We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qafqaz Baku City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Qafqaz Baku City Hotel to your Saves list
Qafqaz Baku City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tbilisi Avenue 34 | Nasimi District, Baku 1122, Azerbaijan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in November and all I can say that the hotel was fine. The staff were friendly and the food and service in the lobby bar was fine, although it took a while for my drink to be delivered.
The rooms were good, comfortable with all the amenities and the breakfast was fairly good.
I would stay here again despite the fact it wasn't in the heart of the city centre.
The room cost 130 MZN so an ok price considering most hotels are expensive in Baku

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
5
1
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with a clean aspect. Free wifi. Minibar is missing in the rooms. Common spaces have a strange floor plan. A little bit off the bulvar part of the city especially because of the heavy traffic. Good value for your money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If your travels take you to the centre business district of baku, this is a great place to stay. Brand new property. Regular rooms on the small side but superior and up are fine. In the regular room couldn't even fit the desk chair between the bed and the desk. Bathrooms are spacious. There are a number of restaurants but my favourite was the terrace on the 18th floor to just watch the world go by. There was no requirement to order, so often times I just sat.
Service throughout was attentive. Food was excellent. Hotel has wi-fi although if the hotel is busy, connecting can be an issue. Close to a nice supermarket. Nice work out facility but unfortunately no pool. Also close to Haydar Aliyev sports centre. Traffic noise can be heard in rooms facing front of hotel.
10 minute cab ride to old town or shopping

Room Tip: Superior room is better. Rooms that end 14 are nice rooms with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for eight nights in July 2012. It is brand new - so new in fact that the carpets still smelt, well, new. It had been open for six weeks or two months, depending on what member of staff I spoke with.
My room was very spacious indeed and the bed was comfortable enough without being special. Some might find it a little on the hard side. The bathroom has a walk-in shower. The hotel has a luxurious look about it, but there were some downsides.
The fridge in my room clearly had a defect. It was warm inside and the cupboard containing it was very hot, almost dangerously so in my opinion. It took me six days to get it fixed after I was told it was 'normal'. In the absence of cold drinks in the fridge I ordered ice. On one occasion it took 25 minutes to arrive, on another it took 40 minutes. On the latter occasion I tried to hurry it up by calling reception and the staff member I spoke to snapped, "It's coming" and hung up the phone. When I called back he lied that the phone was broken.
There is an in-room safe, but no instructions on how to set it. I tried the usual way and it failed and when I called reception I was told to key in 0000. That, it seems, is the only code that can be used so it is hardly secure.
Communication can be difficult in the breakfast restaurant if you do not speak Russian. I ordered a plain omelette every day, just eggs, and three times it was delivered with cheese including twice on one day. The breakfast though is quite varied and the staff are generally attentive. The same applies to the restaurant on the top floor.
There are plenty of lifts but they are small and although they say they are for up to six, more than two people with luggage would be a squeeze. Luggage, though, is delivered to your room probably via the much larger service lifts.
There is free wifi in the rooms, and it is excellent, and a comfortable lobby lounge/bar. And 100 metres away is a decent supermarket.
This is a good hotel which would be better with a bit more staff training. I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mıamı
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I checked in early afternoon.Front Desk staff being very friedly.My room had a nice view.House keeping cleaned my room every day and was great.At the restaurant Mr.Behruz take care of me and he did a great job.Food quality and taste was great too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Qafqaz Baku City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qafqaz Baku City Hotel

Address: Tbilisi Avenue 34 | Nasimi District, Baku 1122, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Qafqaz Baku City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Qafqaz Baku City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qafqaz Baku City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.