We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service in my life...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Baku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Baku to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Baku
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   934, Samad Vurgun Str, Baku AZ 1078, Azerbaijan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Baku
Ontario
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful service in my life...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have made several bookings to the hotel being based on the comments about this hotel. I have sent several letters about the booking contest and nothing received back. So there were lot of problems before I got my ocnfirmation letter, But again correct it and send bak to the reservation office.
I did not stay there, but got ht enice hotel close to the Ambassador hotel. And one in the evening during my visit in Baku I planned to have the dinner in the Ambassador.
The service I met there does not meet the name of the hotel. The staff is not trained enough, waiter did not know the menu, did not speak in English and the menu content was close to the fast food menu, since the hotel had five golden stars outside.
After the "amazing" dinner we asked staff to show the rooms. The bellman spoke to us on the body language, showing one room after another... The rooms are old enough, with some light renovation. But in total if I was the guest I would prefer this hotel in one case, if the all hotels in the city are fully booked.
Thisnk before going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The only positive aspect of this hotel is its nice, smiling staff. Unfortunately most are junior, without training, with poor command of English. Hence poor management, added to an outdated architecture with unmaintained equipement, ugly decoration, and substandard service (out of a 11-night stay my suite was not made twice). One member of our group was waken up in the night by the freezing air conditioner impossible to turn off. Another one ordered tuna salad from room service and got only salad without tuna... A third one was attacked by bugs or fleas. Another one (VIP) was given a room without windows. Supposedly non-smoking rooms stink tobacco. Limited choice of TV channels from TV sets hard to turn on or off. Breakfast with poor selection, impossible coffee. In sum, one wonders how much they bribed the authorities to get their five stars.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My first time to Baku and I stayed here, very fast WiFi and a nice room. Although I stayed here a few years ago now, I can remember each detail.

Decent breakfast spread and there was a lovely restaurant 30m down the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpi, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

the Hotel is quite nice for business travel, not so far from the city center. Rooms are spacious and the furniture is old fashioned but in mint conditions. At the Reception i have found really helpfull personnel who helped me with taxi drivers negotiating lower fares. Breakfast is well serviced and with wide choice. The restaurant/ bar in the lobby is really big and the food is good. Reasonable prices for the restaurant with local/international cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have been coming to Baku over the past six years, staying over long period of times, living in hotels and rented apartments. Was invited to an event recently that included accommodation at the Ambassador hotel. My hotel rating is summed up to: It's OK even if not as high class as it tries to look.

Baku is quite an expensive city with steadily widening gap between those who have money and those who don't. An average Azeri would never be able to afford to stay in any of the better hotels in Baku and because those are for foreigners and/or Azerbaijan oil elite, the prices for decent-standard hotel accommodation in central Baku are absolutely crazy. Completely out of proportion. Ambassador with its ca. 150-200 AZN (ca. the same in EUR) per night is on the lower range. And that's the only comparative advantage it has to other accommodation available in town. Otherwise certainly not a 5-star, with decent rooms and an ok restaurant, ca. 15 min driving distance from the city centre. If the traffic is light, which it is in fact very rarely. I myself prefer smaller, more centrally located hotels - check out the Old City Inn, for exampe - and will not return to Ambassador, unless I have to. Still, nothing to fear there. It's just mediocre, is all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I come Baku every month with my collegues, it was first time that I stayed in Ambassador, very good location, comfortable bed, very delicious meals and smart staff.. New welness center is entered just 50 meters away from hotel, I surely recommend to everybody,!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

There are plenty of good hotels in Baku. This hotel claims to be a 5 stars hotel and the room pricing is in relation with the number of stars. We get 3 rooms without windows, unbelievable for a 5 stars hotel!
At checkout time we had been asked 18% on top of the official public price as we refused to pay in cash! It is definitively not a business hotel. The location is not convenient.
Conclusion: Stay away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Baku

Address: 934, Samad Vurgun Str, Baku AZ 1078, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambassador Hotel Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Baku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Baku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.