We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again Nicolas and your Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Van Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ha Van Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ha Van Hotel
3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 108 hotels in Nha Trang
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thanks again Nicolas and your Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been back to Vietnam 3 times now and alway on the top of the list is a long visit to Nha Trang and Han Van Hotel with Nicolas and his team. I can only speak highly of all his staff and the service you get from Han Van Hotel. Clean and tidy, great breakfast, informative front desk staff, top upstairs bar were you can a chat with other guests at the end of a long day with a nice cold drink. Again thanks for another great trip and see you all again soon. I Would highly recommend this hotel for the price.

Sue and Ian

Room Tip: 01 and 02 rooms are Balcony rooms which I love
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    247
    64
    8
    10
See reviews for
89
311
88
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Ha Van are incredible welcoming and helpful. We arrived very early from the train and our room was ready for us to go into straight away. The rooms are clean, with spacious balcony's and bathrooms. The room rates are reasonable and the breakfast is nice. The location is great, yens restaurant next door is a must. To top it off there is an ice cream parlor in the foyer - cant go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were referred to this hotel after getting stuck in Nha Trang due to transport constraints for two nights more than we would have wanted by another excellent guesthouse we stayed in. $30 a night for a double bed in a box room with a bathroom that turns into a swimming pool for 15 mins after you shower is not good value compared other places stayed in Vietnam.

The roof top bar is a nice touch, good to get up high for a bit of breeze away from the heat of the street. Breakfast was ok, but found it odd that they charged us for a second cup of coffee or if we wanted orange juice. Rented a good moped throuhg the hotel at a reasoanable price. They also were kind enough to store our packs and offer us a shower before we got on our night bus.

There are signs all over the hotel asking people to be quiet and respect other guests. It is Nha Trang and this place is situated in the backpacker area so I can’t say I was too surprised when, my wife was woken on our second night by a drunken idiot relentlessly banging on his door and shouting. Not the hotels fault but reading other reviews, this is not the place to stay for a quiet nights kip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Monsieur and Madame,

After reading your review of our hotel left me with a sour taste in my mouth (and I loss of faith in the human race)…it is time for me to go hide in a deserted island).

First, you came at the absolute peak of the high season when there is a lot of people in town and many young people in school vacation. If you were looking for peace and calm, you have chosen the wrong city, the wrong neighbourhood, the wrong hotel and the wrong period of the year. We are a popular hotel in the touristic area.

Secondly, 30USD (20 GBP) for two (10GBP pax) with big breakfast included (which would cost around 4$ each in other restaurant) is not overprice it is cheap! If you were looking for a cheaper hotel, you could have check-out after your first night with us. There is over 400 hotels and guesthouses in Nha Trang.

Thirdly, you found it odd to pay for a second cup of coffee…Why is that? When I go to your city of London, I always pay for extras I order, including coffee and juice (and of course not as cheap you can imagine). You are visiting a poor country, that doesn’t mean things have to be free. Our breakfasts are ordered individually, it is not a buffet.

Forth, maybe you haven’t notice but our shower is rain shower with a lot of pressure (power shower)…the law of physic dictate that after 15 minutes (a very very long shower indeed) you might have a flooded floor (did you think about reducing the flow of water coming out of the shower?). We are in Vietnam, the shower is never in a bath like at home and often the water goes to the whole bathroom floor (especially in a budget hotel). We are not the Ritz here (sorry).

Fifth, I can’t discriminate the guests we have at the hotel and we do, from time to time have a younger crowd in the hotel (please refer to point one). It might happen that some guests come drunk at the end of the night (but believe me, not as much as other budget hotel in Nha Trang). As for the silence signs, you should be grateful that I have made them for the hotel…did you see other hotels with those kind of sign….humm no. Those signs are for prevention only and it doesn’t mean that they are there because the hotel is usually noisy (as you try to imply by reading the last 2 reviews, and please refer to point one again). You might have spent more time to read the other 500 good ones…

Well next time if you need peace, please, come join me on my deserted island! Peace I tell you!

Have my best regards,

Nicolas
Owner of the Ha Van hotel

You can always contact me by writing to our email at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor we were rather disappointed with this hotel. There is a nice feel about it in the lobby, the restaurant, etc., and the staff are great, yes, but the rooms are definitely below par and the quality of the stay was affected by boorish behaviour by some of the other guetsts. The rooms are small and dingy. In our one, the phone did not work and the safe had to be operated with a key attached to the room key, which was needed to keep power on (i.e. forget about opening and closing the safe at night). The pillows were rock hard. The bathroom very basic. The window had a grill on it as if i was a prison cell. The worst aspect was the noise made in the early hours by guests in other rooms nearby. The walls are very un-soundproof and we were woken a number of times by drunken girls laughing and talking at the top of their voices - not the hotels fault but I am afraid it tends to attract this type of clientele/

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Reading others reviews, and the reviews we had before we went I think we must have been in the wrong hotel. The young man who greeted us was less than helpful, the Roof Top Lounge was closed, our double balcony room was a box with no balcony and no character. The topper was the bathroom which had to be 50 years old (or looked like it anyway) with USED soap in the dish and not clean at all. There was an argument in the hallway over noise between two sets of people and dishes with leftover, half eaten food in the hallway as well. Our fridge had not been cleaned in I am not sure how long and half drunk drinks (shakes no less) were still in the fridge from the last set of guests. Breakfast was awful as well. This was a total disappointment-EXCEPT for two lovely young girls at the front desk the morning we checked out (6 days sooner than planned). They were the ONLY redeeming factor. They were super-and could not have done more to apologise for the awful experience we had!

Room Tip: Don't. We asked for a great room and got a horrible one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Madame,

We have no excuses (well some little) for what happen to you during the Tet Holiday. I was the one who took your reservation. I was in Canada and I made a mistake on our reservation book, a missed daily saving (you were not the only victime of that error - see the other bad review of the Tet holiday). So the reception weren't expecting you. When you came the room you took was a late check-out. So it was already a used one. For that we are sorry. Tet is the most busy time of the year, lots of pressure on my employees...and sorry for all.

Now I am back to Nha Trang, those kind of mistake won't happen.

Should you be back to Nha Trang, we would be delighted to have you again!

Best regards,

Nicolas
Ha Van Hotel



Should you be back to
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Straight off the plane and driver was waiting with car ready to go easy check in and comfortable beds and reasonable rooms for a two star hotel staff are very helpful and very good English close to most bars and activities roof top bar is great value drinks are very cheap and the food is good and cheap free wifi that always works breakfast was good and they have the best smoothies would highly recommend a stay here had a great time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of Tet, arriving by train on a Friday night and walking the mile from the station to the hotel. The streets were a riot of colour from the lights and decorations as people spilled out onto the pavements in the warm night. The Ha Van was easy to find from the map the hotel sent and soon we were enjoying a complimentary welcome Gin and Tonic at the hotel's rooftop bar.

We stayed in a Standard Double room for the first night (due to some mix-up or double-booking) which reminded us of a private room in a youth hostel. It was large for Vietnam and clean with a window, settee and airy bathroom with a large bath and toiletries. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we slept very well. All rooms have a table, chairs, mini-safe and reasonably-priced minibar. Bring your own hairdryer or go out with wet hair.

Our second and third nights were in a Double Balcony room which was lovely with a modernised bathroom / shower room with a rain shower. The balcony doesn't have any kind of conventionally spectacular view due partly to all the high-rise hotels built along the seafront but was a nice place to chill, watch the street below and listen to the music from the ice-cream sellers on their bicycles.

Breakfasts in the rooftop restaurant all come with a large side helping of fresh fruit and one drink included. French toast was average but the pancakes were really good and the Vietnamese beef stew was excellent. Breakfast is from 7 til 11 and we were upset to miss it on our last day as we had to catch an early train :( We tried the rooftop restaurant for our last evening meal and the food was good-value and tasty and the Vietnamese Dalat wine cheaper than we'd seen it elsewhere - you've got to try it once but perhaps don't order a whole bottle! They sell it by the glass too.

Staff were helpful, knowledgeable and approachable without being over-friendly. Laundry is 30,000 VND per kg and our clothes came back super soft! There are notices up around the hotel asking people to keep the noise down but while we stayed there was a lot of noise from people shouting, running up and down corridors and slamming doors. On one night we were woken up by an angry young man banging on everyone's door yelling "Open up" after he fell out with his room-mate who decided to lock him out for the night.

Overall though, it was fantastic value and we'd recommend it to budget travellers. The hotel is a 5-minute walk to the beach and 50,000 dong in a taxi to the train station. If only all 2-star hotels were like this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ha Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Van Hotel

Address: 3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#14 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2007, the Ha Van Hotel is Nha Trang's favorite budget hotel for discerning budget travellers. Low rate, clean & comfortable rooms and the best Rooftop Lounge of Nha Trang. Party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ha Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Van Nha Trang
Hotel Ha Van

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Van Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.