We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite expensive...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Airport Restaurant

The Airport Restaurant
Brunei International Airport, Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
+673 2331853
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International, Asian fusion, Halal
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“quite expensive...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have lunch, food is okay though the price is a little bit expensive compared to other restaurants in the city. better to take transportation out of the terminal and go to any nearby cafe or eating places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Average dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I went for a all-you-can-eat seafood buffet which they had for the weekends during the month of December. The seafood that was cooked well. Some people might like the way the food was cooked, but for us seafood has to be cooked in a certain way that not only tickle the palette but brings pleasure to the senses. So, it was nothing very special about the seafood buffet. There was the "ikan paggang" but it was disappointing as it was not marinated properly.

In the newspaper advertisement, it says there's lobsters and oysters. There was no lobsters and the oysters are not part of the buffet as it is charged separately. So, it was disappointing. I would not recommend the buffet to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good lunchtime venue with one of the best buffet spreads in BSB, Also well worth a try is the laksa and chicken roti. Large restaurant so its good for both group and business lunch meetings. Although at the airport it does not at all have the feel of an airport restaurant and is widely used by the local business community

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Aklan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nothing special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

didn't meet my expectation, nothing really special, from what it was when I first came to visit a few years ago until my last dropped off.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing tasted good => Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited Brunei July 31 to Aug 2 2013. Read reviews of this restaurant. Had their Ramadan Iftar/Sungkai buffet. Many items but nothing tasted good. The only thing my wife and I liked are the vegetable tempuras. The meats (mainly chicken, different names same taste, super bland) or the fishes or the rice and noodles all seemed to have the same/similar taste.

It could be a Bruneian taste thing, but we have eaten in many parts of the world and many cuisines of the world, and we are familiar with many tastes. And we liked many things from many places. But here we failed to like anything of note.

Price was B$ 29. I would have loved to play twice as much if we liked the food. For example, Fogo de Chao, or The Journey, Indianapolis, or even The Golden Corral chain (not major but still some good stuff).

Very disappointed. VERY.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Airport Restaurant also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to The Airport Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Airport Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.