We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good people at a very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarmen 1 | City Center, Yerevan 0009, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Yerevan
Isfahan, Esfahan, Iran
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good people at a very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

In one word, It is really "your home away from your home!"
Staff are very kind and polite. Everything was on time, driver was waiting for us in the airport hall, and helped us kindly at the time of leaving. Room was spacious, clean, warm and with good light.
It is very near to the downtown.(3 min from cascade, 5 min from France sq and philharmonic orchestra hall, 15-20 min from republic square). There are many good restaurants nearby.
The only negative points are the harsh noise (that is probably due to metro), water system noise (during using water the water pump made noise for minutes) and invariant breakfast.
We had very good time there, and I strongly advise this place to everybody who wants to feel relaxed during their residence in Yerevan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
39
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I decided to book for the Meg after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed at all. Even though the hotel is a bit difficult to find at the beginning it's a hidden gem in the center of Yerevan, the room is big and cozy at the same time. There's a big bathroom, kitchen and living room. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning which makes it very intimate. Downtown is at a walking distance from the hotel and so are a lot of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

a boutique style all suite hotel in the city center which is a jewel if you can find it. this hotel may be the best kept secret in town. the family run hotel staff are very friendly, the rooms are large and spacious with great taste and service. expect the best at hotel meg for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Meg is in the basement of a Soviet style office building with little visible signage in a backstreet.
But once you've found it, enter an immaculately kept small hotel with lovely people,spacious rooms,good facilities and nice breakfast.
And you are literally five minutes from the centre of a surprisingly cool city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel Owner, Aris, knows how to treat his guests. It is like to be home! Staff is very friendly (and english, russian, armenian speaking). Rooms are spacious, new, decorated with taste, very clean and very quiet, right in the middle of the city centre. Our room was like an appartment, with a living room, TV+DVD player, a small kitchenette, nice bathroom and 1 separate bedroom. A nice breakfast is served straight in your room. Best value for money in town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife & I spent 3 nights in this very good bed & breakfast. We were in room 4 (One Bedroom Suite). We booked it through Expedia for 145 USD per night. It is a small place overall with about 8 rooms , which is surprisingly very comfortable and very good management.

Positive points : spotlessly clean,free Wi-Fi , breakfast routinely served in room, spacious,located near a main street in very good place of the city, 5 minutes to good restaurants,quiet place,very kind and helpful staff (there were two in each shift,one in reception and one housekeeping) which speak English well,free fresh fruit everyday ,good set of satellite channels and a DVD player ,feel of being at home.

Negative points : 20-30 min. walk to Republic Square (main touristic site )- a little bit noisy bed (and not the most comfortable bed -160 cm) ,not a large enough sofa in living room , curtains do not block daylight completely, not a good view (at least from our room), small TV,ceramic floor (no carpet),no slippers or towel coat (actually we didn't ask for them) ,no meal in hotel,not a nice entrance ( in the back of a building) .

I suggest asking for airport transfer ,as it is difficult for most taxi drivers to find this place .And always have the address written in Armenian,as very few people speaks English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a bit of trouble finding this hotel, as there is no sign that we could see and it is located on one floor of a rather nondescript administrative building. In fact, for this reason alone, it is probably wise to take the hotel up on its offer to pick you up upon arrival in Yerevan. But once inside we received a friendly welcome and were shown to a large, air conditioned and comfortably furnished room with a small kitchenette.

The hotel's location is perfect, on a quiet side street within easy walking distance of the Cascade and Opera house. Breakfast was apparently served in your room, but the weather was too nice while we were there to be stuck inside, so we opted instead for a few of the plentiful outdoor cafes in the city center.

The only real issue we experienced during our stay was a bit of late night noise from the lobby as guests were coming and going.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meg

Address: Sarmen 1 | City Center, Yerevan 0009, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yerevan
#2 Family Hotel in Yerevan
#10 Business Hotel in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the capital, Hotel Meg is within minutes’ walk from the famous Matenadaran, the Cascade and the Opera.This small hotel of only seven spacious one and two-room suites has been designed based on the simple concept of doing everything possible to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Meg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meg Hotel Yerevan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.