We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, best on all basic requirement, no luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road | Nikunja 2, Dhaka City 1229, Bangladesh   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Dhaka City
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, best on all basic requirement, no luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and tomorrow checking out. Very close to Airport. Ticks all boxes for basic need, nice and clean room, comfortable bedding, menu variety, range of restaurants and mostly business travelers so no-nonsense around.
F&B manager Mr Rahman never missed an opportunity to have a word with guests, which is nice. Staff is welcoming except Bar area, wherein i felt a bit of distance, unwelcoming poker faces and a shade of attitude, may be because i declined their suggestion of single malt and preferred to taste local beer instead.
Pricing is on higher side for all services like food, travel desk. Dinner or lunch buffets can cost your around $25 USD. Charged me around £60 for 6 hour cab, which is around double than local rates. Roof top grill restaurant is good and so is the small pool which is not really big but clean though.
Overall recommended property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    51
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
12
10
18
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well this time went to Dhaka and happened to stay in Dhaka regency, the look from outside doesn't give a pleasant look, but inside it's nice and clean. Well the rooms are really clean and new, the washrooms are spacious and tidy as well.The beds are really comfortable. It doesnt seem a 5* hotel to me, but people do call it one. Honestly standards are high but not 5*. The food is not at all good. They have 1 spread of buffet. The best thing of this hotel is that it's close to the airport. It's just 5 minutes away from the airport which saves lot of time & hassel due to bad traffic. Recommended to stay, just the food part is disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dhaka Regency altho doesn't look impressive from outside, its a good hotel. Rated 5 star, it has a great coffee restaurant (24/7). The buffets are lavish.

Rooms: They have rooms on 8 and 9 floor that are cheaper and do not have windows. But trust me, you will not realise that. Rooms on higher floors are expensive and have more facilities.Nice bathrooms. ( In normal rooms there is no tea/coffee maker which is sad).

A good stay for business traveler and even holiday person.


Gym is spacious and people courteous.

Live music on 13th floor lounge with nice drinks, pool table makes it a decent place to relax. ( Sore point - smoky atmosphere).

A great view from their terrace where barbecue restaurant is ( have not tried this restaurant).
Swimming pool also on terrace is tiny but inviting.

Proximity to the airport is a big plus.

Biggest plus point: The staff is excellent. They recognize you if you have been there before and are really nice. :-)

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for rooms on 11/12 floor as they are more spacious, have windows and tea/co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Last time when i was returning from Chittagong to Delhi , i have to stay for a night in Dhaka, i was looking for a hotel near Airport, someone has suggest me Dhaka Regency and now i am recommending these hotel to those who afford this.
its really a good experience to stay in this Hotel, limosuine pick up from the airport ( definitely you have to pay extra 15 USD) ,delicious food, you can enjoy live entertainment instead of watching tv in a room, shoping comlpex are very near to this Hotel.
so Enjoy your stay and share your experience later.

Room Tip: Room on Higher floor are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Despite the mixed reviews I stayed there in May 2012. I found it to be a very pleasurable experience. The staff were very friendly. There was an ample selction of food and there was a roof top pool which was enjoyable in the evening. The room I stayed in had no windows, but this proved to be beneficial as it provided a haven from the very noisy traffic that passes close to the hotel.
The hotel is close to the airport and to the business location I had to visit. If I have to travel there again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Looking for a hotel in Bangladesh?Dhaka Regency is the answer.Very close to Dhaka International airport and other important business establishments. You need to know this when you already know about famous Dhaka traffic.Enjoy your stay in Dhaka Regency and thanks me later :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We travel back to Dhaka whenever time permits. Had the opportunity to stay at the Regency Hotel couple of times with a discounted rate as my collage friend Anwar Hossain is the Head of Sales & Marketing at Regency.

Not because of Anwar but the service and hospitality we received is above average, I should say superb. We were looked after from check in to check out. Food was quite tasty and serving was generous. The hotel is well maintained, clean, enjoyed the outside areas too. I have recommended Regency to my NRB’s friends too. I am sure we will go back to Regency again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort

Address: Airport Road | Nikunja 2, Dhaka City 1229, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Greetings from Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort – The new-generation business class hotel closest from the airport! We have 214 luxuriously furnished Guest Rooms and Suites, Thai Spa, Health Club, Bar, Lounge, Multi Cuisine Restaurants, countries most beautiful Roof Top Restaurant with Swimming Pool and World Class Venue facilities.Be it a 3-minute drive from Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport or around the bend from Baridhara Diplomatic Zone or a 15-20 minutes ride away from the Banani and Gulshan Commercial Areas, Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort is conveniently situated to target and attract the market segment that requires lodging services most frequently. Moreover, its proximity to the industrial belts of Tongi and Export and Processing Zone (EPZ), where the ever-flourishing readymade garments (RMG) sector of Bangladesh is situated and which contributes to the lion share of inbound travels to the nation, makes the hotel's location even more prime.15-stories high with over 250,000 sq. ft. of space (including 15,000 sq. ft. parking lot), this edifice of classic stature structured for 214 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites , including the exclusive club floors with it's private VIP lounge, began as a venture of the UK based NRB's. Each room is equipped with central air-conditioning, satellite television, International Direct Dialing, mini bar and an electronic safe.Dhaka Regency boasts on running the largest 24-hour 5 Star restaurant in the country, Grandiose Restaurant, offering international multi-cuisine delights and three buffet meals per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhaka Regency Hotel And Resort
Dhaka Regency Hotel Dhaka
Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhaka Regency Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.