We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and comfortable room in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott The Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott The Residence to your Saves list
Ascott The Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   House #13, Block # K, Road # 08 | Baridhara, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Dhaka City
Yangon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good service and comfortable room in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In the quiet (and safe) heart of Baridhara. I had a suite for a lengthy stay and found the room spacious although the bed was quite hard. The staff were pleasent and helpful. The breakfast was more than adequate adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The reason I rate it poor because personally feel the hotel does not have 4 star feel.
Personally counter several unhappy situation, however fixed by hotel's management. I felt I had paid to learn the lesson.

Pro:
- Ascott the residence won two awards from other country, which I don’t know what award is that but it sound great!
- Room Equip with LCD TV with more than 90 tv channel.
- Provided 500ml water each day from room cleaner.
- Free news paper for each day.
- Fix complain before next COB day.
- Free shuttle to/from Dhaka airport.
- Alot of power socket point.
- Mini Fridge is available
- Independent air cond unit.(Which you can adjust your own preference temperature)

Cons:
- Terrible internet speed. Difficulty with skype call during peak hour.
- Don’t understand English well.
- Some room don’t provide locker, you have to ask from the counter.
- Some room’s hair dryer problematic but still function.
- GYM/Restaurant TV watch by their own staff with funny funny channel, which we don’t understand. Until you ask to switch the channel into BBC/CNN.
- Bath room, careful of hot/cold water indicator sign might be opposite from what you think.
- Don’t have TV channel list menu, you have to navigate your own to find channel.
- Provide smoking room without smoke ionizer for customer which customer already highlighted non smoking.
- Some room aircond's compressor sound is noisy.
- Advertise’s Photo are just for illusion purpose.
- Feel no benefit for long stay customer.

Room Tip: - ROOM number end with x09 and x10 is not advisable, open windows is other building wall. - Coner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sidcup
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Certainly not a hotel to stay at if you are an anti-smoker, the rooms’ smell strongly of stale cigarette smoke, not pleasant. Bedroom comfortable but bathroom facilities not good. I was very disappointed by breakfast, I have been travelling a lot in recent months for work, and this is the first hotel I can think of where breakfast was lacking - poor choice of food and what was on display was not great. I didn’t eat in the restaurant for dinner but had room service on my last night, food very mediocre, fries inedible.
The plus side? Lovely staff, reception clean and pleasant and most importantly I felt very safe, but definitely not my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The stay is ok, Bfast is ok. Airport Shuttle is provided FOC
The only downside, on the last day, when about to check out, they charge me for room for which I already paid via website.
i've been premier member of that website, and I explain everything already paid.
The staff told me, I maybe paid the website, but the website havent pay to the hotel...
It took 6 staff including the manager, to check and 30 minutes waiting. Finally they told me, everything is ok....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you have no other options and if you have business in the Bardhara district, then this is a good place to stay. I stayed here for three weeks. For the first week, I stay in a Royal Suite on the 5th floor. For the last two weeks, I stayed in a Premium Room. Both were fine -- clean and well-sprayed to ward off mosquitoes. I would have preferred the suite for such a long stay if it weren't so dark. It faced other buildings so the view was terrible, but it was quieter. The Premium Room was actually quite nice. It faced the street and, even though I heard street noise, the daylight and sunrise were lovely. The dilemma was the mosque was only half a block away. Prayer calls at 5am were surprising at first, but then you get used to it (like all other things about Dhaka). Also, there are lots of construction going on -- new condos being developed, houses taken down, just overall noise and dust everywhere. It's inescapable (unless you stay at the Westin).

Food here is actually very good and are served in big portions. They serve Movenpick ice cream, which really was such a treat. As a woman with other women colleagues staying in Dhaka, I felt safe in this hotel. It was nice to see female security guards, but curiously no female hotel service staff. Service was quite good. Staff were attentive. And the Baridhara district itself is so safe and not at all crowded. It's a wealthy neighborhood full of wealthy locals and expats who probably work in one of the embassies around. This is indeed a gem in the chaotic Dhaka life.

What I didn't like were the stiff beds (super uncomfortable), smoking lobby, no DVD player in the Premium Room, very dark public areas such as the stairs and lobby area, and below average drycleaning job (my clothes shrunk and got discolored). I also wished they had a pool!

The Ascott is really not that far from Gulshan area (where all the shopping and restaurants are), but because of the heavy traffic that would prolong the trip from there to there, it's almost not worth it to leave Baridhara. But there isn't much around -- a nice green park and the Mermaid Cafe. Since I stayed here for three weeks, it was very difficult to adapt.

Room Tip: Choose corner Premium Room or above if you're staying more than a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Found the hotel lacking in many aspects...
1. The rooms were of ok size but had mosquites
2. The bathrooms were a little low on lighting
3. Hot water took ages once the shower was turned on
4. The mosquito spray led to dead roaches turning up in the room!
5. the breakfast was pretty limited in its offering

The best part of the hotel was the rooftop BBQ.. which served good quality food though a tad expensive!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

If you are willing to have a long stay at Dhaka, Ascott is the right place. The staffs are quite warm & rooms are comfortable. Fooding is always a challange as they have very limited menu. Since it si located in diplomatic zone of Dhaka so outside of environment looks very safe

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott The Residence

Address: House #13, Block # K, Road # 08 | Baridhara, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Phone Number:
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott the Residence Dhaka, a luxurious 4 star standard business hotel in Baridhara Diplomatic Zone of Dhaka City established in 2010, with 55 spacious and plush rooms and suites. All guest rooms are elegant and contemporary in design, complete with all the latest amenities and facilities. The brand new guest rooms are uniquely planned with expressive interior, advanced technology specifications and comfortable accommodations, which escape the ordinary, and most important of all, delight your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ascott The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott The Residence Hotel Dhaka City
Ascott The Residence Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott The Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.