nasi Goreng Pattaya at stall no. 8, only for B$3.5$, yummy!

5) Hotel Taxi to and from Airport is $29/one way, takes about 15mins. Pre arrange your ride and don't expect any taxis around the arrival area, especially if you're arriving 2 in the morning.

Have fun in Brunei, if you get too bored after a day or two, move on to Sabah, Malaysia!

Will I recommend this hotel? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear "Crossingtheglobe",
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review on your recent experience at the Radisson Hotel and in Brunei, feedback is always welcomed and very much appreciated. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing a very extensive modernization plan as part of our conversion to Radisson, the first of our fantastic rooms will be available in the next month, should you decide to return to Brunei I am sure you will appreciate the amazing changes.

Thank you again, we all look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Feran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 15 days and must say did not regret it one bit. The location is fantastic!It is near to the night market, museum and lovely mosques. The Yayasan shopping mall is a pleasant 10 mins walk. If you are not in a mood to walk, can use the hotel shuttle to the Yayasan shopping mall and also to the malls at Gadong and Kiulap. The day market is nearby. Loved dining at Riverside cafes and enjoyed the mangrove river cruise...all this at walking distance from the hotel.Lovely recreation park and hill near the hotel- ideal to go for a morning jog.
We were informed about the renovations taking place in the hotel and were a bit apprehensive when we checked in. But throughout our stay, the disturbance was minimal. Not much noise, dust or inconvenience. The rooms are clean and bathrooms come adequately stocked and with clean towels. I liked the concept of a small divider in the room which separated the bed from the sofa and centre table. Breakfast was a good spread. The reception staff, staff at the restaurant, room service staff, cleaners...everyone was warm and friendly. The pool side is nice and quiet..good to spend the day reading. They also have a BBQ on weekends. The gym is fully equipped. Tried in-room dining....not many choices but food tasty and service is quick.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the road..thick glass windows and no noise. Good view of the mosque, museum etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear "Kris29_02",
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay with us in Brunei, I am always pleased to receive feedback and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular how our great staff made your stay that much more enjoyable, I will certainly pass your comments on to them.

On behalf of the team we all look forward to seeing you back in Brunei and the Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam where you can enjoy our fantastic new rooms, suites and Business Class Lounge, the first of which will be available next month!

Kind regards
Peter Feran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The service provided by everyone at this hotel - from reception through restaurants down to F&B and event managers - warm and attentive yet unobtrusive - is what service in Southeast Asia used to be before the 1997-1998 Asian Crisis ushered in a wave of cost-cutting, downsizing, retrenchments and general reliance on underpaid migrant workers. It's good to see the Brunei Radisson still believes in hiring pleasant and efficient staff and training them well.

Room interiors are undergoing a major upgrade - for the record, during my five nights at the hotel, I did not encounter any noise, dust or other inconvenience related to the renovation. The 'old' rooms are of the typical 'cabin crew' variety, i.e. quite basic but clean and comfortable.

The hotel's location is great if you want to explore downtown Brunei, such as there is, on foot. Btw it would be madness to work out in the hotel gym, considering there are scenic hills and recreation parks literally right behind and/or round the corner from the hotel. (The hotel does provide a nifty little leaflet to every guest, suggesting jogging tracks etc.)

Overall, not exactly luxurious but pleasant nonetheless, and worth recommending.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear "allele_12",
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review about your recent stay with us, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, in particular how our great staff here made your stay that much more enjoyable, I will certainly share your kind words with them as they are always appreciated.

As you mentioned we are undergoing an extensive modernization plan, I hope that you will return to Brunei in the future so you can experience one of our new rooms or suites, the first of which will be ready in the coming few months, I know you will be surprised and enjoy the amazing facilities and features they will offer.

Thank you again, on behalf of the entire Radisson Brunei team we all look forward to seeing you back in Brunei soon.

Kind regards,
Peter Feran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in total and what a great place - the staff were so good, helpful, and such respectful staff- the pool was great, we would chill out by the pool and have coffee ect in the afternoon after a big walk around the area, so central to anything you would want - clean and I just loved the oil burning in the hallways, oh what a beautiful smell - the breakfast was something to look forward too, great variety of beautiful good food. Well done - great staff - the dining room staff were just the best. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterFeran, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear "Warwick T",
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the kind words about our great staff, I will certainly pass these onto them.

As I am sure you are aware we are undergoing some amazing changes throughout the hotel, in particular with our rooms and suites, the first of which will be available in the coming few months, please ensure to enquire about when you next return as I know you will enjoy them. We are also in the process of changing our All Day Dining Restaurant, pool and surrounding pool terrace, when completed in the next month it will offer guests a brand new look and great place to relax and enjoy the surrounding Brunei Jungle.

Thank you again, on behalf of the team we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon

Kind regards,
Peter Feran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam

Address: Jalan Tasek, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8674, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam has recently completed an extensive modernization project, unveiling 142 newly designed rooms, suites and Business Class Lounge. All guestrooms and suites feature a refreshing new look and come equipped with expansive writing desk, wall mounted 40" LED television with VGA cable for laptop connectivity and DVD player. In line with the hotel's commitment to Responsible Business, energy-saving LED lights are used throughout the room as well as digitally controlled AC units making it more energy efficient. In the newly designed bathrooms, water-saving bath fixtures, dual flush toilets, digital scales and LED lighting have been installed including a luxurious rain shower. Complimentary high speed internet access is available in all guestrooms, suites and public areas; and for the convenience of guests working with multiple devices; universal power sockets have been installed. Other features include iPad/iPod docking station, cordless speaker phones, in-room safe, iron and ironing board and bathrobes. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and mini bar is available in all guestrooms and suites. Coffee-Pod Espresso machines are also available in all Business Class rooms and suites. In addition, the new beds offer a unique sleeping comfort that will meet guests' needs for comfort and support to ensure a good night's sleep. Discover a level of comfort not found at other Bandar Seri Begawan hotels on our Radisson Business Class Floor, complete with top-floor views and access to the private Lounge. Enjoy the 24 hour gym, swimming pool, children's pool, Spa and access to Tasek Lama recreational park directly behind the hotel with kilometers of walking and trail running tracks that wind there way through the beautiful Borneo Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Utama
Sheraton Bandar Seri Begawan
Bandar Seri Begawan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.