We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Not?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunei Museum

Brunei Museum
Jalan Kota Batu | Bandar Seri Begawan Brunei, Bandar Seri Begawan 1510, Brunei Darussalam
2244545
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Brunei Museum was established in 1965, with its first administrative office at the Civic Centre in Bandar Brunei, now known as Bandar Seri Begawan. Given approval for a building of its own, a location was selected for the museum, on a historical site, at Kota Batu about 5km from Bandar Seri Begawan. The construction of the building commenced in 1968 and was completed in 1970. It was officially opened on February 29, 1972 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II of United Kingdom.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Why Not?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Because we had a rental car while in Brunei for nine days, we had a bit more freedom than someone relying on public transport, which, from what we saw on our foot tours of the city, isn't very frequent. Thus, it was easy to get out to the museum and nearby technology museum. As other reviewers have stated, it is free, so nobody can complain about what's available for the price. Though this relatively rinky-dink museum isn't a Smithsonian by any means, it has enough to keep one occupied for an hour or two--especially if you need to get out of the heat for a bit, and if you have a family with young kids, they surely might be entertained enough for the time there. Though we weren't impressed by whale skeletons and beetles stuck on pins, per se, our daughter thought such exhibits were neat. However, we were interested in the displays on the history of oil production and Islamic art.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's easily accessible by purple buses that leave the city centre (bus fare is only $1. Take the circle line and ask the bus drivers to get you the Kota Batu Museum).

I have loved this museum since I was a kid. In particular, my fabourite displays are the Natural History Section and the Oil and Gas Industry Section. The Islamic Art section is pretty impressive too, but I am not as much a fan of artifacts as of the environment.

Free entry!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you find yourself in Brunei for whatever reason, this should be a highlight of your trip! The collection of Islamic Arts was nothing short of amazing and, while the other galleries could not live up to the astonishing first gallery, it alone makes the trip to this museum (about 15 mins from the city) worthwhile. Oh, and it's totally free- so no complaining there. Only downside is the location, but the public bus goes there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but one wishes the transportation could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It showed a lot of stuff from Muslim history in Brunei, Royal family history, Brunei Shell Petroleum to animals and plants in Brunei as well as the living of people & culture in Brunei.

It's free.

It didn't sell snack nor drinks. When I asked the staff, they said they could sell their private bottle of water for B$1 and I bought it --- the last one found in one of the staff's locker.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“History Centre awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

going to a museum might bored alot of people, But as a history lover, I enjoyed much especially the history of Brunei Sultanate. I'm a Bruneian Citizen and never I learn much of the history of Brunei Sultanate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunei Museum also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Brunei Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunei Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.