We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hostel in Armenia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Envoy Hostel and Tours

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Envoy Hostel and Tours to your Saves list
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Pushkin 54 - Entrance from Parpetsi Street, Yerevan 0002, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Udon Thani, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite hostel in Armenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable beds, quiet rooms, clean showers - what's not to like? I stayed there on maybe 20 occasions in 2010-2012 and never had a bad experience. Well, once some guy snored really loudly.

Room Tip: Best room: upstairs behind the office. Fewer beds, daylight, quiet. But there's really not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    30
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
30
97
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IRAN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I went to Yerevan by envoy hostel tours from Tbilisi at first. tour started on time at freedom square and an Armenian girl as tour guid that I cannot remember her name although I asked several time was very kind and visited some churches on the way to Yerevan and delicious Barbicue (Khorovats) for lunch, totally great! During my stay at Envoy hostel Yerevan there were friendly & kindly staff to help you. Those days was Lusine helped me a lot patiently. Rooms with air condition, services, breakfast & baths are very clean. Moreover You are very near to the heart of Yerevan and very close to the freedom square & republic square just by walking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Envoy has really commited people who organise tours in a very professional, friendly and flexible way. We had two tours with them and one with another company in Armenia. Envoy's are more personal, they make you feel like a traveler rather than a sheep tourist.
Maneh is a great guide
David and Sergio (Madrid)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Not a bad hostel just not as great as other people have mentioned on here. We arrived around 11am and the common area downstairs was dirty and untidy from breakfast, there were flies and crap lying around. We couldn't checkin so left our baggage in the left baggage room. We booked a 4 bed dorm but tried to get a private double but they had none available. We wanted to buy all four beds in the room which we not booked at that time, but they wouldn't let us. The room was downstairs next to the kitchen, no windows and quite nosiy. You can hear everything from the hallway and kitchen. But room was clean, had big luggage lockers, bed and pillow were very comfortable. Bathroom on this level was very clean and the shower was hot with lots of pressure. The next night we moved to a twin private. This was on the top floor, facing the road with a window and balcony. Very clean and spacious enough. Beds and pillows were not as nice (very hard). But we got a towel. However the bathroom on this level was not so nice. The shower was not as clean and it didn't drain properly so you stood in water. The wifi was touch and go and only worked in some areas. Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Could not fault them. The tours were also great and enjoyable. The day tour was in a nice airconditioned van with plenty of leg room and the guide very knowledgeable.
Breakfast was just bread, butter, cheese, a peach and tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the bottom floor, noisy and no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
envoyarmtraveler, Public Relations Manager at Envoy Hostel and Tours, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi nicjames,

Thank you for your review.

We do try to be as flexible as possible to accommodate everyone's needs but this is not always possible, especially in peak season. Being booked out the night before and your early arrival meant that the cleaning process, although well underway had not been completed at 11am (check in is normally at 2pm). On your first night stay with us we were already almost booked out again reducing our ability to offer alternative options to your prior booking of 2 beds in a shared room - had we had more availiability we would have happily obliged.

We do appreciate you pointing out the issues with WiFi and the bathroom, both have now been logged and are currently being followed up.

We are also glad you enjoyed our tours and we trust that you take away pleasant memories from our region :)

Kind Regards' Envoy Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parakai, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been to Yerevan several times and have been on numerous tours. It seemed all companies were doing the same thing - then I discovered Envoy! If you have limited time, don't waste it - do a couple of Envoy tours. 'Embracing Armenia' was a real high! Take a mountain walk, meet Yezdie nomads and have lunch with a village family. Absolutely brilliant. The tour guides are really friendly and helpful.
I also went on the Soviet Yerevan City Tour. This was both very enlightening and very amusing. The tour guide is great!
The owners understand what outsiders want in a tour and have come up with unique ideas. I only wish that I had found Envoy earlier - I would have tried all of their tours - if we go back to Yerevan I will be at Envoy as soon as I can be.
Discover the real Armenia - go to Envoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hostel was the best hostel that I stayed in in Armenia. The rooms were spacious and clean. Excellent common room facilities. But most of all was the staff. They are extremely fun and helpful. They offer a free day tour . I even did they're tour to Tbilisi which was an excellent value. If you're going to Yerevan , I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

In travelling, I want to explore the country, the city, the place I'm in and at the same time, I don't want to worry about my Hostel. Therefore I chose a place to stay, where I find rest after a long day and plenty of experiences, where I find other travellers to share adventures and impressions and where every question I do have, gets an answer. The Envoy was (for that reason) one of the best places I ever stayed while travelling. They offer everything you wish, and serve it in a charming and very friendly style.
I also booked a tour with Envoy. The "embracing armenia"-tour. It was excellent. A guide who not only shows you beautiful places and talk about their history, but who is also able to answer all your questions about armenian society and the life in the country. I was so amazed by that tour, that I booked "enlightened armenia" too. This tour I liked even better. After one week at Envoy I had made every tour they offer and left with the knowledge not to find a place like this very soon again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement are cheaper, but don't have a window (but it's just for sleeping anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Envoy Hostel and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Hostel and Tours

Address: Pushkin 54 - Entrance from Parpetsi Street, Yerevan 0002, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, friendly, clean, value for money and fantastic atmosphere! Consistently rated as a top hostel by our guests. Located in the heart of Yerevan, Envoy Hostel is the only hostel within the City Circle. Walking distance to all major sights in Yerevan including: The Opera House, Cascade, Republic Square, many museums/ art galleries and endless cafes, bars and restaurants. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be able to help you with any of your travel needs making Envoy the perfect base to explore Armenia! If you don't want to do it on your own, you can join our unique tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Envoy Hostel and Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Envoy Hostel and Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.