We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94, Gelebe Street | Bilgah District, Baku AZ 1122, Azerbaijan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Cristianos, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

bad enough.
I have just telling you the issues which we have faced them.

Electricity ran off twice a day.
No privacy, you can hear whispers of the other rooms.
House keeping do not clean the room really.
Restaurant just have club sandwiches to offer you.
staff can not understand English.
Testing fire alarm while we were staying in the hotel.
Testing Generator and make the air pollution while we are inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

We are extremely sorry to hear such feedback and we once again would like to apologise for the inconveniences which were caused during the power failure in the city. It happened due to an emergency crash in one of the main power supplies in the city, which covered all areas around Baku, including basic services like traffic lights in the city. However, our generators were fully operational and supplied power to the entire hotel throughout this incident, sometimes on and off as the city power line was being restored.

It is an unfortunate coincidence that a day before the city power cut, one of the regular Fire Emergency drills happened at our Hotel. As you may appreciate, this is one of those necessary safety measures that any building (and hotel in particular) has to take from time to time. Although we did inform all guests about the Fire drills and tests verbally and in writing, it still disturbed your stay, which we sincerely apologise.

We would have appreciated if you had shared your concerns about Housekeeping in more detail so we could rectify them right on the spot for you and addressed any issues for the future.

With regards to the knowledge of English, you are right, English is not yet a widely spoken language among the service personnel in Baku and hotels do face problems with shortage of English-speaking colleagues. This is why since the first days of our operation we have been running English classes for various levels of language knowledge to assist our colleagues in mastering their language skills.

And last but not least, I must say that your comment about Club Sandwich being the only menu item in our Restaurant surprised me very much. Our all-day dining restaurant UZUK offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet with a wide variety of local and international food. Our Chefs in the open kitchen of UZUK are always on stand by for any different "a la minute requests". Yuukai Restaurant & Bar on the roof-top is open for dinner and serves a large menu of Asian and European inspired dishes along with an extensive sushi menu. A large variety of food is available through In-Room dining as well. T-Café, located in the Talise Spa offers a menu of Salads, Sandwiches, Pizzas and a separate Spa Menu with healthy low-calorie food items. Detailed information about all restaurants, cafes and bars in available in 3 languages in our Guestroom Directory placed in each room but again if this information was not provided to you personally by any of our colleagues during your time with us, we apologise.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We took note of all your comments and will definitely work on those that are within our control.

With kind regards

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
31
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having spent a lot of time in Dubai and latterly in Azerbaijan, I was not expecting the new Jumeirah to be up to the same standard as Emirates Towers, for instance. I needn't have worried.
During a recent weekend stay at Bilgah Beach Hotel I found all the staff to be friendly, helpful and courteous. The room (junior suite) was spacious, well appointed, double windows/balconies with great sunrise views over the Caspian. Acres of public areas and out of the way seating.
Food in the top floor Yuukai oriental restaurant was slightly expensive, but so what?, when you get quality food and service. Breakfast was to die for, especially after a dip in the superb indoor pool and a time in the steam rooms. Well done Jumeirah, another success!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a late checkout, we asked for 14.00hrs, no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I have gladly shared your feedback with my colleagues, particularly the newly opened Yuukai Restaurant & Bar! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and food quality and found our colleagues to be friendly and courteous at all times. It is this kind of guest experience that we aim to deliver to our guests therefore comments like yours are very encouraging for every member in our Team.

Thank you and we hope to host you back at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel in the future.

Warm regards

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family spent one perfect month at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel. And the experience we had made us to make forward booking for two months next year!

We stayed at one of the beautiful villas. The housekeeping and room service provided were great in all terms: friendly, on time, always a bit more than expected.

The villa we stayed was well equipped. On the day one we have asked for some bits and pieces which were provided immediately. Amenities were always provided in timely manner and in the amount requested.

The beach and pool side area were always clean and serviced very well.

The SPA is AMAZING, the best in town for sure.

The Pier Grill Restaurant is the best place in town for Stakes.

People at the Reception are very quick, professional and friendly.

Thanks to all Jumeirah personnel for beautiful holiday we had this year. Wait for us next summer!

Room Tip: For the family stay - Villas is great value for money, with well equipped kitchen and all necessary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind review and feedback about your recent stay with us. I have gladly shared your comments with my colleagues to recognise the efforts Housekeeping, In-Room Dining, Reception, the PierGrill Restaurant's and of course the Talise Spa teams.

We are very grateful that you have entrusted us with your vacation this summer and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel.

We are currently working on introducing Family Brunches every Saturday and Sunday with an open buffet of international and local delicacies, accompanies with live music and children activities for various ages. This goes hand in hand with the opening of the Bowling Alley that will offer a whole new array of entertainment from bowling to play stations, Wii games, air-hockey, billiards and a Cafe.

As of October our Talise Fitness & Spa team will introduce a new treatment menu offering a choice of over 30 treatments as well as various indoor sport activities, such as Yoga, Pilates, Aqua Aerobics and other.

And last, but not least, we will be opening Yuukai modern Asian restaurant on the roof-top with an exciting menu of sushi, sashimi, a wide selection of dishes from various Asian cuisines and a few steaks for those who so much appreciated the menu of the PierGrill summer restaurant.

We hope to see you soon!

Yours sincerely,

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated in the vicinity of Baku in one of the best spots of the Absheron peninsular, this hotel has not been officially presented to the world yet as some minor works has not been complited. However, we (my wife and two kids) decided to stay there for couple of weeks in August, upon our return from a wonderfull vacation in Dubrovnik, for one simple reason - not to be in the city center with all the road construction works that were underway at that time.
We chose to stay in a villa as our familie friends were also staying in the villas. 
Here I should mention that I have been many times to other Jumeirah hotels in Dubai and was always astonished by the quality of services they provide. So it was not a surprise to see same quality of service and managment as in any internationally renown Jumeirah hotels and we ended up extending our stay for two more weeks. To that I would add one things - anyone who loves good food should try "pier grill" restaurant which is one of the best for its stakes in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us this summer. We are delighted to learn that your family enjoyed their stay and very much appreciate you taking time to share your nice feedback with our readers.

The PierGrill restaurant was very popular due to its unique location on the water, beautiful views, copy atmosphere and good quality steaks. We are currently preparing for the opening of a modern Asian restaurant, Yuukai in the first week of October. Located on the 17th floor of the hotel with wonderful 360-degree views over the sea and the landscape Yuukai is a fine-dining restaurant with a large choice of Asian food choices. It features an open kitchen, a large bar and a dedicated smoking area with a library. We hope to see you there together with your family and friends in the near future.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

4 nights here for a conference - very impressed with standards and service. Good food - incredible breakfast spread, with hot dishes cooked while you wait and to your exact specification.
Deluxe Balcony Rooms give an impressive view of the sea and are very spacious - with all the attention to detail you would expect of a hotel of this standard. Sitting in bed and pressing the remote control to let the morning sunrise in was novel and made me feel presidential.
A little way out of the city - but hotel organizes transport. Not a budget location - but good value for luxury standard. Only just opened - so they are still snagging but point anything out and it is miraculously sorted.

Room Tip: deluxe balcony ! enjoy the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Gavin

Thank you so much for posting a review and sharing your impressions with our readers. We take pride in our unique facilities and moreover in service successes of our colleagues.

We really appreciate that you kept in touch with us throughout your stay. It is only through constructive feedback that we can continue improving our service standards and ensure our guests have a unique experience in Baku.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

With warm regards

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent some time on the beach of the hotel (35 euro per person) and was totally disappointed. For sure the hotel is perfectly built, designed and beautiful. The place is gorgeous but the staff desperately lacks training. the beach area is poorly aquiped (cabins for changing clothes, for example). Dirty,while the cleaners are sitting and listening to the music in players....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback and sharing your views of our hotel, both positive and those that need urgent attention from our side. Not only were we disappointed about your experience at our beach, but also slightly surprised to hear such comments, which demostrate some inconsistences with the way our beach has been maintained, particularly on very windy days. What you described is absolutely not the stardards we are aiming for and we will definitely act upon it.
As to the entrance fee of 35 manats, I just wanetd to clarify that it did not only include access to the beach, but also to the fully equipped changing areas, lockers, showers and last but not least, the Hotel's waterpark.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that we'll have another chance of welcoming you at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we stayed at JBBH for the weekend break and thanks to hotel staff our stay was very pleasant! We stayed at Deluxe Balcony room @10th floor with the amazing sea view. Room was clean and comfortable with free WiFI access but poor TV channel menu (especially music channels). Definately will come again to stay there this summer. This place is the best for enjoying sunny summer days in the coast of the Caspian sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mete A, General Manager at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest

We were genuinely happy to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with the visitors of our Hotel's page. I have gladly forwarded your kind comments to my colleagues. Our opening team is doing its best in making our guests feel welcome and comfortable at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel. While our hotel's full scale opening is yet to be announced, in the nearest future we strive to fine-tune our services and facilities during the current 'soft opening' period and feedback like yours is very important for us. I appreciate your comments about the selection of the TV channels, which we are currently reviewing for improvement and will have a new selection of channels very shortly.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel in Baku, hopefully not only in summer, but also in the cooler months. We are planning a number of activities for the various autumn and winter holidays. If you wish to stay connected and be aware of our happenings please visit us regularly on our website or follow us on Facebook.

With warm regards

Mete Atakuman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel

Address: 94, Gelebe Street | Bilgah District, Baku AZ 1122, Azerbaijan
Phone Number:
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel - Baku’s ultimate idyllic retreat for both leisure and business.Set alongside a 300 meter Bilgah Beach on the Caspian Sea shore this hotel is the first international luxury city resort in Azerbaijan.This contemporary lifestyle complex comprises 176 luxurious rooms and suites, and 14 stand-alone cottages along with extensive business and leisure facilities.It features an array of exceptional restaurants and bars, conference centre including ballroom, multi-function venue and private meeting rooms, water park, private beach, a health club & spa, tennis court, football, volleyball and basketball fields, bowling alley, and a night club. It will offer the ultimate retreat on the Absheron Peninsula within close proximity of the major attractions of Baku and its suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Jumeirah International, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Bilgah Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.