We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your impression of Armenia will not be full without watching this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matenadaran - The Museum of Ancient Manuscripts

Matenadaran - The Museum of Ancient Manuscripts
53, Mashots Av | Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
10 562578
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 117 things to do in Yerevan
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Your impression of Armenia will not be full without watching this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 NEW

This one is probably less of an attraction, but an opportunity to think and understand who Armenians are and why, and what are there values. Visiting this place makes totally no sense without a guide - take a guided tour and you will learn a lot. Even if you don't remember all the facts, the cultural impression will stay.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    57
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Face the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

First time I visited here I was only 12 years old schoolgirl (In Armenia every school usually arranges a visit to Matenadaran for pupils). I rememeber I didn't like the place because I didn't understand well. But now I decided to visit again, to explore more, to learn... It was another experience for me, it was like you are traveling to PAST, you feel the scent of old times!!!! Now it's the best place for me in Yerevan, and I hope it will be the best for all who comes to Yerevan, I recommend everyone to visit here.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historical handwritings from 15th century.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

You can never say, "I visited Yerevan" without seeing Matenadaran. It's in the 1st place at "should see" places in Yerevan.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“For a people with a no strongly defined territory, a museum of written culture is further important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

You might think that a library of manuscripts and old books should be an attraction only for specialists. In this case, it would be a mistake: much depends on how this object of interest is experienced by each national people and by its institutions.
In the case of the Armenian people, whose territory in the last decades has been reduced dramatically and tragically, the physical space occupied by the current Armenian State isn't sufficient alone to identify the civilization that has been expressed troughout the centuries; therefore the element of written culture is essential to identify the civilization itself. It's sufficient to say that the first printed book and the first magazine in Armenian language (both of these artifacts are present in the library) were both produced outside the Armenian typical areas: the first in Venice, Italy (XVI century), the second in Madras (now Chennai), India (XVIII century).
That's why in Armenia a library can become an essential Museum of national culture; as Matenadaram is.
In addition, the visit to the library is made easy by guided tours (compulsory and free) in many languages, including minor ones. We made use of the guide in Italian, a young woman very skilled at arousing the attention, even of people not particularly educated, on precious manuscripts and books on display.
I would therefore say that a visit to Matenadaram is an experience not to be missed for anyone who stays in Yerevan.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“If you are into history , then this is 1st in your list !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Yerevan always throws surprises at me, I went into this place one day expecting nothing
I was stunned by what was in store inside , this place is so rich in history and I came the second time with a small book and pencil just so that I could note down some things which I missed the first time
There are manuscripts in Greek , Persian, Urdu , Arabic , Sanskrit, Devanagari as well - I am a bit confused between Urdu / Arabic & Sanskrit / Devanagari, but you can check it out when you be there
Not exactly for the little ones I did say as they get bored but hey you can't blame the little one's or the place for that ...
If you are into manuscripts , learning about history and the rich culture this place has to offer - you would just love it

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matenadaran - The Museum of Ancient Manuscripts also viewed

 
Yerevan, Armenia
Garni, Kotayk Province
 

Been to Matenadaran - The Museum of Ancient Manuscripts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matenadaran - The Museum of Ancient Manuscripts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.