Sorry to all the Gen Y's out there but I just didn't see what all the hype was about this hotel. its become a bit of a Tripadvisor institution from all the glowing "likes" and reviews it has but it certainly (in my eyes) fails to live up to expectations. I agree that most of the staff here are quite friendly and accomodating, but the hotel on its own is quite dilapidated and in need of renovation.
Perhaps I am not the intended clientele for the Ha Van, but unless the management markets it solely for the under 25 backpacker crowd, they will have to be prepared to acccomodate all types of travellers. I found the rooms adequate, clean to an extent but they really have been beaten around. Check your rooms for damage on your arrival is my advice and bring any you find to the attention of the front desk. The bathrooms are spacious, but once again in need of some TLC, I had to remove the drain covers to prevent my room from regularly flooding after every shower. I won't describe the noises from adjacent rooms, but due to open ventilation pipes which link the rooms nothing you do in your shower is private (the condom vending machine in the lobby stairwell says it all and the two stars awarded by the local Tourism Authority was perhaps a little generous).
The saving grace in all of this is the quality of the food that can be had at the rooftop Bar/Restaurant, its good and plentiful for the price, breakfast (which is included with your room) is another variation on the two eggs and baguette standard for Vietnam, tasty but repetitive. The view is great looking over the Nha Trang Airport runway to the hills in the west and that makes breakfast for me (though everyone else seemed to be face deep in their mobile phones without a word said by anyone, was truly bizarre...facebook has really killed the travel experience for me)
The Rooftop bar can be an issue for you if you enjoy a quieter hotel experience, as can be your fellow tenants......noise can be a problem. There is also a construction site next door which starts early each day (7am) and its still at the jack hammer stage and will be an issue for a few years to come.
Overall I think there are better value Hotels in this price range to be had in Nha Trang, stay here if you're on the hop on hop off backpacker trip by all means but that would be it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thanks for having taken the time to make a review about the Ha Van Hotel. I am sad that you’ve have not been completely happy with your stay and indeed, our hotel might not have been for you. Still, I have to correct some of your statements/judgements about our hotel. It seems that you might have been better served in a more upscale hotel but with fewer services.
First, to used dilapidate for our hotel is wrong and way too strong of a word (I have been in dilapidate hotels, believe me, we are not even close). It is true that we don’t have the newest hotel in town but our old lady is quite well maintained (repainted, patch every years). Sure, some renovation would be welcome, I am trying to renew my lease and when it will be done, I will be able to poor some money for making our hotel even better than now. We couldn’t possibly repair all the small scratches of the walls live in direct like that (you can go to Sheraton or any other ‘’upscale hotels’’ to see the same phenomenon). Also, if you would have tell our receptionist about those small defects and how it has affected you, we would have done the repairs necessary for you to have your peace of mind.
Second, the average age of our clientele is 35 years old and many of our most faithful and regular customers are even more mature. We certainly do not try to specifically attract crowds under 25 as there is many hotels that cater for them already. But contrary to your statement, we do accommodate all type of travellers (and lots of families), we make no discrimination whatsoever. At the Ha Van Hotel, you are in a small part of Canada.
Thirdly, for the condom vending machine in the stairwell, I don’t know what the complaint is but know that it has been imposed to us by the Provincial Popular Comity and it was a gift to them by the Danish Royal Family Foundation. The irony is that it use coins that are no longer in circulation in Vietnam. You also talk about the local tourism authority giving us ‘’two stars’’ for the hotel; I couldn’t agree more. In fact, we had no stars before and we were happy of that state of being; it didn’t created the high level of expectation that you have suffered (and other) with us. Those 2 stars have been forced on us (we are in a Communist Country with a centrally planned economy). Our hotel would be a half star at best anywhere else in the world. Fun fact: there is more 5 stars hotel in Nha Trang than there is in all Canada.
For the breakfast, I don’t see where you can much complain about repetiveness, we have 8 different choices to pick from (and 3 from Yên’s Restaurant, at the moment the #1 restaurant in Nha Trang). But thank you for the fact that you notice the quality of our food. You know that if you would have ask, our waitress would have been glad to take any special order that you might ask; but you have to ask and speak up man! Yes, I also agree that Facebook and smart phones have changed the experience of meeting people while traveling…but that’s progress in many ways for a world at peace…but that’s for a philosophical discussion another time. At night, I am sorry that you might have been disturb by other guests, but there is nothing that can suggest that was because they came from our Rooftop Lounge (the Rooftop itself as two glass doors to cut any noise that could arise)…Our hotel is one of the most quite in town and since we don’t have the youngest crowds in town disturbance is very low at the hotel. Try staying in hotels full of Russian or Vietnamese or full of backpackers, you will experience what it is real disturbance!!!
Lastly, yes we have a construction site next door but, unless you have inside information (which I doubt), the work will not last for years; it should last a 10 months more (and noise level will be reduced with advancing progress) ... Yes there were some jack hammer going on but it was to correct a mistake they have made while finishing the foundation of the building (note to not stay in that hotel in the future). Now it is finished. And since all our rooms affected have double paned windows, noise it not a real issue for most of our guests (we had exactly 4 complaints since the work start 3 months ago, and all for the foundation part which I say again is completed).
Sir, believe me when I say that I am happy to have received you opinion, it counts for me and my staff. We always strive to make our hotel better and I think we have done a good job to do so. But I think that when you have something you don’t like, just speak with our staff! Our rooms might not be the best in town but surely of services are; take advantage of it! You blamed people looking up Facebook for a spoiled traveling experience but you’ve make the same egocentric mistake when not speaking up about what you didn’t like at the hotel to our staff and then ‘’complaint’’ of a social network! Oh, old fashion travelling is dead indeed!
Please accept the best regards of my team and I,
Nicolas at your service,
Ha Van Hotel Nha Trang
3/2 Tran Quang Khai
058 352 5454
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.