We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for a business traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Dhaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Dhaka to your Saves list
Westin Dhaka
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Rd 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Dhaka City
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“good hotel for a business traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

nice stay. The area is quite busy, lots of traffic around, A few restaurant around but no bars. Great swimming pool & bar on 5th flloor - good hotel for a business traveller

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    198
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
26
50
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This was My 3rd time at this hotel, first two stays were last year.
And I could say only one thing... With their Popularity gaining day by day, the quality is going down.

The hotel is definitly a Great hotel with great rooms and good restaurants, Also well located from most of the Business areas.

But I found a Stark drop in quality, To start with the Break fast, I observd that the Curds Served were VERY SOUR, When I complained I was told that it helps digestion.... :). Are they serving Breakfast or Medicine ?

The next shocking momment came when I accidently dropped a Chocolate cookie in my Room, See the Picture How much Hair it Brought along with it....thought it was one odd inidence and ignored it, but then next day, I again found some Hair, this time they tagged along with my hand bag...

And I am sure they didnt belong to me as I am bald ;)

Called the manager and showed him the Sample, He apologised.... thats it.

  • Liked — Nice Property, Elegant and nice rooms
  • Disliked — Cleanlyness and food quality going down.
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We had a decent stay for the hotel in our budgets, the area is quite congested, if the focus is just the stay overnight, this would be the best option , particularly for a business traveller.

Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This hotel was exceptional for the area and would be nice in any western city

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This is the ONLY good hotel in central Dhaka, which makes it VERY popular and always more or less fully booked. Unfortunately the owner also knows this and have accordingly pushed the prices skywards for the guests and cut costs on produce. From what I was informed in the beginning Westin imported all vegetables etc. from Australia, good quality. Now they buy locally (much cheaper and quality follows price).
I bought a sirloin steak, it was VERY disappointing.

Service was good. Rooms were good, some minor details made you aware that this is a VERY new hotel (3 years or so), so a few items were kinda "loose".

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is a top class hotel. Big rooms, Westin heavenly beds, great showers. Everything is clean and modern. The mini bar prices are reasonable too. Nice views from the higher floors.

Beware that a beer from the 23rd floor bar costs about $12.50. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

This is the best hotel in Dhaka at the moment for sure. No faults anywere. Just beware that the hotel is extremely expensive, not just the rooms, but also the restaurants and especially the bars are over priced. If you are of any nationality that has a Club house, Scandinavian, American, German, Dutch, Australian - go there to eat and drink. You will have a much nicer tima to a price which is 80% less than at the Westin. Just contact respectove club first. Google their contact details, all of them are quite close to the Westin.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Dhaka

Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Rd 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#4 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Dhaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka – the newly opened five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Our hotel is also only eight kilometers from Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed®. The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower® ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. Replenish in our bar or six restaurants. Revitalize in our temperature controlled poolside recreational area that offers spa facilities, steam room, sauna, and Jacuzzi. Our state-of-the-art fitness center offers endless possibilities for your wellness. The Westin Dhaka ensures you will leave our hotel rested, energized, enriched, and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Dhaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.