We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yerevan surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Glide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Glide to your Saves list
Hostel Glide
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Galents Str., House 16/1, Yerevan 0033, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Arendal, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yerevan surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Normally we do not stay in hostels like the Glide, but we decided to try based on the terriffic reviews on these pages, and we were not disappointed. The hostel is very well situated, close to the rapid (!) metro-system of Yerevan, a couple of stops from the centre..- A bit difficult to find, our taxi-driver gave up. But with the directons from their web-page it was easy.

The hostel is in a private house, and you will be treated like a long-time friend. The daughter, Anna, speaks very well English and has a lot of interesting information/thoughts about Armenia and the world beyond.

The Glide is a very cheap place to stay, and you will get a lot from your money. Breakfast is good, and you get to meet other travellers (of all ages and nationalities). The rooms are very basic and clean.

This is not a five-star hotel, but because of the hospitality and generosity of the family, the basic facilities and the location (when you have found it), the Glide deserves five stars in my world.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Super friendly and pleasant hosts, who all speak excellent English. Well, except perhaps the grandmother.

The hostel is clean, well priced and reasonably well located, close to one of the metro stops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I got a single room at Hostel Glide. It was a large room with ensuite bathroom. The hostel is very nice, spacious, and quiet at night. But the best thing is the family that runs it - they are unbelievably friendly and helpful, and they speak perfect English. I learned a lot about Armenia just by talking to them. And they were always offering me coffee, tea, bean salad, etc.

The location is quite good, close to a metro station, so it doesn't take long at all to get to the centre of Yerevan (only 3 metro stops away from Republic Square).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schleswig, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

ı can say that your second home in Yerevan.
The famly is very hospitable.
They are ready for to assist you everytime.
You can find various kind of accomadation
from dorm to ensuite room.
Hostel is newly build and clean.
Breakfasts are cooking daily by charming daughter of the family.
Walking distance to subway and around 3 stops to downtown.
Nice place to spend for a couple of days and they can give
you travel advices also renting bike or supplying a paragliding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

New hostel run by a family who lives in the house. I have never received such a personal service in a hostel before and insight into local culture - a great experience of Caucasus hospitality.

The Hostel is in a nice neighbourhood which is only two stops away from Yerevan centre with metro or 1 EUR taxi ride (600 dram) or 30 min walk.

The room and bathroom was very clean and everything working. Wifi internet and an outstanding Armenian breakfast included in price (freshly made bred, yogurt, omelette etc).

I also rented a bike from them to go cycling around the city and they took me on a day trip outside of the city.

Very keen on helping to arrange taxis, confirm bus schedule etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Glide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Glide

Address: Galents Str., House 16/1, Yerevan 0033, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Glide 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Glide is private house located in center of Yerevan, has 4 rooms and 14 beds, 2 rooms are private with private bathrooms, shared kitchen. People who like extreme sports we’ll be very pleased. As it is seen from our hostel’s name "Glide Hostel", our staff is deeply attached to one of the most amazing extreme sports of the world – paragliding. Armen, one of our staff member is the leading paraglider of Armenia, it means that he travels much over the whole land of Armenia and Karabakh and knows every piece of our biblical land. He can organize your traveling in Armenia including the amazing places which are unknown to the most of people. The tours can include extreme such as paragliding, climbing mountains, skiing, trips in to caves, etc. or hiking, offroading, walking tours in Yerevan, visiting sightseeing places, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Glide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Glide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.