We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Van Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ha Van Hotel to your Saves list
Ha Van Hotel
3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel having not booked any prior accommodation in Nha Trang after a 10 hour train trip from HCMC. The staff were fantastic and more then helpful with all requests from booking flights to hotels! They spoke (almost) perfect English and cook up delicious meals in the great rooftop restaurant/bar, the views from the restaurant are some of the best around! We would highly recommend a stay here, in short it's the best stay for the best price and the helpful staff top it off, let alone the ice cream bar! We would be more than happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    252
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
90
315
90
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good value. The breakfasts are excellent with lots of fresh fruit beautifully cut and freshly cooked crisp bacon.

Beds are very comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful in facilitating any activity that you want to do, sometimes can cost a little more than doing the leg-work yourself, but its worth it.

Only drawback was that there was not a comfortable place to have a shower in the evening after checking-out in the morning.

Great location - central but not noisy.

Room Tip: No point paying extra for a balcony room - we never used it due to being out all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Due to the low cost we decided to book a family room for just 2 people. In hindsight it was a good move as we had plenty of room to spread out, store our luggage and still have room to move around. The hotel is basic in its amenities but the rooms are adequate and clean. The highlight of Ha Van is the staff and its location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful striving to make each persons stay a pleasurable one. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk to the beach and a closer distance to the shops, restaurants and night clubs in the back streets. The only drawback we found was being woken up by noisy guests returning from a big night out and yelling in the hallways at 4 or 5 in the morning. The breakfast offered on the rooftop was good with plenty of choices available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hefei, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Ha Van Hotel was a great place to stay while in Nha Trang. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach, very close to many restaurants and shops, and has clean rooms and extremely friendly staff. We arrived after a night bus and were greeted by a friendly face who, after a delicous breakfast on the rooftop cafe/lounge, escorted us to our room early free of charge so we could rest up. Me and another person shared a room with two beds and although it was not a balcony view, the room was clean and quiet. The restaurant next door has exceptional Vietnamese cuisine and the most friendly servers. If you like ice cream, the Ha Van also has a Fanny's Ice Cream stall right out front! I would most definitely recommend this hotel and would return again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The corner suite was nice (4th floor) because we had a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is great value if you are happy with basic accommodation. The rooms are clean and the location is great. It’s nothing swish but what do you expect at $34 per night! The staff were very helpful and recommended a great restaurant (the Lantern) even though they have their own next door, (where we also had good meal one night). The rooftop lounge is fun and the included breakfasts were lovely. The laundry service is good value too (about $1.40 per kilo USD). We spent an enjoyable three nights here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a pleasant stay in one of the balcony rooms. The rooms are basic and clean albeit a bit small (we are travelling with 2 kids).

Breakfast at the rooftop loung is as good as it gets with great views and ditto food.

But the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Proficient in English, very friendly and helpfulll.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is what in Europe would be a two star hotel. If you don't need that little box in the bathroom of mini combs, shoe shiners, shower caps, embossed toothpicks etc and 5 towels per person, which is what amounts to a three star hotel, then this place will be fine for you. It has all the necessities of a simple hotel and includes a touch of style in the room decor to boot. The breakfast room is on a rooftop veranda which is quite enjoyable in the morning except the breakfast, while the photos seem nice, leaves much to be desired. Particularly the butter which I believe is made from goat's (or yak?) milk. Don't get the French toast. On the other side is an open air lounge where you can take a load off for a while. The room is spacious and comfortable. The bathroom, rustic, let's say, but do-able. Given the traffic outside in general (not so much on this street) it is pretty quiet and I slept very well (unusual for me). Although I cannot wait to leave Nha Trang itself, the fever pitched tourism is enough to make you looney (and I am generally pretty immune to hawking), I highly recommend this hotel, if such is the case that you want to visit this town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Van Hotel

Address: 3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2007, the Ha Van Hotel is Nha Trang's favorite budget hotel for discerning budget travellers. Low rate, clean & comfortable rooms and the best Rooftop Lounge of Nha Trang. Party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ha Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Van Nha Trang
Hotel Ha Van

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Van Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.