We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk in the evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Square

Fountain Square
Baku, Azerbaijan
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 attractions in Baku
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice walk in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very nice area to walk around in the evening before or after dinner, lot's of trees and always people around. Safe walk alone, with friends or family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very lively!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fountains square is a very lively area especially in the evenings and weekends. It is like the Leicester square of London (lot cleaner version). Very beautiful fountains and many shops and restaurants. Beautiful buildings with stunning architecture around fountain square..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Central to Baku Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unfortunately, no one told me about it until the final two days of my stay, and I was glad I found the time to pass by it and check it out.

I believe it is necessary to check it out as, in addition to the Boulevard, Fountain Square is where all the Bakuans hang out and walk around.

Small, but nice place to chill and get a cup of coffee or have lunch

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fun to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fountain Square is one of the focal points in Baku. It's at the heart of the main retail area and has cafes, bars and restaurants in the centre and around the edges. It's a fun place to hang out during the day for a coffee or early evening.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Showed us Baku is a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Unfortunately we had only scheduled a day in Baku, arriving from Ashgabat at 3:00 a.m. and leaving on the night train to Tbilisi at 8:45 p.m. Had we known, we would have planned to stay longer. Fountain Square is a lovely area and feeds into Nizami (formerly Trade Street), which in my mind competes with some of the finest in Paris. It is also very close to the Old City, which is worth hours of wandering.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Square also viewed

Baku, Absheron Region
Baku, Absheron Region
 
Baku, Absheron Region
 

Been to Fountain Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fountain Square to your Saves list