We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection

Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection
Armanitola Rd, Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 24 Attractions in Dhaka City
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Yerevan, Armenia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice old church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you're visiting the Armenian Church, I advise to combine it with Lalbagh Fort and Ahsan Manzil, since they're quite close. Consider, it can take you 2-3 hours in the traffic alone.
The Armenian church of Dhaka is a lovely historical place. Being Armenian, I couldn't miss this place while in Dhaka. It's well maintained by the only Armenian currently living in Dhaka, Mr. Martin and a Hindu family that helps him around. This church is a very lovely runaway from the noise of Dhaka. We did ask to meet Mr. Martin, who's an old man, and had a lovely chat with him. The church is located in the old part of Dhaka, so if you're new to Dhaka, consider seeing and smelling all kinds of unpleasant stuff before you get there.
Overall, definitely worth visiting!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely building, nice interior and yard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

worth visiting if you are in the area. you must ask to see the interior. interesting cemetery on the surrounding area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great piece of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is located in the Puran (Old) Dhaka and one has to make some efforts to reach this place. The local name for this place is "Armenian Tula" and remember to use this name while asking the locals about the directions.

The place has a history that dated back 300 years but it is neglected. The person incharge was very helpful and gave an good overview of the place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittagong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“small church in a quaint part of old Dhaka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

worth seeing. It's a small church. There is a pretty long history of Armenians in Dhaka. It used to be a cemetery I believe. There are gravestones all over the grounds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little gem (in need of a polish)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

In the middle of old Dhaka and with the mad world of rickshaws and car horns just outside the gates, there is this oasis of peace and quiet. The grave yard is worth seeing including a veteran of the mutiny who was born in Belfast and a man who died at the age of 108 years! The church needs some TLC and there is a collecton box. The guardian was a charming young Hindu who told us all about the community. This church holds mass at Christmas and Easter. I left my card and I hope they tell me when. I shall definitely go

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.