We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lahmajoun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mer Taghe

Mer Taghe
21/1 Tumanyan, Yerevan, Armenia
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 334 Restaurants in Yerevan
Cuisines: Armenian
Description: Sidewalk cafe/fast food joint which serves the best lahmajune (Armenian Pizza) in Yerevan!
Restaurant details
Description: Sidewalk cafe/fast food joint which serves the best lahmajune (Armenian Pizza) in Yerevan!
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Lahmajoun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great taste, fast service best in town although I had better ones in Lebanon. Their menu is simple, the best match with a lahmajoun is a fresh yogurt

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best Lahmajo places in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

People order 2-3 of them here and talk as they eat. They've also got a great Adjarian Khatchapuri and other treats. They have a tent over the eating area in Winter so you don't get too cold. And if you get the chance, ask to see how the food is made. They've got a funny story for you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“WHERE ARE THE OLD QUSLITY, SIZE AND PRICE ???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

That was the one of my best places in yerevan. I used to take there my friends and guests from outside...

It became worth sometime ago: food quality, portion size dropped down, but the proces are growed enough.

Now I am looking for a new place to represent as a "food landmark" for Yerevan.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best Lahmajune (Armenian Pizza)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

When we were planning our trip to Armenia, there were a few things that my wife prepared me to really look forward to, and one of those was lahmajune (or lahmaju/o, a kind of Armenian pizza). Having been to the Middle East twice before, street food is one of my favorite cuisines overseas, and I was really excited to try lahmajune...but nothing could prepare me for the treat it was! [I'm getting to the restaurant, too, but] lahmajune is basically a very crisp flat bread baked with crumbled lamb and seasonings; you squeeze lemon over the whole thing, fold it up, and finish it way too soon.

Now, for Mer Taghe: What a place! Keep in mind it is fast food in a street/sidewalk setting: plastic tables and chairs, a limited menu, and such, but when you have lahmajune this good, a wait staff which is really attentive for Armenian standards, and a prime spot on one of Yerevan's best people-watching streets, you don't really need much more.

We also had plenty of Jermuk mineral water and this was the first (and last) place I tried Kilikia, one of Armenia's native beers, which is actually more a malt liquor and serves nothing so well as just an alcohol conveyance (honestly, one of my least favorite native beers I've encountered in my travels). We also had a sort of veggie pie, but the lahmajune was our favorite...for most of the trip, and we went back to Mer Taghe several times while we were in Yerevan...and had to really force ourselves not to stop for more lahmajune whenever we were walking bye!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Lahmajo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place has the best Lahmajo (Armenian meat loaf) in town. The place is very down to earth, but the food quality is super perfect. Just get the Lahmajo, I guess nothing else deserves the trial. combine it with Tan, and you will have the best lunch/dinner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mer Taghe also viewed

Yerevan, Armenia
Yerevan, Armenia
 

Been to Mer Taghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mer Taghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.