We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Dhaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Dhaka to your Saves list
Westin Dhaka
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Rd 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Dhaka City
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Dhaka for about three weeks, during a period of political strikes (hartals) that often made traveling within the city difficult. The strikes were boring but I felt quite safe and comfortable in the hotel.

The hotel is quite clean and comfortable. During my three weeks stay, everything pretty much worked as it was supposed to and the hotel was quite efficient in resolving any problems.

The internet was not great (sometimes fast and sometimes slow), I suspect that this is more related to Bangladesh than the hotel. At present they do not charge for the connection but I understand that they are in the process of introducing internet fee. :(

The service is quite good. As I mentioned, friendly and also quite efficient. I never felt that I was bothering them with anything and it did not take long for them to learn who I was and my little quirks. The service did not suffer at all during the strikes.

The food is quite good. The breakfast buffet is extensive and pretty complete. For other meals, the hotel tends to be pricey. In the main restaurant, lunch and dinner are offered as buffets with a large range of choices. Of course, they also have a la carte menu as well...not cheap but a better if you don't have a big appetite. There are many local restaurants in walking or a close drive...good food and cheap. I would highly recommend the ice cream on the ground floor, especially the sorbet.

I would definitely return and definitely recommend to other.s

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Ours is the place indeed where our priorities are the safety and comfort of our guests; and it is good to see that this has been noticed.

We have taken note of your experience of internet use inside our hotel. It may be mentioned that your suspicion is correct - the sudden fluctuation of speed was because of the country's broadband infrastructure. Nevertheless, we are always trying to improve our services where it is possible.

We will be delighted to have your hotel booking with us during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    184
    56
    14
    12
See reviews for
16
24
44
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DELHI INDIANational Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A five star hotel with all modern amenities. Wifi internet, a huge variety of breakfast to select, and Westin work out. The hotel is located in Gulshan 2 area and having easy access to near by shopping centers and market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for authenticating our hotel to be placed in the best location of the city and appreciating the good selection of our breakfast items.

We look forward to your next reservation with us.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Modern and new hotel in Bangladesh, well maintained.
In the middle of the Gulshan district, so be prepared to be woken up by the hoots and horns of the busy road in front of the hotels. Not a problem for the heavy-sleeper me.
Nice hotel with good selection of breakfast items, THE HOTEL to stay in you are visiting Dhaka on business. Doesn't feel like Dhaka when in the hotel....love the fresh smell of sweet-smelling lilies when you first entered the lobby at lower ground.

LOVE the heavenly bed, and the heavenly bath, another signature hotel under the Westin group, beat other hotels in Dhaka hands down. If you have the BUDGET, this is the hotel to stay in Dhaka!

Room Tip: stayed there several times. Once they upgraded me to their suite, with a separate living room and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nothing pleases us more than a satisfied guest who returns to us. It is good to see that you have stayed with us several times.

Thank you very much for appreciating the signature of our Westin brand - the heavenly bed and the heavenly shower.

We are eager to book your next reservation with us; can we do it now?

Kind regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Westin in Dhaka twice now and I dont think you are going to get anything better. It is clean with spacious rooms and the staff is very helpful. Located close to the diplomatic quarter you are secure and can get around as easily as anyone can get around in Dhaka--the traffic is the worst!

Favorite things about the hotel: the cafe downstairs has good food that you can take to go--better and cheaper than room service. Shwarma is delicious. They also serve gelato--bonus points! The breakfast is included in your room and the buffet is plentiful with westen and South Asian food. Good wifi!

The pool area also looks nice, although I never used it.

Worst things: The lighting in the bathroom is not the best for putting on make-up and the hairdryer is in the desk drawer, rather than the bathroom, which always annoys me.

Perhaps the most important thing about this place is that is across from the "U-Mall" which has a great pearl shop and antique store. The peald shop has every type at every price. They will hand string in whatever style you want and have it sent to your hotel within 24 hours. Ladies will love it, and men should go for the ladies they left at home. I had Christmas shopping done within an hour!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good comments on our food and services.

Your comment on lighting and plamement of hair-dryer in room has been received with the due importance it deserves. We will give our best possible effort to resolve the issues that you mentioned.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's great to be back and recognised by name on arrival from the airport rep, had my diet coke in the car they remembered my choice. Checking into the hotel was less than 2 mins, tipu sultan was there to receive me on the club floor and was courteous as normal. My room as requested on the 21 st floor was super as normal. I got a nice welcome back personal note from the gm. Made me feel like a million bucks, used the gym the best I have used anywhere with great attentive and helpfull staff, the Internet is now much better as they have improved it. My stay was great with the usual fast service, felt very safe in this place amidst the mayhem in the country , security is excellent and I felt good getting my business done.

Room Tip: 21st floor for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your wonderful review of our hotel will inspire us to do more in terms of services.

It will always be great to have you back amongst us in future.

Thank you for taking time to review our property.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Dhaka for five nights on a business trip. The hotel arranged the pick up service from the airport, and the driver was very polite. As soon as we got on the car, he handed us iced towel and water, which were very much needed in that kind of hot & humid climate. Check-in was prompt, and receptionist was warm and welcoming. The room is decent, comparable to most Westins in Asia.

I was busy working and having non-stop meetings at this hotel. Even though this was my first trip to Bangladesh, I barely had a chance to explore anything else in the city, which was pathetic. On the other hand, I spent a lot of time in this hotel, and I have to say, the service is top notch. The guys at the Executive are really great, very attentive, while we were busy working, they made sure everything was taken care of. We were never short of water, tea, and biscuits. For our working lunch, they worked with the room service team, to ensure we got our food at the exact time we wanted. For dinner, they worked with kitchen and made local special, off the menu items. We were very impressed and grateful. Next time I go to Dhaka, we stay here for sure.

Room Tip: Stay on the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for declaring that you will stay with us during your next visit to Dhaka.

We acknowldege with gratitude all the great comments you have posted about our hotel and the services of our associates.

When can we take your next booking?

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
658 helpful votes 658 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

i stayed in westin for 3 nights..very spacious rooms with big washrooms..pure white linens, robe and towels...with all necessary amenities... i impressed with their prompt and quick service. they also have nice conference room.nicely decorated rooms and lobby. hotel is equipped with a beautiful swimming pool and gym. Food quality is good with good range of cusines and variety..restaurant is well decorated and nice....nice location ..situated in one of the very important area in dhaka...airport is almost 5.5 miles from hotel..
overall an excellent hotel in dhaka...will recomment for all..

Room Tip: pool facing rooms provide nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to see that one of our valued guests is not only appreciating our amenities and services but also recommending it to others.

We will be delighted to welcome you in our hotel during your next visit to Dhaka.

Thank you for reviewing our property.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Dhaka

Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Rd 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
#4 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Dhaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka – the newly opened five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Our hotel is also only eight kilometers from Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed®. The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower® ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. Replenish in our bar or six restaurants. Revitalize in our temperature controlled poolside recreational area that offers spa facilities, steam room, sauna, and Jacuzzi. Our state-of-the-art fitness center offers endless possibilities for your wellness. The Westin Dhaka ensures you will leave our hotel rested, energized, enriched, and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Dhaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.