We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Amazing staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hale Kai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Hale Kai to your Saves list
Hotel Hale Kai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Mirza Ibrahimov Street, Baku 1005, Azerbaijan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Baku
Tenerife, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Amazing staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A 2 min walk from the bustling square and only 5 mins from the promenade. The staff are very welcoming, and helpful and all regards. The rooms are reasonably sized with comfortable "Frank Loyd Wright-esque" decor.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you may want to request a room on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira K, Manager at Hotel Hale Kai, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest !
Thank you for your attention .Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us to improve all of our guests' experience. We thank you for staying with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Best Regards,
Elmira Kerimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
6
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel was recently made aware to me by a colleague who recommended it. I stayed here with 2 other guests and had a great stay. The location is a bit tucked away, a little difficult to find although very close to Fountain Square once you do locate it.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the young girl at reception was very sweet. She simultaneously dealt with clients in 3 languages, never losing a smile.

The only reason I did not give this hotel a perfect score, was a mix up in our booking. I specifically booked for 3 people, and was assured to have one of the rooms where the sofa pulled out to accommodate a 3rd person. Upon arrival however, we were shown to a (lovely) 2-person room. When I pointed out the mistake made, it was righted relatively quickly and we were shown the correct room where the maid scurried in to set the room up. It was a little disorganized, but otherwise very pleasant.

I would recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira K, Manager at Hotel Hale Kai, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest !
Thank you for staying with Hotel Hale Kai.Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us to improve our guest experience. We will consider all your remarks.
We are always glad to see you and you and your workmates in Hale Kai Hotel.
I appreciate your time and look forward to hearing of you soonest.
With friendly regards,
Elmira Kerimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hale Kai is a great little spot. Tucked away next to the fountain square it offers easy access to shopping, sightseeing and getting around by foot.
The rooms offer comfort and convience with free wifi to enjoy if you want to remain in contact.
Staff are extremely helpful and do their best to accomadate your requirements.
I have stayed on a regular basis and have no problems with continuing this trend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira K, Manager at Hotel Hale Kai, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest !
I want to thank you very much for your comments. We thank you for staying with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company soon.Please,change cold winter to hot summer and visit us again.
Warmest Regards,
Elmira Kerimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hale Kai Hotel is in a great location in the center of the City. Easy walking distance to the Old City, Fountain Square, and even the park at the bay. Amazing!! Such a beautiful city, with so many things to see. The staff was great, great breakfast, thanks so much!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira K, Manager at Hotel Hale Kai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words addressed to our city. We hope that in the prosperity of Baku is a drop of our participation. We thank you for staying with Hotel Hale Kai and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Wishing you the very best of business.

Kind Regards,
Elmira Kerimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quba, Azerbaijan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hale Kai is a wonderful little spot to rest your weary body! The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is wonderful, and the breakfast is great - make sure to order an omelette, you won't be disappointed! The location is killer - it's right around the corner from the Fountain Square area and McDonald's, and quite close to a ton of tasty restaurants and fun bars in the Targova area. Likewise, it's a quick stroll over to the Bulvar for a sweet walk on the banks of the Caspian Sea. Even better is the Georgian restaurant connected to the Hale Kai - the food is great and the service is quick! This hotel is a wonderful place to rest and relax while you enjoy all the beautiful Baku has to offer.

Room Tip: The staff is quite accommodating - if there's a problem with your room, just let them know and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira K, Manager at Hotel Hale Kai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest ! Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us to improve our guest experience.
We were amazed by your knowledge of the Azerbaijani language. And thank you for your interest in our country
We thank you for staying with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Elmira Kerimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at Hale Kai during the Eurovision week in May 2012. The price was about 3 times as high as usual during this week, but so was the case for most hotels during this week. Location is great, just one street to walk down until you are at Fountain square, a big square with lots of shops, nice cafes and more. Note though that the small street where the hotel is located is not very well lit during nighttime, so it can be a bit difficult for the taxis to find the way there... But you can always ask the driver to take you to Fountain square and walk the last meters. Staff was very friendly, helped us with whatever we needed, regardless of time of day or night. They talk good English. The breakfast is great, there is a guy who makes omelets, scrambled eggs, hot sandwiches and stuff on demand, that's included. Apart from that there is coffee, tea, toast, fruit, cereal... Rooms looks very much as on the pictures on their website, so what you see is what you get. Good and clean. There are net on the windows, so no flys can come in. I would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

comfortable and friendly hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.
already spent many nights, and would come back again.

Room Tip: Facilitates access to the rest of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hale Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hale Kai

Address: 18 Mirza Ibrahimov Street, Baku 1005, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Baku
#16 Luxury Hotel in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hale Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hale Kai has 23 exclusive, comfortable and fully equipped rooms. Our facilities & services: 24 hours security; 24 hours room service; Free Internet; Cinema Library; Newspapers; Climate control; Fire alarm system; Back-up generator; Laundry & Dry cleaning service; Safe deposit box at front desk; Breakfast room; Martini & Coffee Bar; Satellite TV in lobby; Interpreters; Drivers; Tour guides. All rates are inclusive of American and Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hale Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hale Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.